Well that was shite.
No way will they win any title if they keep that up.
Fulham, Stoke and West Ham.
Well that was shite.
Fulham, Stoke and West Ham.
Enjoyable stuff in the last 25 minutes or so for the neutral.
Locke, extremely promising signs there. Great organisation, discipline and commitment. Good spine too with Upson, Parker and the imperious Bellamy.
Liverpool were a bit predictable. Strange substitutions by Rafa too. He didnât change the shape and they were just like-for-like and Babel should have been on earlier ahead of Ngog.
0-0, Iâm very surprised to be honest. 3 games with no goals gone in. Up to 13th or around that; over Stoke. Happy with that, good result.
[quote=âBandageâ]Enjoyable stuff in the last 25 minutes or so for the neutral.
Locke, extremely promising signs there. Great organisation, discipline and commitment. Good spine too with Upson, Parker and the imperious Bellamy.
Liverpool were a bit predictable. Strange substitutions by Rafa too. He didnât change the shape and they were just like-for-like and Babel should have been on earlier ahead of Ngog.[/quote]
Defence getting a bit more steely in fairness. Upson is very good, Green is class and I Scotty Parker was Curbsâ best signing.
[quote=âfarmerinthecityâ]Well that was shite.
Fulham, Stoke and West Ham.[/quote]
Miserable shite. Only saw the second half and Liverpool failed to put West Ham under any serious pressure. Keane is a liability at this stage and Kuyt actually looks a better striker.
West Ham on the other hand look like they could be turning it around. Were well organised and could have nicked it on a couple of occasions.
[quote=âtherock67â]Liverpool getting worse as this goes on (so is my internet connection though so it might just be that). Bellamy looking dangerous, Keane worryingly anonymous.
Wonder if Benitez could do it again would he rather Crouch and Bellamy to Kuyt and Keane for example. While the acquisition of Torres was proven quality he has really struggled with his striker purchases.[/quote]
Crouch proved he couldnt play with Torres last season. Bellamy is a scumbag that attacked one of his team mates with a golf club. He was shit at Liverpool neway. Hard to know who would suit Torres. Gerrard playing behind him would be the best Iâd say. Babel should be given a chance up front I reckon in his absence.
Robbie Keane is turning into one of the worst signings in EPL history. Its fair to say Im quite enjoying the prick making a show of himself. Could he be sold in Jan?
Yeah Collins when fit aint bad either. I still have ye backed to go down tho. West Ham at 5/1 and Hull at evens. Both not looking too pretty at the moment
Zola lauding Bellamyâs performance on Setanta there and praising his amazing workrate and great attitude every day in training. West Ham will be alright with him in their side.
[quote=âKIB manâ]Crouch proved he couldnt play with Torres last season. Bellamy is a scumbag that attacked one of his team mates with a golf club. He was shit at Liverpool neway. Hard to know who would suit Torres. Gerrard playing behind him would be the best Iâd say. Babel should be given a chance up front I reckon in his absence.
Robbie Keane is turning into one of the worst signings in EPL history. Its fair to say Im quite enjoying the prick making a show of himself. Could he be sold in Jan?[/quote]
I reckon it would be foolish to write of Keane just yet. I agree that he has looked slightly out of his debt at a top four club but let him see out the season before any judgements are made. As for seling him in Jan? Considering the loss entailed in such a deal it would look absolutely ridiculous on all levels for the club.
cascarino has hull at below 25 points in his racing post tip of the season - how many have they got now
Keane wasnât that bad tonight and didnât deserve to be taken off, particularly for a guy whoâs only notable contribution in a competitive this season was to attempt to handle a cross when the ball went over his head.
Keane hasnât had a chance to play in his preferred position that often this season - off the front man. I think it might be a little bit early to be calling it the worse signings in EPL history.
I think Rafa has a lot of blame to take for that match. No guile, no shape, no quality play. Just thump it forward and maybe Ngog will get his hand to it.
[quote=âKIB manâ]
Robbie Keane is turning into one of the worst signings in EPL history. Its fair to say Im quite enjoying the prick making a show of himself. Could he be sold in Jan?[/quote]
agree with that, canât stand him.
[quote=âfarmerinthecityâ]Keane hasnât had a chance to play in his preferred position that often this season - off the front man. I think it might be a little bit early to be calling it the worse signings in EPL history.
Completely agree with this point and I reckon anyone who slates Keane without at least adressing this point has a personal issue with him and is talkin out of their hole.
