Mattie Forde

Forde retains his drive

News round-up: Gavin Cummiskey talks to Wexford’s Matty Forde who says he almost quit the game after last year’s stamping incident.

The issue of player welfare came back under the microscope yesterday when Wexford’s most accomplished footballer Matty Forde admitted he contemplated quitting the game last year in the wake of persistent media exposure.

Forde also cited a bias towards his plight after receiving a 12-week suspension for stamping on Offaly’s Shane Sullivan in the Leinster football championship semi-final at Croke Park on July 2nd, 2006. Video evidence appeared damning, in slow motion at least, but Forde continues to protest his innocence. However, it was the attention he received in the aftermath that almost saw him lost to the game.

“I put up with a good bit of abuse last year after the game. Listening to stuff being shouted on the street and when I was out at night. At the end of the day we’re not professionals and we do have to work the next morning after a game so from that point of view it can be very hard to take.”

Did you seriously contemplate quitting the game?

“Absolutely. When you are walking down the street and people are shouting stuff at you it’s not particularly nice. Phone calls to my home and stuff like that. It’s not the ideal scenario. We’re not professional players. If we were getting paid 50,000 a week or whatever you’ll accept it but not in the position we’re in.”

The handling of Forde’s case last summer prompted Wexford County Board chairman Sen Quirke to call it a “trial by media”. There was a 13-day gap from the incident to handing down the suspension. Also, it was missed by Donegal referee Jimmy White but twice replayed on the Croke Park big screen.

Wexford lost to Offaly but played Monaghan in the qualifiers a week later. As his case was yet to be heard, Forde played, scoring 0-6 of his team’s eight points. His personal hearing was on a Saturday, just hours before the fourth-round qualifier against Fermanagh, leaving no time to appeal. Without their chief marksman Wexford were duly beaten 2-12 to 0-11.

The GAA disciplinary system, since overhauled, came in for severe criticism for its handling of the situation.

Forde wasn’t exactly asking for the media attention to desist - after all he was promoting his own profile at the Adidas media day in Parnell Park yesterday, where this interview took place.

“It was hard to take. Looking around at what happened last year and the other high-profile players that didn’t get suspensions - that was probably the hardest part of it. I apologise for what I did and always will but I’ll continue to say there definitely wasn’t any intention. I’ve never gone on to the field to walk on anyone. There were other high-profile players that went unpunished so from my point of view that was the hardest part.”

This seems to be a reference to Cork defender Anthony Lynch having a red card rescinded, without any immediate explanation, at the same meeting Forde was due to attend. Lynch was cleared to play in the Munster football final replay despite being shown a straight red card for elbowing Kerry’s Kieran Donaghy in the drawn encounter.

The allure of playing at GAA headquarters played a big part in Forde’s decision to return this season.

“I just wanted to get back. The last five or six years have been very good to me football-wise. Obviously I have a lot of commitment to the Wexford team and the Wexford lads. I just wanted to get back kicking a football again. Get back to Croke Park.”

An immediate question that arises from Forde’s grievances is can anything be done by the GAA, or even the Gaelic Players Association, to ensure amateur players are not over-exposed?

"I don’t think there is. People will write in papers what they think is going to be sold. That was definitely the case last year. My incident in particular was even shown on television up until Christmas and into the New Year. I done the crime and I done the time last summer. It should’ve been over when the three-month suspension was up. Can we be protected? I don’t know. The GAA is such a big thing at the moment. It’s our national game so there is going to be huge coverage.

“I don’t know if there’s a lot that can be done to protect the players but I think the media should pull back from it a small bit.”

The same conundrum was put to Kerry forward Paul Galvin, who has also experienced a few scraps with the association’s disciplinary arm in recent times. "The attention wouldn’t really bother me as such but my family probably would take it worse than I do.

“Some of it is too personalised but what are you going to do? I don’t see any benefit in getting involved in it. I just want to play and get an All-Ireland medal. I probably come in for a bit more than most but, yerra, it doesn’t bother me.”

