Beauty of a pass by Nygren to Kasper Schmeichel.
Watching Celtic at the moment got me like…

Nnnnnnnyyygggrrreeewnnnnnnn
That’s a terrific goal.
Nygren beginning to justify my tepid faith in him. That was Gareth Bale-esque.
This will be a penalty.
Eeenncgveeelllsssssss
A bit of luck for Coach NANCY.
I didn’t think that was the first cousin of a penalty.
It’s almost a carbon copy of one against Scales away to Hibs. I’m not sure I like them being penalties either but that’s the way it is now.
At the risk of coming across all Talksport I think it’s terrible for the game if that’s a penalty. Yer man probably gets a nudge, his arm is in a natural position, he’s trying to go for the ball, he doesn’t gain an advantage.
He’s basically just being punished for not being very good at football.
I don’t know what the rules are because I don’t do any research about these things, preferring to comment from a cynical pub bore standpoint, but my sense of natural justice says that’s not a penalty and if Rangers got one of those in the last minute of an Old Firm Derby at Ibrox with the score at 0-0, or more likely 4-4, Celtic supporters would be entitled to be furious.
Yeah I thought the Scales one at Hibs was absurd, but Scales came out post match & said he was surely it would be a penalty once it went to VAR as they’ve been told those ones will be awarded. Today’s was a replica of it, even though it’s not intentional. It’s deemed to be using his arm unnaturally to prevent the ball from going to an opponent. Some of these jocko interpretations aren’t followed elsewhere.
This Nancy era won’t be boring anyway.
A quite bizarre half of football.
Ralston looks completely out of his depth out there. I haven’t a clue what he was doing for the first goal. Seemed to just step out of the way. Has been brutal on the ball too. Good header near the end though I thought Yengi was offside.
Midfield have been good individually though we do look open when they have it. That’s been the same all season and not just under Nancy though it’s amplified now. Nygren has been very effective in there.
Yang maybe a little off it for their two goals but has put in a really strong shift and I think he took his goal really well.
Mildly encouraged by the way we’ve taken the heat out of the game once we went in front. Nervy spell near the end from their set pieces (again a long running theme) but we did exert a bit more control. No doubt they’ll try and emulate Dundee United with a fast and direct start to this half.
This is absolutely mental stuff. Could be 5-5. The defending against bottom of the table muck is indefensible
It’s made Scottish football nearly as BOX OFFICE as the years when you’d listen to 40 minutes of English football shite on RTE radio, and reports from Mondello Park and Grange Road hockey ground and Gowran Park because you feared missing out on Roddy Forsyth’s seven minute preview segment of the day’s Scottish Premier Division fixtures as he sat in the stand at Celtic Park 13 minutes before the kick-off of Celtic v Dunfermline.
I feel this is the year for the SPFL brains trust to announce at a short notice an SPFL Soccer Sixes from the Kelvin Hall in Glasgow with highlights on Grandstand or Sportsnight. It woluld really capitalise on the sudden resurgence of interest in Scottish football.
But they never said why Billy Reid had to die ![]()
![]()
Trusty the clown
Coach NANCY needed a somewhat boring half of football and he’s somewhat got it.
Four goals. Three points.
Agreed with @Cheasty there. A lower tempo half with less drama and a little more control of possession was something we hadn’t done yet and Nancy probably wanted.
Obviously the defending remains a problem. Ralston is the biggest issue there by a mile. I don’t think he offers enough quality on the ball to make up for his defending being far below the level of Scales.
But that’s two wins on the bounce. The gap to the top is closing. And as much as we need lots of players we could improve dramatically with a striker and a defender.
Teams should put their best finisher on the left wing agin Celtic. So much space behind Ralston .
Lads are now trying to defend the indefensible. This was a Livi side rooted to the foot of the table, they cut us open at will and a half decent side would have scored five themselves. Two wins against a ten man side and a dreadful Livi tell us fuck all other than we are still in bother when Nancy refuses to adapt and stubbornly persists with this system. We are speeding up into a head on collision the minute we play anyone half decent