[quote=âfarmerinthecityâ]Keane wasnât that bad tonight and didnât deserve to be taken off, particularly for a guy whoâs only notable contribution in a competitive this season was to attempt to handle a cross when the ball went over his head.
Keane hasnât had a chance to play in his preferred position that often this season - off the front man. I think it might be a little bit early to be calling it the worse signings in EPL history.
I think Rafa has a lot of blame to take for that match. No guile, no shape, no quality play. Just thump it forward and maybe Ngog will get his hand to it.[/quote]
Think thatâs fair enough. I donât think Keane has been a success but he hasnât had much of a chance to be. Donât like seeing him play badly but Benitez doesnât seem capable of building a strike partnership.
When he sold Crouch you suspected it was with definite plans for Keane in mind but heâs effectively asked Keane to play the role Crouch used to.
[quote=âfarmerinthecityâ]Keane wasnât that bad tonight and didnât deserve to be taken off, particularly for a guy whoâs only notable contribution in a competitive this season was to attempt to handle a cross when the ball went over his head.
I think Rafa has a lot of blame to take for that match. No guile, no shape, no quality play. Just thump it forward and maybe Ngog will get his hand to it.[/quote]
Would agree that Keane is incapable of leading the line by himself or even with Gerrard in support. That rules out the 433/451 option. He cant head the ball so there aint much point in crossing the ball when he is the only striker.
Keane is at his best when he has a physical presence next to him. He was at his best next to Berbatov and Quinn who would bring him into the play. Heskey and Crouch would suit him too. So would Viduka. Torres is not that kind of player so it was a really bad error of judgement to have signed him in the first place. I cant think of anyway Keane could fit into Liverpoolâs style of play. A swap deal Keane for Modric in Jan perhaps?
His many weaknesses were only going to be exposed at a big club. Tactically he is clueless so again I cant see how Benitez brought him in.
[quote=âfarmerinthecityâ]Well that was shite.
Fulham, Stoke and West Ham.[/quote]
Youâre a negative coont. Knew youâd be on hear giving out.
Fair enough not a good performance (saw the second half) nor result, but theyâre top of the pile so letâs be happy about that.
[quote=âKIB manâ]Crouch proved he couldnt play with Torres last season. Bellamy is a scumbag that attacked one of his team mates with a golf club. He was shit at Liverpool neway. Hard to know who would suit Torres. Gerrard playing behind him would be the best Iâd say. Babel should be given a chance up front I reckon in his absence.
Donât agree that the Crouch/Torres partnership was proven not to work last season - donât think it ever really got a proper chance. I think Crouch is a better player than Keane so it was bad business swapping them at such a loss. Keaneâs a confidence player though and once he gets a bit of confidence weâll see a few goals. Donât think his partnership with Torres has really had a chance to settle either. Thought his attitude was shiâit when he was taken off.
Similarly I was disappointed with Stevie. At least three times he didnât get the pass he wanted and possession was squandered. Instead of chasing back he berated whoever it was that lost the ball. didnât seem to realise he wasnât playing off the striker, he was playing in a 2 man midfield. That in itself was daft. Mascherano was on the bench wasnât he? If available he shouldâve played with Gerrard off Keane or Kuyt. Iâd probably plump for Kuyt ahead of Keane on form and ability as a lone striker. Tactically poor from Rafa.
Absolutely awesome save from Green though. Bandage would be proud of that one.
poor result last night, and no matter what way you dress it up clarkey, they have 3 points from a possible 9 from home games against Stoke, Fulham and West ham. That wont win leagues. Liverpool should be 7 clear now. this is by far the best chance they are having to win a league in years, and they are fooking it right up. They may be in front now, but the other big sides have had tougher games so far. Man U have their 3 away games played against the others in the top 4. The fans booing after the game, despite going on top, is an indicator. Its not good enough to have 3 scoreless draws at home against weaker sides. and in fairness, they arent even mid table weak, they are relegation candidates.
Keane isnt playing well. He seems to play with his eye on the bench, seeing if he is coming off. He has missed some terrible sitters, and no matter what position he is playing in, he should be more effective and have a lot more goals on the board. I questioned his signing earlier, as his best position is the same as Gerrards best position. Liverpool would bhave been better served getting another front leading player like torres. Gerrard sulks when he has to play out of his favorite position, so having Keane there wont help things.
Not disputing that they are poor results but itâs points on the board that count and Liverpool have more than anyone else.
Whoever booed Liverpool off the field last night after going top has no right calling themselves a fan. You get behind the team at all times. At the end of the season that point last night could have won you the league.