Lions tour of SA - thoughts & speculation

[quote=ā€œShadowā€]Have to agree with GSH there. Hook and ROG as the 10’s with Jone’s in his suit watching from the stands. Jone’s is obviously a fine player, but not at the moment.

Glad to see Fitzgerald getting in but a little surprised with Kearney in and Byrnes out altogether.[/QUOTE]

I’d say ROG’s forthright nature doesn’t help him. I’d imagine ROG isn’t the type to make friends easily - ask Stringer and he’s been trying for 20 odd years- and a few of the Welsh coaching ticket might not be his biggest fans of late. There are 2 ways for ROG to start the 3rd Test- if the second test is lost (possible) or if he comes on Saturday and turns the game around which is unlikely to happen

forthright with his mouth maybe…anyone can do that…but with his actions of being afraid to stand up and tackle anyone bigger than him I’d imagine he loses a lot of respect?..

Yer both slightly off here lads.
ROG isn’t afraid, he’s just too bloody small sometimes and gets blown away.
On the other note, ROG is honest, but if its personalities your on about its Stringer who’s would be questionable there.

Not too many outrhalves can tackle fellas bigger than them and survive scumpot, take a look at Wilkinson for evidence of that. Carter isnt even asked to do it by the AB’s, although with that back row and those centres he doesnt have to.

In fairness to ROG, he doesn’t duck the tackles, he gets blown away by them.

Carter is well able to tackle though, Dan that is not Tom, although I heard a story about a bank vault…

He’s not afraid. Silly comment to be honest.
His technique of tackling high around the chest seems to allow him to get walked over.
He is just not as big as some other Tens. Having said that, if the game was focusing on 10 and as Shadow has said in the past about Munster, they woudl target O’Gara and you would need Wallace to provide cover there.
So, if we were allowed 16 on the pitch ROG would be there.
I still think tactical kicks and bringing the boks back 50 metres after they sweat blood and tears to move it up the field in the ruck would be a great advantage.
Jones will just do his usual. He’s rub coal dust behind his ears, speak gibberish and bang on about how Terry Griffiths is the best snooker player in the world.
No team needs that.*
[SIZE=ā€œ1ā€]
*except the welsh team.[/SIZE]

[quote=ā€œcaoimhaoinā€]Yer both slightly off here lads.
ROG isn’t afraid, he’s just too bloody small sometimes and gets blown away.
On the other note, ROG is honest, but if its personalities your on about its Stringer who’s would be questionable there.[/QUOTE]

He’s taller than BOD though so should have set himself up at this stage to be able to tackle

Anyway I think this is an old old argument and no point in raking over the coals

Just don’t see him getting to start a Test

thats fair enough but the way he goes on with his mouth about saying how he’s proud enough to wear one jersey and not the other…or how he reckons he should be playing on saturday ahead of welsh lads when the fact of the matter is allowances have to be made if he is picked…more so than a lot of other out halves…i don’t think as many outhalves are targetted as much as he is defensively…and also look so damn scared when approached…yet he’ll harp on about pride in this and that…

I thought you were talking about BOD here when he was found wanting, on the ground, begging not to be punched in the mush…

Oh yea Carter can tackle. They just have him tackle, he might speedbump a lil but, he doesnt have to bash fellas.

[quote=ā€œGarda Sean Horganā€]I thought you were talking about BOD here when he was found wanting, on the ground, begging not to be punched in the mush…

GSH.[/QUOTE]

BOD is fearless on a pitch…even his worst enemy would admit that…

[quote=ā€œGarda Sean Horganā€]I thought you were talking about BOD here when he was found wanting, on the ground, begging not to be punched in the mush…

GSH.[/QUOTE]

Disgraceful comment.

Lee Byrne broke his thumb and his tour is over…Ian Balshaw has been called out as a replacement

Cracking joke Pukey.

Cracking.

[quote=ā€œmyboyblueā€]Cracking joke Pukey.

Cracking.[/QUOTE]

Was hoping someone would take the bait

It reminded me of ā€˜21’ (from the book ā€˜bringing down the house’) where Fishburne didn’t smack yer man in the chair after ye gave him the option of ā€œhelping him outā€ setting someone else up.
I wonder will we see a ā€œloose passā€ from BOD on Saturday and a try for the Boks? My detecting senses are tingling.

GSH, the legendary Leinster man fired one loose pass last week to try to prize an opening but it was done safe in the knowledge that advantage was being played. Brian O’Driscoll doesn’t make mistakes on the big occasion - he thrives on the pressure and always, absolutely always, delivers in spades.

GSH.[/QUOTE]

Admins- ban him
What a fucking cheek

GSH.[/QUOTE]

Dear-oh-dear!:eek: GSH blasphemes !! Burn him at the stake !!!

Well that explains my earlier confusion over Kearney’s inclusing in the starting XV. :stuck_out_tongue:

Hear! Hear ! :clap:

(and perhaps burning GSH might be a bit excessive. He’s normally not that bad… perhaps a public flogging… :wink: )