I don’t think the smaller counties ever get a fair crack at the whip. The ridiculous nature of the disciplininary process (banning him an hour before a knock-out game so he had no means to appeal), making Wexford play 3 games in 13 days just because Offaly had held up the championship by using too many subs, giving us 4 away and 3 home league games every single fooking year etc etc etc. There’s just an inherent bias against the lesser teams. That’s what makes the commitment of these players all the more admirable and why I hope Forde really responds this season and fires us to a Leinster Final. He’ll have to put up with even more off the ball stuff than usual though and I wouldn’t be surprised if referees also have pre-conceived ideas about him now after the Offaly lad got his head tangled under his boot. One Matty Forde.

It was a deliberate stamp which, I believe, is not out of character for him

You’ve seen him stamp on people other than when he accidentally trod on that guy? I doubt you’ve seen him play more than a hnadful of times. Has he been sent off in these games for stamping?

I’ve heard about his actions from a club mate of his in Wexford and also from an inter-county footballer who was subject to him in a league match

Small point to note, its Matty not Mattie, well called Bandage.

I think if it had been dealt with efficently there wouldn’t have been as much about it. As a fellow Wexican I can’t call it objectively but he deserved a suspension for his actions. Yet what Bandage says is true, if it was a Cork player it wouldn’t have been allowed to drag and there would’ve been no action. The likes of Frank Murphy are a scourge to the GAA, the sooner they bail out the better. Anthony Lynch should not have had his suspension over ruled last year. But he’s from Cork so different rules apply.

Bandage / Appendage and other Yellabellies on the forum, I doubt anyone on the forum doubts Forde’s abilities as a Gaelic footballer - he is in the top 5 in the country in my opinion.

However, I feel there is little doubt that his stamp on Sullivan was deliberate and to try and defend it is stretching your allegiance to your county a little !!!

Didn’t defend it, think he deserved to get suspended but the handling of the case was shambolic and inconsistent. That’s the point, I think having committed the act, Forde should have been dealth with before the next game and not have the case drag out. There was only action taken when the case remained in the public profile. Yer man from Donegal got the same treatment, the full back - can’t remember his name. Discipline imposed with a view to satisfying the journos etc. Video evidence is fine, but if a guy plays the next game in the championship then that has to be the end of it. Monaghan would have beaten Wexford last year had Matty not been playing, and would have fancied their chances against Fermanagh.

You told me about the incident with another inter-county player before, a goalkeeper I believe. This 'keeper had made a little mound for his kick outs and Matty ran by and knocked it over. Ban him for 6 months - send him out of the country.

Matty aint no thug,He made a blunder by stepping on that player but in fairness theres many more dirty players in the GAA eg,Ciaran Whelan.So I dont understand why everyone is singling out Matty.

[quote=Appendage ]
Didn’t defend it, think he deserved to get suspended but the handling of the case was shambolic and inconsistent. [/quote]

I’ve no problem with that but that’s not what Bandage is saying

Remember Dara O’S got sent off in a club match in Kerry a few weeks before an All-Ireland, which meant he would miss it? The Kerry County Board overturned it and the GAA did nothing

Scandalous

I remember after Rosscummon beat us in the qualifiers in 2003 with a last minute goal. Gareth Phelan, our keeper ran out and chopped the legs from under Frankie Dolan and got sent off. He was suspended pending hearing from the GAC which came almost two months later

Fucking disgraceful but Forde is still a dirty little tyke

He’s no worse than Jermoe McWeeney :smiley: - some role model he is!

I’ll admit that Jerome McWeeney was dirty - that’s the difference

I’m not saying Matty Forde’s not dirty, rather I’m saying he feels it necessary to be aggressive given the punishment he takes from defenders, usually off the ball too and not acted upon by 75 year-old umpires thinking ahead to their carvery dinner on the way home from the game.

I’d put him in a similar bracket to Canavan who knew how to handle himself and wasn’t shy about smacking a defender back if he was asking for it.

That’s all I wanted

Just on Jerome McWeeney - he is not my role model. I just remember that quote from him as being funny. I remember we played local rivals Mohill about 15 years ago in a league match. George Dugdale was one of the best footballers in Leitirm at the time and played for Mohill and McWeeney went out to do him. He ended up smashing the lad’s collar bone with a shoulder and bragged about it in the pub after. I cant condone that

The thing about McWeeney was that he wasn’t even from Eslin - he was from Kiltubrid and only played for Eslin because he fell out with the manager there. I am always wary of these type of people.