Making a will

Who got to keep the money?

My brother as he paid 40k over the odds for the cottage and he moved into it.

Surely ye didn’t have to buy the cottage to keep the right of way? Whoever bought it would have to honor it legally.

Ha, you know yourself now Ambrose how these things go. You may think that, they may say that, but one day you’ll wake up to a crow banger outside your window and the keys to a telescopic loader gripped in your paw.

The cottage or previous incarnations of were right on top of our land over 100 years in the same family. It is about 300 yards off the road. We didn’t own any of the land with road frontage and the cottage right of way was the only access to the land. The land was nearly coming in the windows of it. A cow could nearly lick a window and tractors would be passing within yards of the front door. It was the type of cottage that some hippy or retiring English couple would end up buying and had been buying up around the parish in the years previous. They would be the type giving out about the smell of slurry or the noise made by silage machinery.

Pretty disgraceful of the Indo to publish the details of someone’s will

Details of wills have been published in papers forever. There’s a dedicated section for them.

I was with the solicitor today on the business of changing my executor, an in and out job…
Not so.

It was pointed out to me that as Nanny is deemed non compes mentis there can be no alterations to her will but let’s look at yours.
What happens if you croak and your joint assets are up in the air and Nanny not able administer things…
What happens if you have a stroke and are also unable to attend to matters….

There are an absolute raft of things you wouldn’t think of but the advice and advisor were top notch.

Be ready for me Tuesday evening. €200+vat. Best money I’ll ever spend…

We should all make those enduring power of attorney things while we are compus mentis. Nuts not to. But I think there is a new Assisted Decision Making Act coming in that will make it easier for people looking after people in Nanny’s situation to deal with assets.

Never heard of any of these instruments until this evening. Great shout.

Did one for the mother - just in time as it happened.

A good friend of my parents was showing signs of forgetfulness a few years back and he went with the wife for an Alzheimer test. When they came back for the results the consultant told them he would need another week with it but they should go and meet the solicitor in the meantime and do any jobs they had to…

Lads, if it’s all the same to yourselves we need the true expert on wills of the non compus mentis

@KinvarasPassion sign in

A very experienced doctor

A TFK poll is clearly the only way for this.

Im sure @KinvarasPassion will be happy to step in as an executor. Now how many acres did you say you have :smiley: