I think getting involved in a debate about Leinster and Munsterâs merits vs each other is to stray away from what this debate is about.
A shadow All Blacks team, beat a shadow Munster (plus has been All Blacks) in an utterly meaningless practice match. Even Popey got caught up in the hysteria by suggesting that if Henryâs team couldnât pull it out of the fire then he could lose his job. As if, when Henry didnât get the bullet after Cardiff (great fuckin night in the millenium stadium by the way) in 07 then I doubt if a practice was going to make much difference.
Munster lap of (dis) honour was pathetic and embarrasing.
[quote=âBandageâ]
Itâs none of my business what anyone follows in their spare time and I donât begrudge what youâre into but my own opinion (and individials tend to have different ones), like I said last night, is that it was akin to Ballyhale Shamrocks second string losing valiantly to the Kilkenny intermediate hurling team and then both teams completing a lap of honour as the crowd delivered a teary-eyed standing ovation in front of the Ballyhale senior winning team from the 1970s.
IQUOTE]
It was my opinion that most celtic fans were barstool republicans. The fact that it was my opinion didnt get me anywhere when it came to IOTM voting.
Your statement above that it was a meaningless friendly between two reserve teams, whilst your opinion is a complete load of bollocks. Not begrudery, just a pile of steaming shite.
And I acknowledge your lack if interest in rugby but that just weakens your argument further.
He actually played some good stuff at munster when he got his chance and was first choice right wing til Howlett arrived and now he is nowhere to be seen with the likes of howlett, earls, murphy and even horgan ahead of himâŚstrangeâŚI think that he probably made the switch a couple of years too late and he never really adapted to union fully, presume he is still on munsters books, He played for the Munster A team about 6 or 8 weeks agoâŚ
He was a superb rugby league player by all accounts
aye, what put me in bad humour for the game was seeing the 2 tools in here going off in their limo yesterday afternoon to the game. they wouldnt know one end of a rugby ball from the other, but wouldnt miss the big ones wehn showing face. same for the all ireland this year with Waterford, woldnt have a clue, but out in force when its in fashion.
You just made my point for me there with regards those two and Waterford. Every sport has these fellas, even, whisper it, Glasgow Celtic. Comes with success, and Munster are successful.
carter, correct me if Iâm wrong but was it a fact that these were second string teams? Also, is it a fact to state that unless thereâs an uprising in Munster and they fook off and declare their own republic theyâll never play NZ in a competitive game? Thatâs the argument done and dusted unlike your sweeping statement about Celtic supporters. It was two reserve teams playing a meaningless friendly. And thatâs before a mention of some lads from the air corps or army hanging out of a helicopter to deliver the match ball (presumably at tax payersâ expense) before a Haka was performed to an accompanying sound system (like going to a live gig and listening to a backing track). It doesnât get much cheesier than that but it was the corporate type of guff the Munster Branch were aiming for. Cringeworthy stuff for other people though. And now those Ireland vs England soundbites from 2007 and how we matured as a nation are getting regurgitated somewhat except this time it was the night that Limerick put its best foot forward. Hilarious stuff.
But mbb did you not read Bandageâs earlier postâŚdespite coming across as very condescending and full of begrudgery, he stated that he doesnât begrudge Munster anything, so he obviously doesnâtâŚI must say I love days like these when Munster give a great performance(granted they lost last night) as you really see the begrudgery and bile come out in lads, especially GAA heads and leinster lads or fellaâs who make out they donât give a fuck about rugby but they have no problem pointing out what they thinks is wrong with munster and knocking everything they do nd trying to discredit themâŚ
oh completely, there is bandwagonism in every sport and as you say, succesful teams, doesnt mean its any easier to take tho. and credit where its due, the munster bandwagon is fairly large and one of the better/worst ones going.
As I said, itâs a vast difference in perception rather than begrudery on my part. As far as I can tell, and correct me if Iâm wrong, Iâve pointed out facts related to the game on this thread but itâs naturally those without a vested interest in Munster that more readily acknowledge them. And for the record, if a Celtic reserve team containing OâDea, McCourt, Koki Mizuno and others had a gallant defeat against a Brazil team minus all their regulars then I wouldnât be creaming myself about it.
For the life of me I canât find the begrudgery in this post, or indeed any of Bandageâs posts in this comments.
Alot of facts though and some decent observations.
I wonder did the Auckland (could be wrong here but fuck it) get all tearful and heroic when they narrowly lost to the Lions on 05? I doubt it because it was a shadow Lions team and it was a mid week touring match.
Last nightâs event was more like an elaborate theatre production, and now that I think of it, the way Howlett stood back from theRockokokokoko at end I wonder was the result pre destined to be tight before a ball was knocked on in anger? Did the All Blacks agree to be part of it on the basis that they would win narrowly at the end? They missed some shocking kicks. The grand opening had to be memorable and Iâm sure theyâre gonna need a shit load of money in the future to maintain themselves.
[quote=âAppendageâ]
For the life of me I canât find the begrudgery in this post, or indeed any of Bandageâs posts in this comments
Last nightâs event was more like an elaborate theatre production, and now that I think of it, the way Howlett stood back from theRockokokokoko at end I wonder was the result pre destined to be tight before a ball was knocked on in anger? Did the All Blacks agree to be part of it on the basis that they would win narrowly at the end? They missed some shocking kicks. The grand opening had to be memorable and Iâm sure theyâre gonna need a shit load of money in the future to maintain themselves.[/quote]
Your a gas man appendageâŚyou should change your username to Jerry SeinfeldâŚOr would Johnny Vegas be more aptâŚ