Limerick v Clare 2022 Munster final

Stage 8 Rattled here kid… You won’t last the pace until the weekend.

Just a couple of points.

I don’t think a 20 year old who want o go on a J1 is a big time Charlie. Indeed its probably his last chance if he wants to dedicate himself to hurling to actually have a chance of a life before he starts working (or logging onto TFK to give out yards about young fellas).

Mulcahy is a favorite player of mine and as you rightly say has been delivered shit ball over the last number of years. The only problem with him playing corner forward next Sunday is that he is going to get the exact same players delivering the same type of ball as he has for the last 3/4 years. I’d actually play Mul as an extra mid-fielder cause there will be snow on the ball coming into him on Sunday.

The problem is we have not developed a fast style of hurling during the league which would suit th elikes of Mulcahy and Casey. In fact we seem to want to make an extra 2/3 short passes around mid-field before we knock a long hopeful ball into the forwards. If we persist with this shite it doesn’t matter if we dig Mick Mackey up we are fucked.

From looking at Limerick’s league campaign there appears to be a struggle for continuity in their side, the half backline appeared to be the only real settled line they have. Hegarty who seems to have been the main man in the league looks to be out too and don’t seem to have much of a handle on how they really want to play from 8 to 15 which I think will hamper them on Sunday.

There is the makings of a very good side in Limerick but they need and have started a complete overhaul, I would expect them to be much further along in 12 months time. Clare on the other hand probably won’t have any debutants starting and while not an old team they should be far more experienced. Aside from Fahy and Conlon it appears that the rest of the side which is predicted to start would have played under the management at underage level which has led to more continuity compared to the Limerick team and means that we are that bit further down the line.

I am confident Clare will win, I think the management and players realise that this is a game they need to win and Tipps defeat will have only focused the minds further but given the form since 2013 you simply cannot hang your hat on the fact that Clare will perform and win and i think some of the issues inherited from the previous set up will take more than one spring to iron out but I would be confident that we will be set up to play to our strengths and attack Limerick with three inside forwards and lots of fast direct ball inside and we will ask questions of them and exploit their limitations rather than trying to paper over our own as has been the case in previous campaigns.

Going off the predicted Limerick side I think our backs will match up well against their forwards especially with Hegarty out as he seemed to be developing into a bit of a leader for them up front. Limerick will be primed for this and I expect them to make this a real arm wrestle with us and try and flood the middle third with bodies to try and disrupt us. This game is all about winning and whoever comes out on top will have a great confidence boost and 5 weeks to a Munster final to build on the win.

@caulifloweredneanderthal can only look on this year munsther is better without tip

We’ve won enough of them Joe. Time to leave the scraps to the whipping boys…

Ah don’t be sad we be thinking of you:joy: you have sky

Limerick have no reason to be optimistic other than there’s never much between us.
If ye had gone 15 v 15 on us the last few years ye’d have absolutely rotivated us.

Both teams in transition, but as you say Clare that bit further along. A win will be huge for whoever gets it. Hopefully we can drag ye into a dogfight, because we won’t win a shootout.

I’m not sure how @Breaking_my_balls judges that Nash doesn’t deserve to start. It’s clearly a personal thing, which is possibly justified. Nash was in possession of a jersey last year and when he came back into the panel Kiely brought him on as a sub a week later, and he performed well. All you need to know there. Nash’s power and ball winning ability adds a dimension and makes it a much more formidable forward line.

On Mulcahy, he hasn’t received great delivery in the past it’s true, but I’m not convinced he produces massively from the possessions he does get/win, turned over too often. I think Casey is superior in his return from possessions and is a better player overall, I think he has better vision to give a pass than Mulcahy and is better at working a free when he can’t get the ball away. I can see how lads would think it’s too soon for Casey and that he hasn’t done enough to overtake Mulcahy yet and that’s a fair view too. I think at this stage Mulcahy would be more effective as a sub when his pace and energy will cause problems for defences.

I don’t think David Dempsey has done enough to start yet either. He has some brilliant moments that light up games and is a great man to set up a goal but he can go periods without involvement. Again, I think he’d be more effective sprung from the bench. But he might start if Hegarty is out.

We have seen little or nothing of Tom Morrissey, who was well up in the pecking order last year, or ronan Lynch. Lynch looked well able for things physically against Patrickswell by the way. Given reports of Finn and Morrissey possibly forcing their way in ahead of lads that played a lot more in the league, either of Morrissey or Lynch could have an impact still.

Limerick are 100 per cent optimistic about Sunday where is it coming from??? @ChocolateMice is too the lie prick

Nash will start who else have ye

We’ll be lucky to have 15 Joe

Ye are not going to ambush us

Good odds on limerick to

Why would I look like an ape? Sure I’ve clearly stated that I think Nash is going to be a great player for us and that he’ll be one of our best, if not best, forwards. Himself and Ronan Lynch may very well be the winning of the game from the bench on Sunday, I’d expect nothing less from them.

But that doesn’t mean they have done enough to warrant a start which is my point.

The facts are that limerick are probably reliant on Nash playing very well on Sunday to win and considering he’s had ok underage career and barely done a Tap at senior inter county level this tells us exactly where we are at.

His acting the big time Charlie was nothing to do with a J1 mate

Clare didn’t have a particularly good league, most of their optimism is coming from a few challenges where it looks as if some of their players are reaching their potential standard that they set 4 years ago and have done fuck all since. Admittedly, they did win the All-Ireland that year. And I don’t think it’s wrong for them to be optimistic; I rate some of their players very highly and think that Morrissey & O’Connor know what they’re doing.

But equally, I think we have some very talented players. We’re very good at running down our own players (and bigging them up)- no middle ground in Limerick. I think that if we can work good ball into our forwards, and have managed to up fitness levels & work rate in particular from the league that we’ll cause them serious problems. Big disruption to our half-back line would be a big worry of mine though, hopefully Hannon makes it.

I’m expecting big performances from the likes of Lynch, Nash, Hannon, Dowling, Browne. These are all really good hurlers.

:sweat_smile:

What makes you say that Clare had a bad league? Because they ende up in the relegation playoff?
The management got exactly what they wanted out of it and division 1A status was secured.The league went well for Clare all things considered and we gained more from it than we did when winning the thing last year. Considering that McGrath and O’Connor played no part and the likes of Kelly, Galvin, Oisin O’Brien, O’Donnell and David McInerney at best played 50% of the games and the rest of the Ballyea contingent were missing it meant that it gave fringe lads a chance to stake a claim.

The Cork match the first night out we were very competitive. Even in the two other games they lost against Tipp and Waterford they had large spells of dominance and despite giving giving both teams a six point head start and reeled both back in before running out of steam.

The likes of Shanagher and Fitzgerald went on to cement their places in the side while the likes of Ian Galvin, Shanahan, Malone and the returning Cathal Mc all got significant game time and there is serious depth to the panel now and even more heartening was the fact that we weren’t leaking goals and goal chances while moving away from a sweeper without key defenders and we were back creating and scoring them at the other end.

It absolutely is not a personal thing. I just believe others have put in harder yards this year and deserve their starting spot for the opening round of the championship ahead of him. He has been very ordinary since his return, bar a few loose points against Galway when the game was well over. Others haven’t been amazing either but then again others didn’t walk off the panel at any stage. Nash needed to come back and make a big impact to warrant a start. He hasn’t.

This is just my opinion. He actually may very well start.