Manchester United 2024-2025-2026

It’s probably what ye should target. There’s no realistic chance of getting there via the league, ye are safe from relegation and none of the other cups come with such a prize for winning them. It’s also not an especially tough field in it this year, as the expanded champions league has gobbled up a few teams.

Lazio look strong so far, Spurs have had good results against United in recent times and Athletic Club would be hard to beat, especially as they’ll be at home in the final.

No clue on it tbh seems to be absolutely destroyed like the champions league.

Turned tel down because United didn’t have a buy options.

Got rashford and Anthony off the wages.

If you could find or two more young lads between now and the end of the season it would be huge.

That incredibly small but powerful word could derail this grand plan.

If

Does the word “if” not apply to all sporting endeavors?

Nobody bigging up their ‘team’ use terms like if.
When is the term associated with the big clubs.
If is relevant to teams languishing in the lower regions of league tables.

It derailed the Jameson Raid, the Boer War, Suez raid in 1956, the Iraq War and sixteen different wars in Afghanistan, so I’d imagine it’ll probably derail Manchester United’s idea to win a European trophy with kids.

You can’t win anything with kids.

Watching Utd in next year’s Champions League would be like watching Southampton in this year’s Premier League. Fans initially delighted to get there but then reality sets in. If Palace can go to Old Trafford and school them you can only imagine what a team like Lille would do to them.

Once you are in the Champions League it’s important to get knocked out as soon as possible to aid your chances of qualifying the following year

Terminology is imperative.

Not to derail this thread, but I’ll be closely monitoring next week’s pre CL play-off round press conferences.

1: “We believe we can win.” :white_check_mark:

2: “We have to believe we can win.” :x:

First means Celtic will be getting stuck into Bayern Munich with genuine belief. Second is an inadvertent statement of surrender.

We drew at home to Norway. We are looking for the win, but we’re certainly NOT LOOKING TO BE BEATEN.

We’ve got to go to Norway and IF AT ALL POSSIBLE, win that game. What we MUSTN’T DO against Norway, is LOSE TO THEM.

There is a scenario where 7 English teams qualify for champions League next season.

England gets 5 slots.
Villa finish outside top 5 and win Champions league
And non top 5 English team wins UEFA cup

It ceased to be a proper competition long ago.

There’ll be some mental gymnastics on this thread if a team in the bottom half of the Premier League win the Europa. The same fellas will still be trying to tell us that it’s an awful weak Premier League.

There won’t be any mental gymnastics.

It’ll be hilarious because it’ll drive the
Liverpool posters demented.

Finish 17th in the league and end up in the champions league.

I can already feel the seeth.

They are only codding themselves entering the Champions League. Like the Joe McDonagh teams making up the numbers in the preliminary QFs

Winning the champions league when you don’t win the league doesn’t really count.

Do big clubs even count European trophies won like that?

Hard to see Manchester United winning the
League next season. So I don’t mind not being in it.

It’s 14 years since they last even reached a Champions League semi-final but there’s lads on here telling us which Champions League winning teams count and which don’t.

A bit of competition for Young Boys for worst team next year.

A bit of decorum please gentlemen.

They have no class.