Michael Cleary

Spent most of the day listening to Radio 1 today from my sickbed

I find it amazing the amount of people who still stand by him despite the fact that he disowned his own son and lived a lie for his whole life. He preached the Gospel when he was a fraud in his own life

Despicable really…

I didn’t know he had a son.

Last I heard he was running a newsagent in Nenagh having retired in the late 1990s.

One of the finest forwards of that decade though.

farmerinthecity wrote:

Spent most of the day listening to Radio 1 today from my sickbed

I find it amazing the amount of people who still stand by him despite the fact that he disowned his own son and lived a lie for his whole life. He preached the Gospel when he was a fraud in his own life

Despicable really…

That’s Ireland for you. Same as the people who stand by Fianna Fil after all the ways they screw people over. (I’m not talking about policies here - I’m talking about stealing from the taxpayer, bribery, corruption, fraud that sort of thing).

I don’t understand it at all.

I think the whole child abuse scandal has a lot to do with the fact that most of us wont condem Father Cleary. The words “at least he didn’t abuse kids” are thrown around a lot.

I personally don’t have a bad word to say about the man, from what I heard in the Ballyfermot Parish he was a great priest and done a lot for the community, definately more then what the priests in Ballyfermot do for the community at the moment. His personal life is none of my business and in my eyes I’m not going to condem a man who didn’t break any Irish law, the fact he broke catholic clergy rules makes me respect him even more! He had a way of keeping the young close to the catholic church by being in touch with them, against Vatican rules he advised people to use condoms. He fought against a out dated vatican over public television and from the pulpit, and it’s because we don’t have more priests like him that the Catholic Church in Ireland is dead! The mans good doing well overtook the little bad he done.

I will say to Rock the reason why I and the majority voted for Fianna Fil is because of an unstable opposition who would not properly fufill the plans laid out in the National Development Plans, they also keep Tax fair, and stand up to the EU to save the low Coporation Tax that has kept our country’s economy strong. I really don’t trust Fine Gael would be that stable, don’t even mention the word Labour!!

Post edited by: BenShermin, at: 2007/09/04 21:05

BenShermin wrote:

He had a way of keeping the young close to the catholic church by being in touch with them…

Abuse abuse.

I thought you said he didnt do anything? http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y48/Flano/rollysmile.gif

He didn’t touch anybody!

Except the housekeeper, well I’m sure Fr. Jack was well fond of more then “the cup of tea”.

Alan Shore while defending a preist on charges of harbouring illegal aliens.

Judge: “He doesn’t fiddle with the aliens does he”
Alan Shore: “Only the nuns”

BenShermin wrote:

I think the whole child abuse scandal has a lot to do with the fact that most of us wont condem Father Cleary. The words “at least he didn’t abuse kids” are thrown around a lot.

I personally don’t have a bad word to say about the man, from what I heard in the Ballyfermot Parish he was a great priest and done a lot for the community, definately more then what the priests in Ballyfermot do for the community at the moment. His personal life is none of my business and in my eyes I’m not going to condem a man who didn’t break any Irish law, the fact he broke catholic clergy rules makes me respect him even more! He had a way of keeping the young close to the catholic church by being in touch with them, against Vatican rules he advised people to use condoms. He fought against a out dated vatican over public television and from the pulpit, and it’s because we don’t have more priests like him that the Catholic Church in Ireland is dead! The mans good doing well overtook the little bad he done.

I will say to Rock the reason why I and the majority voted for Fianna Fil is because of an unstable opposition who would not properly fufill the plans laid out in the National Development Plans, they also keep Tax fair, and stand up to the EU to save the low Coporation Tax that has kept our country’s economy strong. I really don’t trust Fine Gael would be that stable, don’t even mention the word Labour!!

Post edited by: BenShermin, at: 2007/09/04 21:05

First of all it’s not the fact that he broke Vatican laws that Farmer was complaining about - it’s the fact that he told everyone else how to live their lives while at the same time he was a prick to his son and to the mother of his child. I think a lot of people think he’s just a silly old hyporcrite but what the way he treated his family was way out of line.

Fair enough reasons for voting for FF if it’s just to keep the other shower out. I don’t agree with your choice because of all the corrupt feckers in the party, so many of whom stood as candidates in the last election.

I would really challenge the idea that he treated his Family bad, there is no proof of this. The housekeeper being an alcoholic is her own fault, if I have a problem with a person I leave them end of, I don’t turn to alcohol. She had free will, she could have easily left with her son as Fr Cleary had no rights not being the legal gaurdian.

As for the housewive being mental, publishing and making money from a book about the situation kind of gives me and many others the impression that she wasn’t that cracked!

BTW.

Fianna Fil: Currupt
Fine Gael: No proper TD’s to male a solid cabinate table
Labour: Fooking Shite
Sinn Fin: Gangsters
Independants: What’s the point!!

I have to vote for somebody!!!

Bit harsh on the Greens Ben. Were you South Central or Mid West?

I actually like the Greens, but at the time my mind was set on putting FF back in power. I’m South Central.

Hey ben

Don’t be a menace to South central while drinkin’ your juice in the hood

Ah relax Flano, It’s all Natural!

BenShermin wrote:

I would really challenge the idea that he treated his Family bad, there is no proof of this. The housekeeper being an alcoholic is her own fault, if I have a problem with a person I leave them end of, I don’t turn to alcohol. She had free will, she could have easily left with her son as Fr Cleary had no rights not being the legal gaurdian.

As for the housewive being mental, publishing and making money from a book about the situation kind of gives me and many others the impression that she wasn’t that cracked!

He didn’t treated his family bad? He denied his own son, not only to other people but to the poor lad himself. What an absolute disgrace of a man. There is nothing he could have done that makes up for it

Listened to this for about two hours yesterday on Liveline and some parishioner from Ballyfermot came on and said that Fr Mick actually didn’t do that much in the area but anything he did do he made sure people knew about it. There was a priest in the area whi is now in Clondalkin who did far more than Fr Mick ever did apparently

Also his relationship with Phyllis Hamilton was questionable. Here she was, a 17 year old girl, coming to him looking for help, much like a doctor patient scenario and he takes advantage of her

I find his family depicable now as well refusing to have anything to do with Ross, his son, because of ‘what his mother did’. He is not at fault here, nor is his mother, its Fr Michael Cleary…

you listened to liveline for 2 hours?

It wasn’t for two hours - it was for an hour and 15 minutes if I think about it again

Anybody who dedicates their life to a book of fiction is an eejit anyway. Turns out this Father actually was a father. Theres something to think about.

Also his relationship with Phyllis Hamilton was questionable. Here she was, a 17 year old girl, coming to him looking for help, much like a doctor patient scenario and he takes advantage of her

She was at the legal age and had free will, it would have been a rape case otherwise!

Also the New Testiment is not fiction, Jesus did walk this earth, it’s wether or not you want to believe his miricles and what he preached is the whole point of Christianity, and hense becoming a new preacher/priest.

The New Testament? Loaves fishes. My arse.

Son of God? Yeah thats right, he’s the son of god. God said to himself here’s a 13 year old girl lets stick a sprog inside her. Mary was getting up on clipped hedges since she was 9. Then Joey came along and came.