Melancholy Moments

Is there an auld song or similar that when you hear it you’re immediately full of unexplainable sadness

Every time the closing music to the Wire starts, without fail, I’m filled with pure sadness and loneliness. Every single time.
The only thing that gets close to it is Radiohead’s No Surprises tho I’ve heard it without having a breakdown.

Fuck knows what association i have made with the Wire for this…

There Were Roses -Cara Dillon.

But it’s explainable. Because it’s fuckin sad.

When the All Ireland finals were played at a proper time of the year id often feel a bit melancholic at the end of the football final

Summer is over
Winter is looming
7 months until next championship
Evenings bet

Suppose thanks to split season zealots I no longer feel this

Radioheads “Fade Out” for me. Was sung at a friends funeral. V sad thoughts for him and his family when I hear that song.

I would safely say that Street Spirit (Fade Out) is the most depressing song ever.

Needless to say I like it.

A mate of mine put it on a pub jukebox once with about three people in the place. I walked in to meet him and it was one of the most grim scenes I have experienced.

Uileann pipes sound melancholy a lot of the time, but played at a funeral as the coffin is being brought out or lowered down is extra melancholic.

Unrequited love.

We’ve all been there. Apart from Kev I’d say,

Interesting choice, I know it’s over was the obvious one

I guess this thread could be completely different things for everybody,

And… I’d say @caoimhin has experienced heartbreak that you wouldn’t manage in a thousand lifetimes :neutral_face:

Paul Buchanan - Mid Air

The fleeting joy the fleeting life captured so wonderfully.

Sufjan Stevens - The Only Thing. From the album Carrie and Lowell. Carrie being Stevens’ late mother who he didn’t have a great relationship with/ was somewhat abandoned by. The song has clear lyrical content that flirts with suicidal thoughts as well as dealing with grief. But perhaps he sees it more as a song of hope.
It’s also got a lovely guitar bit around 2’35 after he sings “I want to save you from your sorrow”.

Are ye alright lads?

Rows of houses are bearing down on me.

Some depressing intro.

I thought the OP was clear enough with his post - he was asking was there anything that instills a sense of melancholy when you hear it… I don’t know if people actually know what melancholy means as they’ve just started lashing up depressing songs

Who listens to lyrics?

Just don’t play the song on Mondays.

Only time of the year I feel it is when the clocks change and you know you’re facing into winter and evenings stuck inside. That first week is shite.

Being Irish, he had an abiding sense of tragedy, which sustained him through temporary periods of joy.