4-0 win
@Monkey Allen (27)
@Monkey Allen (56)
@Monkey Allen (63)
Jugs (78)
Key early assist from @Rocko
Notable fact: Ultano broke the Guinness World record on Arthur’s Day for most substitutions in one match.
4-0 win
@Monkey Allen (27)
@Monkey Allen (56)
@Monkey Allen (63)
Jugs (78)
Notable fact: Ultano broke the Guinness World record on Arthur’s Day for most substitutions in one match.
[quote=“Scrunchie, post: 837306, member: 1408”]4-0 win
@Monkey Allen (27)
@Monkey Allen (56)
@Monkey Allen (63)
Jugs (78)
Notable fact: Ultano broke the Guinness World record on Arthur’s Day for most substitutions in one match.[/quote]
No, it was @LetterkennyMan with the 4th goal.
Special mention to the goalkeeper, @Bandage. Up at 4am this morning, over to London and back on two red eye flights and still came away with a clean sheet. He’s a great guy.
My good mates @Rocko[/USER] and @[USER=9]Bandage[/USER] and my new mate @[USER=1408]Scrunchie [who gained my respect through the medium of a TFKNFLFFLED beatdown], I have recently re-joined the astro winter league fraternity with some of my work colleagues in an attempt to regain my match sharpness in preparation for a return to hurling in the spring.
I’m playing in goal. We lost our first game in a high scoring affair. I feel like my D# is somewhat non-existent and despite a whole host of splendid saves or at very least, saves, we are not doing a good enough job in executing our gameplan, which technically doesn’t exist.
A lot of my team are astro noobs and I’d would be ecstatic if I could get some sage advice from astro legends such as yourselves around simple gameplan, formation and tactics to improve our chances of not conceding double digits regularly.
Of course, I wouldn’t want you to give away all your secrets. I’m not playing in your league or even at the same venue as you and I would understand if your wanted to keep any communications to PM but I’m a willing student.
Thanks in advanced, your humble disciple,
@cluaindiuic
[quote=“cluaindiuic, post: 840468, member: 258”]My good mates @Rocko[/USER] and @[USER=9]Bandage[/USER] and my new mate @[USER=1408]Scrunchie [who gained my respect through the medium of a TFKNFLFFLED beatdown], I have recently re-joined the astro winter league fraternity with some of my work colleagues in an attempt to regain my match sharpness in preparation for a return to hurling in the spring.
I’m playing in goal. We lost our first game in a high scoring affair. I feel like my D# is somewhat non-existent and despite a whole host of splendid saves or at very least, saves, we are not doing a good enough job in executing our gameplan, which technically doesn’t exist.
A lot of my team are astro noobs and I’d would be ecstatic if I could get some sage advice from astro legends such as yourselves around simple gameplan, formation and tactics to improve our chances of not conceding double digits regularly.
Of course, I wouldn’t want you to give away all your secrets. I’m not playing in your league or even at the same venue as you and I would understand if your wanted to keep any communications to PM but I’m a willing student.
Thanks in advanced, your humble disciple,
@cluaindiuic[/quote]
We play it fairly simple. A libero behind a marker with a volante and a mediano controlling the play behind either an enganche or a neuf et demi.
@cluaindiuic - we play a 2-2-1. Defenders take turns to step forward with 1 always “minding the house”. A bit of flexibility further forward with midfield and the attacker interchanging to bamboozle defences.
Keep it simple, bro. Loads of communication with and without the ball. Moving and making angles to receive the ball and getting forward to support the striker.
We broadly go man for man when the opposition have it but you don’t necessarily want the striker running back the whole length of the pitch after an attack minded defender so, again, communication and passing on runners is important.
A basic structure and a little bit of organisation should see you improve quickly.
[quote=“Bandage, post: 840715, member: 9”]@cluaindiuic - we play a 2-2-1. Defenders take turns to step forward with 1 always “minding the house”. A bit of flexibility further forward with midfield and the attacker interchanging to bamboozle defences.
Keep it simple, bro. Loads of communication with and without the ball. Moving and making angles to receive the ball and getting forward to support the striker.
We broadly go man for man when the opposition have it but you don’t necessarily want the striker running back the whole length of the pitch after an attack minded defender so, again, communication and passing on runners is important.
A basic structure and a little bit of organisation should see you improve quickly.[/quote]
Classic @Bandage here. They’ll get burned if they go with an orthodox 2-2-1.
Are ye playing on open pitches or cages @cluaindiuic?
Thanks gents.
Cages @Rocko. I keep thinking that if I escape the cage we’ll win but the ref doesn’t seem to know that rule.
I’d say half the goals we conceded last time were rebounds. Nobody reacting to the breaks.
You’re right about the comms thing @Bandage. They are the 2 big things I want to fix tonight. I plan on being more vocal, hopefully that will help with the rebounds and we build a lead and keep it.
[quote=“cluaindiuic, post: 840864, member: 258”]Thanks gents.
Cages @Rocko. I keep thinking that if I escape the cage we’ll win but the ref doesn’t seem to know that rule.
I’d say half the goals we conceded last time were rebounds. Nobody reacting to the breaks.
You’re right about the comms thing @Bandage. They are the 2 big things I want to fix tonight. I plan on being more vocal, hopefully that will help with the rebounds and we build a lead and keep it.[/quote]
It’s completely different in cages to be honest. I’d only keep 1 back in cages, then have 1 midfielder who who will commit to always getting back second and rotate who that person is. Basically if they break, you want your one guy back and one guy designated to get back next and not to worry about the ball unless it’s directly to him. Others to then mark men and get the defender and defending midfielder to pick up rebounds off the back. But make sure everyone talks through that, because you need to push up on then from the back once you get your two guys behind the ball.
Much better performance all round. We ended up drawing the match but we were way better than last week.
I was much better in goal too but I still let in some soft ones that I’m not too happy with. I’d have given myself a charitable 4 last week, this week a solid 6. Outside of my left leg is raw from all the sliding. And my hip is pretty sore too. Need to get some kind of pair of astro goalie pants if they exist. @Bandage do you have any specific astro goalie gear?
We could takes some scalps later in the competition. I’m hopeful of a mid-table finish and consolidate for next season.
@Rocko, we ended up gravitating toward a man for man marking system which worked well for us until the last few minutes when our fitness kinda fell apart and lads lost their marking discipline. Communication much better all round too. We built a good lead but ended up hanging on for a draw in the end.
Don’t give in to tights mate, shorts all the way.
[quote=“cluaindiuic, post: 841312, member: 258”]I was much better in goal too but I still let in some soft ones that I’m not too happy with. I’d have given myself a charitable 4 last week, this week a solid 6. Outside of my left leg is raw from all the sliding. And my hip is pretty sore too. Need to get some kind of pair of astro goalie pants if they exist. @Bandage do you have any specific astro goalie gear?
Go to Pro Direct Soccer’s website. They have a great selection of goalkeeping togs and trousers
@cluaindiuic - do not under any circumstances buy tracksuit bottoms or any other new fangled padding type garment to protect limbs. Having cut elbows and knees mark you out as an astroturf goalkeeper. I had cuts all the time when I used to be able to dive. Women would ask me, “How did you cut your arm?” “Being a hero”, I’d reply.