Liverpool Football Club 2025/26

I think you’re overthinking this pal. Sure im home now. The eldest went home a while ago, ill hit the gym tomorrow… and 2 of the finest pissheads i know will go at it for the next 3 hours… glorious stuff. I giggle when i think of it.

One thing Gerard Houllier said that sort of stuck with me is “you need to keep a British heart to the team”.

You’ve got to have a few local or northern English or Scottish/Welsh/Irish lads at the centre of things as an emotional bridge between the team and the support.

This applies to any team in any country really. You’ve got to have that local flavour no matter where a club is. Barcelona always seem so much stronger when they have a few wonderkids from La Masia. Real Madrid need a hateful cunt of a red card prone full back or centre back who speaks with a proper Castillian lisp. Bayern Munich need a blonde haired, blockheaded arrogant midfield general from some small town in northern Bavaria. Celtic need a few Declans and Franks and Anthonys and Kierans from Coatbridge and Calton and Wishaw. Rangers need a few Fergusons and McPhersons and Jardines and Doddses from Airdrie or Larkhall or some deathly Ayrshire town.

Klopp understood this. He understood that local lads like Trent and Curtis and northern lads like Henderson and Milner and Scottish and Irish lads like Robbo and Kweeve and Conor Bradley were crucial to the emotional heart of the team because they automatically got what Liverpool was. Then the lads from other countries who come in will get it because they are taught what it is.

I’m not sure Slot understands this to the same extent.

Mourinho understood it which is why Terry and Lampard were always integral to his Chelsea. Ferguson understood it. Arsenal have Saka and Lewis-Skelly and now Eze to keep that real local flavour that drives a team on.

Whereas Liverpool are phasing it out.

That’s on top of the tactical failings and the disjointed nature of the team, which I have no interest in because I have no interest in watching sport any more and find the whole general topic of tactics and systems of play profoundly boring and meaningless.

Dan Burn at Newcastle a classic of the gets it genre.

So so true l. Needed physicality and water carriers. They’d all the football in the world. Should’ve given Trentington 400 grand a week and just bought Ekitike.

As @balbec alluded to on here recently it’s like a team a young fella would assemble on FIFA career mode on the PlayStation. All fine players who are highly rated on paper but too much chopping and changing.

Dom Szob has been Liverpool’s best player this season but is constantly switching between RB and midfield. No real continuity as of yet bar the centre-backs who actually look wrecked from having to play every game in league and Europe this season. Klopp managed to obtain an 80% strike rate from transfers which is very rare. Bar Naby lad and Darwin the vast majority of them worked out. Slot has actually been given a higher calibre of transfer signing but has yet to show he can utilise them. Even Chiesa probably would’ve flourished under Klopp. The exact type of player Klopp loved.

Brazil were disjointed in that World Cup but the main reason they got knocked out was because they had a superstar left back who took banana free kicks and played for Real Madrid and was drunk on his own greatness who stood there with his hands on his knees like a fella playing on a Sunday morning in the Phoenix Park after drinking 10 pints of Guinness the previous night as Thierry Henry waltzed in for a completely free volley at goal from four yards out.

Chiesa is currently second place in the running for the Liverpool Player Of The Season award.

Frankfurt must be wretched altogether.

Liverpool were built around Trent he couldn’t defend for shit but he could unlock a team.

Salah and Virge pushing on and they signed a load of attackers and they haven’t figured out the balance. Plus the Jota stuff. The emotional part and the loss of him as an option too.

A rebuilding season.

It’s difficult to do back to back guys. 3 in a row is very tricky too. 4 in a row is almost impossible to dream of.

Almost

The contract Salah got was the one Trent should have got, notwithstanding that magnificent bit of improvisation from the great man tonight.

Isak personality wise, I wonder is he an issue. Saw him berating teammates the first night in the League Cup and I just wonder.

I think a very simple and narrow 442 with the runners and Isak/Eki up front might be the way you are doing right now

Frimpong Sboz MC Curtis Jones

Whoever was tracking Schade for Brentford’s second should be dropped for a long time. Pathetic effort

Remember when they used to say City bought their titles.

That was funny

Trent didn’t want a contract is the difference. And that’s absolutely his perogative

That new left full back is shite. He was the cause of two of the goals yesterday.

I know he scored one as well, but…

I have to agree that the new mix with too many foreigners seems off.

Need Alisson back to steady the ship. And the Newcastle lad to get fit and start scoring.

And a new left full.
Might come right yet….

I see the liverpool footix are up in arms that teams are using tactics that make it tougher on Liverpool

Lols

Incorrect but carryon

A bizarre take alright.

The two peno decisions were bizarre. I don’t think either was a peno in a month of Sundays but if one is given the other should be.

I’d have no love for Liverpool but the officiating was yet again suspect to plain scandalous last night.

In saying that, they scored a goal in additional time when time was well up in the first half.

This additional time farce needs addressing as it’s plainly just a manipulation to suit someone on the outside. Gambling industry or worse. Either way, it’s a fucking joke the way it’s gone.