Limerick GAA, Still Getting Knocked Down

Only 14 points defeat this time. Around half our last defeat. If next time we get it down to 7 then we’re making progress

Your a gombeen if you thought Wexford were in that game till Graeme scored that point.

Really? Its Limerick we’re talking about. With TJ Ryan as manager. It could be London and Id still be nervous

2,500 in the GG tonight, the bandwagon may need a push ahead of the Championship.

Sorry, pal…down in Cork.

I’m sorry you are too :wink:

Finally, revenge for 96 :ronnyroar:

On paper, a 14 point win to open the league campaign is a decent start.

However, tonight’s opposition were very poor and lots of improvement needed if we are to progress out of the second division.

2014 was revenge pal, tonight was an embarrassing performance from a proud hurling county in Wexford.

Liam Dunne needs to go.

O’Connor comes out of tonight’s game with a lot of credit, players look very fit and hungry.

Paul Browne, Byrnes, Tom Condon and Tom Morrisey been the stand outs for me.

Great to see Mul come off the bench with Tobin as well and contribute 1-3 between them, Nash got 2 nice scores in the first half aswell.

Would you ever fuck off with your stupid inane shite

Why was it? The game was won. It was pointless. Ryan, Ryan, O’Brien sitting on the bench twiddling their thumbs. Tobin’s point was an absolute beauty though.

We will not be stopped

Because it’s been awhile since we’ve actually seen him score a goal for Limerick.

Hannon fluffed a very similar chance in the first half from a rebound when Lynch made the Wexford keeper make a save.

I know the game was over as a contest after 10-15 minutes, but seeing Mul score 1-1 off the bench is still pleasing for me.

Pleased with that.

Would have been happy with a one point win before throw in.

First half was a glorified challenge match. There was less intensity than the Clare game in the Munster league. We still did what was necessary, fluent attacking play and used possession well. Good movement in attack. Wexford didn’t turn up, felt sorry for Dunbar to be the Guinea pig as they could have taken off everyone bar McGovern.

First fifteen or twenty mins of the second half was a return to our old ways. Cleaned out in the half forward line and swamped everywhere. Mulcahys well taken goal was totally against the run of play and finished the game as a contest. Saw the game out comfortably after that.

Main positives

• Browney - a virtuoso display
  • Tom Morrissey - really good shift
  • English - this lad is a good one
  • players looked fit and in great shape

Negatives

• can’t read anything into that game whatsoever. Wexford were dire for everything bar that 15/20 mins after the break. They probably won’t be as bad again in the rest of the year. They’ll get a fair amount of criticism for that display so hopefully they’ll do us a favour and put up a much stiffer challenge to Clare when they host them in Innovate Wexford Park.

All in all a good nights work but the game was a big anti climax.

Great to see you back @dodgy_keeper

Little enough learned from that. Pleasing to see us play some tidy hurling though.

Quaid’s puck outs are a major cause for concern. Misdirected or over or underhits it all the time. Two in particular were very bad. Wing back on their own in space free for a short puckout, instead of a ball to the hand Quaid overshot them by 15 feet. Hickey cleverly switched a pass on the ground to Fitz in space for a point, and Morrissey salvaged the second, but those will be punished in summer hurling.

Condon was the pick of the full backs in the first half. Second half he effected a fine rugby tackle and had one of his glory runs up the field and hail mary shot at a point which was short and wide and must have been extremely frustrating for Hannon on the edge of the square. McCarthy looked sharp and unflustered. English looked ok, won and lost a few balls.

Hickey looked very good but some poor decisions at times. Morrissey was grand but not a contender for summer IMO. Byrnes really couldn’t have been any better.

Browne was excellent, a few impressive long distance points, left and right, his striking has improved immeasurably. Fitz was impressive in the first half, he noticeably looks up immediately every time he he gets the ball in hand. May be a good sub option for midfield in the last few minutes.

Gavin was anonymous for most of the match. First time seeing Reidy play in a long time and bar one long range point he was weak in general. Lynch wasn’t great but this weather doesn’t suit him, should have been taken off really.

Hannon looked sharp enough. Nash and Morrissey were the pick of the forwards, Morrissey was the best of the 6 and it seems can play any position in the forwards, I think he’ll make his way into the first 15 for summer.

O’Donovan came on and was alright. Tobin and Mulcahy both came on and looked very sharp. Why we didn’t use more subs I don’t know. Nor do I know why we waited so long to use them and didn’t use the less established squad members. Seanie O’Brien was an unused sub.

Agreed on Gavin, he did get 2 big points from play but he has to be back in the half back line come championship.

Excellent summation of the game Glas. I picked out Tom Morrisey as well as being the most impressive of the front 6. That lad along with Nash are serious forward prospects.

Come on, chaps please!

I actually thought Gavin O’Mahony played a very intelligent game tonight and his performance was one of the bigger pluses. He constantly created the space for most of our first half scores. He dragged defenders all over the place. He drifted in to the edge of the square a couple of times, and we scored our second goal off one such foray. He didn’t hit a heap of ball, but the position of centre-forward has evolved massively in recent years and it’s not always about what ball you hit - it’s often about where you are. I was very happy with him tonight.

A couple of other observations:

As has been mentioned, puckouts are a major problem. I’m not sure if Nickie is acting under instruction or instinct, but neither is good enough at the minute.

Seamus Hickey is still mixing the very good with the very silly.

We do not deal well with crowded midfields or extra defenders.

Byrnes, English, Tom Morrissey and Nash are works in progress. I’m glad there appears to be some progress.

Wexford were atrocious but are perfectly capable of giving Clare bags of it, which would be a big favour. Andrew Shore, I thought, did well when moved to the forwards and maybe this is where his future lies.

You are making a show of yourself again young lad.

He can’t play center forward once the caherdavin lads are back pal in fairness?

He had a decent game without being overly impressive, his a very clever hurler but his place is 5 or 7 imo.