Proper defending. Hurled in college with some Kilkenny lads who were very average hurlers but by fuck they were some defenders, could shackle the best of forwards. It’s mindset. They prevent danger, not react to it. That might sound like a cliche but there is a huge difference.
I agree with you on the whole bit it’s like the Monday night football on sky where every single goal was avoidable through defensive error, a corner back cannot prevent every single run, who’s to say the ball wouldn’t have broken to the exact spot where the impeded O’Donnell found himself. I’ve played with and against some top class corner backs myself and familiar with what you’re getting at. I’d give the young lad the BOTD for that particular one.
Its all drills and cones now buddy.Spoofers everywhere.I know one of these “cone” men,he sees it as the clubs job to have these lads trained in the art of defending/scoring.His job is to put out the cones and get them playing to a “system”.
Had the pleasure of watching tipp train under eamon o shea. Not a cone of any description in sight.
As a former defender my belief would be that most goals can be avoided!
Ah I know what you’re saying but my point is that Casey made absolutely zero attempt to defend the danger, none whatsoever, wasn’t even aware of any from what I can see. Same for the second one, ball is spilled and O’Donnell can pick, turn and round him. One step out in front of him, bit of a tug on the jersey while Richie is challenging for the ball and maybe he never makes it to the ball in time to pick it in the first place and Richie recovers and clears.
Nit picking you might say but in my opinion defenders should do most of their defending when the ball is nowhere near them.
BTW Casey will make a really good corner back if he learns the dark arts a bit more
The most basic rule of the fullbackline. Keep goalside of your man.
Always was and always will be.
Has that been challenged by sports science ?
I’d say ye might have to go more basic than that such as “stay within 30 yards of your man” given Clare’s third goal Sunday
You can talk after the two goals Cork got off ye.
The cheek of the cunt - His own FB line are a disgrace.
Too simplistic mate.
If the ball goes past you, the man doesn’t.
Never ever be outside the range of your arm + hurley of your opponents head/elbow/ankle (delete as appropriate) depending on whether you are form Pallas/West Limerick/All others (in that order).
This.
Like the toothpaste of my youth, mentadent p - prevention is better than cure.