Manchester United FC 2013/14

[quote=“dodgy-keeper, post: 882755, member: 1552”]Would hate to see United becoming a two bob club like Chelsea changing managers every five minutes.

He faced an impossible job taking over. They just won the title, he couldn’t make wholesale changes against that backdrop. The attempts by Woodward to buy Fabregas and other midfielders was farcical, ended up panic buying Fellaini and stuck with him now.

As painful as this season will be give him next summer to sort out the squad and ditch the deadwood.[/quote]
Why wait to get rid of deadwood till summer. Should get rid of a few of them now. If he wasn’t going to make the changes last summer then maybe he was the wrong man for the job. He was never going to be successful by trying to copy Ferguson.

The key focus seems to be on getting 4th and securing European Cup football for next season.

They’ll probably finish outside the top 4 but win the European Cup this season. With Olympiakos in the round of 16 they are effectively into the quarter finals already.

Shaping up like Aston Villa in 1981/82. Manager who presided over the league win the previous season wasn’t around for the end of the following league season when they finished 11th in the league but they did win the European Cup.

A European Cup triumph this year just won’t happen. It would be the greatest fluke in football since Istanbul 2005. If United get over the Greeks they could ship a serious hiding against any of the better teams left in it.

Way it is going I dont think they will get past the Greeks. :frowning:

This is a great thread.

Not sure Liverpool beating Leverkusen, Chelsea and Juventus and Milan on way to win 2005 were flukes. Can you have four flukes in a row?

Moyes is out of his depth. If he was implementing a plan and team needed to adjust it would be understandable. Will United take drastic action or risk missing CL next year?
I think they will sack him.

I would have thought that United win in 1999 would have been a far bigger fluke given that they were completely outclassed for 89 minutes before their smash and grab effort.

@Captainshan - didn’t realise Moyes took abuse at full time. Was it just a communal “boo” at full time to signify anger at the result or were individual supporters dishing out abuse to him personally?

[quote=“TheUlteriorMotive, post: 882786, member: 2272”]Not sure Liverpool beating Leverkusen, Chelsea and Juventus and Milan on way to win 2005 were flukes. Can you have four flukes in a row?

Moyes is out of his depth. If he was implementing a plan and team needed to adjust it would be understandable. Will United take drastic action or risk missing CL next year?
I think they will sack him.[/quote]
Poor Moyes, having that old whiskey nosed cunt hanging around like Banquo’s ghost cant be a help.

Shut up you dope & let these poor cunts wallow in their own misery. :popcorn:

I expect more from you @Captainshan . It’s just the FA Cup and a chance for most of the first team to get a break.

Not a priority.

Two decent signings in the window (with 3/4 more in the summer), top four is looking achievable and the side is improving every week.

Moyes will prove himself yet.

He’ll prove himself alright croppy…ffs

Expecting more from @Captainshan

FFS sakes @croppy_boy :smiley:

[quote=“TheUlteriorMotive, post: 882786, member: 2272”]Not sure Liverpool beating Leverkusen, Chelsea and Juventus and Milan on way to win 2005 were flukes. Can you have four flukes in a row?

You’re right. This is the shite that it often thrown out about Liverpool’s win.

The fluke actually being that they got out of the group with the Gerrard goal.

Finished 30 points behind the league champions that season didn’t they? Not even the best them in their own city that season.

Ill give you olympiakos having a slight tinge of luck, but the rest werent

That could very easly be your season this year excepting european triumph

What’s that got to do with the European Cup?

Typical united fans trying to deflect attention away from their dreadful start to the season, don’t let them drag you down lads