Lions tour of SA - thoughts & speculation

Fookin sad if he does. Club allegiances aside, Sackey did rap against Ireland while LF has been a revelation* for Ireland these last few months

*bit over the top but he is class

[quote=ā€œdancarterā€]Of those I think I have a better chance of touring than jennings, who is IMHO not even HEC standard.

Good shout on the evans brothers, might get in as a policitcal shout to the scots who wont have many more numbers travelling.

One more name that hasnt been mentioned, Simon Taylor. Covers 2nd rown/back row, previosu tourist as well.[/quote]

ah here.
how many trips does simon taylor have to come home injured from before they decide not to call him up?

Puke,
the sheridan thing was a genuine query. the last thing i wanted to do was give bandage ammo.
But if ever a lad was to know the difference between a tall fat fella and a short fat fella, itā€™d be bandage.

Luke is a far more rounded player than Sackey, but never doubt the Wapss Welsh bias in this.

[quote=ā€œtreaty_exileā€]ah here.
how many trips does simon taylor have to come home injured from before they decide not to call him up?

Puke,
the sheridan thing was a genuine query. the last thing i wanted to do was give bandage ammo.
But if ever a lad was to know the difference between a tall fat fella and a short fat fella, itā€™d be bandage.[/quote]

That, I find quite hurtful.

Another question, do England or Scotland have any viable second row options or will it be the two Irish and the two Welsh?

[quote=ā€œBandageā€]That, I find quite hurtful.

Another question, do England or Scotland have any viable second row options or will it be the two Irish and the two Welsh?[/quote]

Nick Kennedy Bandage, heā€™s in the mix. Other than that, no.

Captain was mentioned earlier. I think itā€™s BOā€™Dā€™s to loose. Oā€™ Connell is a banker for starter and i believe he seems to be suited to the kinda vice captain role. Still the leader of the pack and is asked on most decisions from what i can see, but Oā€™ Driscollā€™s remarkable return to form and his obvious on-field leadership makes them the perfect duo at the moment for both Ireland and the Lions.

Another question, do England or Scotland have any viable second row options or will it be the two Irish and the two Welsh?[/quote]

Iā€™ll let you off on the fact that such a rugby expert wouldnā€™t have known this already.

No, I know in my own mind who Iā€™d bring but I was looking to see what opinions the rest of you, even casual observers such as yourself, have on the matter.

Another question, do any of ye think England or Scotland have any viable second row options or will it be the two Irish and the two Welsh?[/quote]

If you had added those few words in above then iā€™d believe ya. But iā€™d say its time to pick up your soccer ball and go home. These kids donā€™t want to play with you anymore.:smiley:

That wouldnā€™t have made sense though Kev:

ā€˜do do any of ye think England or Scotland have any viable second row options or will it be the two Irish and the two Welsh?ā€™

[quote=ā€œBandageā€]That wouldnā€™t have made sense though Kev:

ā€˜do do any of ye think England or Scotland have any viable second row options or will it be the two Irish and the two Welsh?ā€™[/quote]

Emmmm. You got me there gay boy.

Some of us are trying to have a mature debate about rugby football and you pipe up with petty insults. Disappointing Kevin.

For the record, my 4 second rows would be Wyn-Jones, Toner, Gough and Kennedy, with the first 2 being the test pairing.

[quote=ā€œBandageā€]Some of us are trying to have a mature debate about rugby football and you pipe up with petty insults. Disappointing Kevin.

For the record, my 4 second rows would be Wyn-Jones, Toner, Gough and Kennedy, with the first 2 being the test pairing.[/quote]

You do make me laugh in fairness bando.

Ah bando, bando, bando, your consistent anyway, Iā€™ll give you that!

Jim Telfer psyching up the pack ahead of the first test in 97ā€¦

[media=youtube]wc3S6iGmUjI

Boylesports offering odds on Irish players to start the first test

British & Irish Lions Tour Of Sa 2009 20 Jun 17:00 - Will The Following Player Start The 1st Test Match Of The Series?
Selection Price
Oā€™Connell, Paul 4/9
Wallace, David 4/7
Oā€™Driscoll, Brian 4/7
Bowe, T. 11/8
Oā€™Gara, Ronan 7/4
Kearney, Rob 2/1
Flannery, Jerry 9/4
Heaslip, Jamie 3/1
Fitzgerald, Luke 4/1
Ferris, Stephen 5/1
Oā€™Leary, Tomas 6/1
Oā€™Callaghan, Donncha 8/1
Horan, Marcus 10/1
Best, Rory 10/1
Hayes, John 16/1
Murphy, Geordan 33/1
Horgan, Shane 40/1
Reddan, Eoin
Earls, Keith 50/1

O Callaghan looks a decent bet at 8-1 and Ferris at 5-1

[quote=ā€œThe Pukeā€]Boylesports offering odds on Irish players to start the first test

O Callaghan looks a decent bet at 8-1 and Ferris at 5-1[/quote]

O Gara @ 7/4 ?

They donā€™t rate him at all in the Southern Hemisphere.

[quote=ā€œtipptops*ā€]O Gara @ 7/4 ?

They donā€™t rate him at all in the Southern Hemisphere.[/quote]

Are the southern hemisphere picking the team?:smiley:

What I should have said was that they laugh at the thought of O Gara starting for the British Lions.

Every person in the southern hemisphere?

I am sure there are plenty of lads in Chile or Bolivia who couldnā€™t give a fuck

[quote=ā€œThe Pukeā€]Every person in the southern hemisphere?

I am sure there are plenty of lads in Chile or Bolivia who couldnā€™t give a fuck[/quote]

:D:D:D

They didnā€™t rate any of the 97 team either. Look where that got them.