Limerick GAA - it's Box Office - Always Has Been, Always Will Be

Tomorrows result is utterly meaningless. Be madness to to put money down on it.

Crazy for a Mickey Mouse game

Iā€™d still be of the opinion that we need Lynch on the ball as much as possible- midfield or centre-forward are the only options for me.

Centre-forward is definitely Morrisseyā€™s best position and I think he potentially could make it there but on all intercounty form this season, he wouldnā€™t be near that position. Nash is better on the wing or at full-forward than the centre. Downes definitely could do a job there, but like I said, I think heā€™ll struggle to get a starting spot.

As for full-forward, itā€™d be Dowling or Nash for me, preferably. I donā€™t think Hegarty is a full-forward at all. I think he offers something at half-forward for work rate alone, I just think heā€™s wasted inside, never seems comfortable there.

One team will win and one will lose (probably)
People on this forum have gambled on far more meaningless pursuits, I wonā€™t be betting on this game though, it was kind of a figure of speech, for what itā€™s worth I would think that limerick have more than a 50% chance

He has had some really good performances at corner forward too. The problem there is he doesnā€™t get on the ball often enough, the more touches he gets the better he gets even within games. If he goes well with Na P and comes back into the limerick team high on confidence he could well earn any of the forward spots.

Watching the under 21s this year I started thinking maybe Cian Lynch should just be left at wing forward. Too much expectation on him to be directing everything at 11 I think. Midfield a possibility too, especially if Browne not back to his best.

Hegarty should be wing forward only, not anywhere in the inside line. Although with Hayes having stepped up massively and a good few other half forward options Iā€™m not sure Hegarty is a great choice there.

Casey at corner forward is one of the few certs on the team.

Pure shite talk so is what it was. Grand job.

WTF, why the aggro? I never said I was gonna bet on it

If you put out your best in December forget it cc @The_Most_Infamous

How the fuck Hickey is even on the panel is beyond me. Tobin was right to tell them to fuck off, my words.

The lads were spot on earlier regarding Seanie Tobin. He should be there and starting tomorrow. Unless its his own decision to opt out.

Limerick are the only team who cares about this shit league

Hello Seanie, i know you have been in and out of the squad the last few years and never really managed to prove you are inter county standard but now your pushing 30 we want one more look at you so pop down to mallow there the day before new years eve and we will gice you a run. Oh and bring long studs for the mud and long grass

Poor effort pal.

Will you tip away down to mallow yourself? Few handy ones in buttevant beforehand, steak and 3 guiness before the road back after? Maybe a post mortem over 3 more in charleville before you slip the cruise control on as far as croom?I

I think the panel is up to 43 now if the likes of Mackey & Lyons are full-time additions? I imagine the Na Piarsaigh lads arenā€™t training with them at the moment though.

Hickey was alright this year; I do think that in Limerick we find it hard to get the balance in our half-back line right. To get a half-back line that is defensively secure, good in the air but also feeds our forwards good possession is something that has eluded us for a while. Hickey can be very good in the air, can shut out the opposition but heā€™s never been the best on the ball and has always overdone things. I would say that this was his best year at club level in a long time though.

I think people are being harsh on Tobin regarding the ā€œnever good enoughā€. In Limerickā€™s best years in recent times, Tobin was good too. Always well able to take a score, and got a couple of Championship goals against decent teams (Tipp, Clare). But fair enough if he doesnā€™t want to put in all the months of slog if he doesnā€™t think heā€™ll get a shot of being a starter. I donā€™t think Kiely would ever play him in the half-forward line, and Iā€™m fairly sure that Casey has a lock on one of the corner-forward positions if heā€™s in form.

Youā€™d want your head examined to open the window let alone stop in Buttevant.

Not to mention Charleville, gas cunt.

Just back to the team selection, the vast vast majority means absolutely nothing in terms of later in the year, although itā€™d be nice to see good performances all the same.

But Hickey at full-back? At intercounty level, I think itā€™s the one position in the backline that does not suit him. Kielyā€™s seeming reluctance to play English at full-back is a little odd also.

Is this on the radio?

I would highly doubt it.

EDIT: @iron_mike. Apologies, Liam Aherne is commentating online at 5pm.