Oh wow
Woefully turgid fare in the TUSGG. Thereās a reason that these two sides are pointless at the bottom of the table. Very disappointing.
Been a struggle in that first half. Look disjointed and are doing the wrong thing with the ball so often.
Have the wind in the second half at least and it certainly feels like itās picked up a bit
OāConnor and Cosgrove are nice prospects
That must be one of the worst-coached Limerick teams Iāve seen since the days of Justin McCarthy.
Dowlingās minors were worse
That was the other one!
I was about to ask yourself and @Aristotle about that. Yeād have seen more of them than me but seem a way short of maxing out this group. I donāt think thereās any gulf in the quality of the group to Waterford or Clare or even cork outside of Walsh. The senior county panellists donāt stand out to me as much at youād hope/expect at this level. OāConnor and oāfarrell look the pick of them to me, but thereās plenty of good players in there. Duff, Cosgrove, Ryan, and Dwane have been good over the three games.
Anyway the ridiculous load of sides threw that game away.
None of that Waterford team is up to the age, most of them are last years minors and Waterford were missing the best minor in the country from last year. Limerick had a lot of wides and had a very good goal chance saved but I thought Waterford were far the better team and the scoreline flattered Limerick.
They looked poorly coached and lacking in quality.
The free at the end was a disgraceful miss at this level 30 yards out.
We are in bad shape at underage and itās compounded by poor coaching teams.
Far the better team in a one point win against a team that fired 18 wides is a unique take, fair play to you.
Limerick are in a lucky position with Aidan OāConnor, Shane OāBrien, Adam English and Cathal OāNeill that they have the forward power to keep the wolf from the door for the next 5 or 6 years.
We donāt need a million players from these teams. They already have the lads that you canāt ādevelopā and theyāre at good ages. Very lucky that way.
Need a good pure defender to come through, a classic 6 and a 5 or 7 with hurling and big striking.
We canāt keep finishing bottom of group at u20 level and expect we will be competitive at senior level in a few years.
They could start by getting a high quality u20 management team in like the other big counties.
From what I can see the Clare & Tipp lads are whinging about their current managers at every turn.
And how many did Waterford hit wide? How many times was Tobin mauled and didnāt get a free. How many clear goal chances did Waterford miss? The three points ye got in the end were gifts.
Not half as many wides as Limerick, was he? One? Limerick left 3 behind them. Wford nearly choked again to get their first win at the grade bar Kerry in a decade was it? Donāt get too excited.
Three wins from our last fifteen U20 matches. And two of those were one point wins against Waterford. Shur twill be grandā¦
Lookit, teams were pretty even in my opinion. You think āWaterford were far the better teamā. Thereās not much to support that but there you are.
I presumed the point he meant was that it was largely a very young Waterford team based of last years minor winning team and that we wonāt see the best of them at this grade until 2028.