Whipping Boy - We Don’t Need Nobody Else on French TV

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sLT5s9eoBgo

Whipping Boy - We Don’t Need Nobody Else original video

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N_xIL_oitZI

The Chieftains and Sinad O Connor - The Foggy Dew

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=13MQFCfCYdQ

Sultans of Ping - Wheres me Jumper

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Te0s-ysnDWw

Flano, I modified that for ya - instead of putting inbetween the brackets the full path to the file just put in the part after the “v=” bit on the filename, in other words the video code for this particular video, not the whole URL for youtube.

Will a mod sort out that bloody video for me

Sultans of Swing FC…Oasis…Man Utd…Pete Doherty…

I dont like you much. I tell ya what Flano - the way you will recognise me at the Christmas party is that it’ll be my fist in your face

Jesus I have been reading too many post by Ball Ox…
Apologies Flano

But your’e still a fool

actually that pete doherty thing is a load of shite. hes a scumbag.

What’s wrong with it? I can’t see videos in work but I can fix it probably if you let me know what’s wrong.

Smashing stuff from Whipping Boy on French TV. Thanks Rocko. One of the few songs that still puts a shiver down my spine every time I hear it. I’ve said this before but the music on that song and entire album is incredible - even the opening few bars of that has you left with your mouth open. Best moment is Fearghal jumping into the camera and away again with ‘and comfort makes you dim’ - what a song, what an album, what a band

Mentioned this to you lads before but I remember a Hot Press reviewer called Gerry McGovern going on about Whipping Boy. He said that he thought that Heartworm was simply the best suounds he has ever heard. Better than anything - probably even birds singing on a summer’s morning. Found an old review of his recently where he calling Will Oldham as a genius after his second or third album - respect Mr McGovern

Spot on Farmer. He did indeed praise them to the high heavens. Back when hotpress was cutting edge.

This is the review you are referring to I believe:

Hot Press: Heartworm, October 1995

Whipping Boy understand the other side. Thats a precious knowledge. Its the knowledge needed for great rock n roll. And on the night that I heard of the death of The Velvet Undergrounds Sterling Morrison, its important to know what is rock n roll.

If there are echoes of the Velvets music here, they are well hidden. Much more in evidence is the taste of Nick Cave and Leonard Cohen. But these influences are like pepper on the stew; the stew is a Whipping Boy stew.

The spirit of the Velvets is here though. The bald honesty that Lou Reed disgusted the critics and the radio stations with back in the Sixties is here. Fergie McKee has learnt to confront his demons in the public square, and we all should be the better for it. When on We Dont Need Nobody Else, he sings “I hit you for the first time today,” its clear that the line hurts to be sung. And it makes you think about it all, think about it long and hard.

So, Fergie is a bit of a bollocks. A sometimes drunken, drug-addled, self-obsessed, violent creature. Whats new about us? Or should we pretend that here is a rare specimen, someone whose is absolutely not us?

OConnell Street may be wide but Dublin (and Ireland) is known for narrow minds. The fact that Whipping Boy have produced an album as searching and truthful as Heartworm while still living in such a claustrophic country is testament to a rather unique character and talent. (Or perhaps a testament that Ireland herself is opening up.)

The fact that Whipping Boy have produced an album as infinitely hummable and hookedly loveable means that melody runs through their veins. Yes, Heartworm sings with a bubbly and a bounce and that strange here-and-there twist. That turning into eh gyre as the centre cannot hold. That necessary chaos.

Twinkle, the recent single is magnificent, simply and utterly so. When We Were Yong has Shane MacGowan under its fingernails as it romps and stomps and does a tenth pint of Guinness dance. Tripped is subdued, steals in, then rasps as the guitar chokes. “I lost my faith in all things good,” Fergie sings. The Honeymoon is Over is a lament for a love that always slips away, a powerful dark meandering river of loss. We Dont Need Nobody Else feels like a chorus chanted by two doomed lovers as they stand on the edge of a cliff. The fact that this chorus is so engaging merely adds to the sense of delirium.

"Blinded begins like it has just been set free. It races, surges, bounces, for a time dives into a dark cave, only to return with adrenaline dripping from its lips. Personality is pure and low-key and melancholy, as it skips along on sweet guitars and strings.

Users opens with the most perfect anticipation; ringing bell, an echoed riff. Then the words pierce through: “Yeah, I abuse so many people/For no reason or no gain/Sometimes its just for fun/Or a way to keep me sane/Theres someone lost inside of me/Drowned in whiskey games/You ask too many questions for me to feel okay/What if you lost all those fears of me?” The sheer honesty and beauty of these lines is startling. And the music, at times eerie, at times abrasive, is a wonderful compliment. A song that grabs you and leaves its mark.

Fiction is much more upfront in its approach, as it drives forward on a certain beat and Fergie lets his voice soar. Morning Rise ends the album on an optimistic title, though the lyrics betray the central fatalism and melancholy of Heartworm. The orchestral arrangement, backed by acoustic guitars and drum brush strokes gives it an air of something from some other time.

Ferghal McKee, Myles McDonnell, Colm Hasset and Paul Page have stood the test of time. Whipping Boy as a group have lived long enough with the blues, with bitter disappointment and neglect. But thats what happened to all the great Blues singers, and now Whipping Boy can sing their own white trash Kildare-meets-Dublin blues with a command, integrity, passion and scintillating energy that is truly, truly their own.

Heartworm is a unique album. It is a startlingly honest exploration of the psyche of the outsider. But its very melodies are joy. And its chords and beats are rocking like no other. It is like poitin and poitin mixed. Explosive!

Heartworm is one of the best albums I have ever heard.

Gerry McGovern.

This is a good review as well:

Melody Maker : Live Review : Splash Club : London, May 1995

If this kind of heart-heaving commitment and blow-torching intensity, this reluctance to armour-plate their souls has you backing off because it’s now so deeply unfashionable, well frankly, fuck you!

Commitment. Jesus, no one believes in that corny, party-pooping shit anymore, do they. I thought about compiling a list to wave triumphantly in the faces of crabby vets on VE Day, should any of them start going on about the youth of today and how they don’t care about anything anymore. Then I realised that it would be a depressingly short list, that in fact there would only be one name on it - Whipping Boy. If this kind of heart-heaving commitment and blow-torching intensity, this reluctance to armour-plate their souls has you backing off because it’s now so deeply unfashionable, well frankly, fuck you! Dublin’s Whipping Boy may never have plumbed Joy Division’s depths of existential despair, but that’s how far back you would have to go to be similarly shaken and stirred. And, if front man Fearghal McKee - charisma on a stick pretty much - is not the spiritual and vocal flyover that links Ian Curtis with Van Morrison, then I’m the Duke of Edinburgh.

McKee is so utterly possessed, so deep inside his songs tonight its like he has left the door to his soul wide open and its banging in the wind. I don’t know how it happens - neither does he, probably - but suddenly midway through the ferociously fulsome ‘We don’t need nobody else’ he’s pulled his clothes off and is standing there bollock naked and bug-eyed. Singing like he’s alone in the world. It’s McKee’s way of saying he has nothing to hide.

Every song tonight is a perfect blend of sexual savagery and (hyper) sensitivity ; there’s huge, scary, sucky wind-tunnels of guitar and soft blizzards of dream fuzz; there’s the pop drone of Sonic Youth; Bailterspaces industrio- humanism ; the molten flow of Catherine Wheels ‘Black Metallic’; the same early dawn grey that washes over Bowie’s ‘Heroes’; the sublime single moments of U2, JMC and Swervedriver (sure they had em). Its a sound as brave and big-hearted as a bear.

If Twinkle, their sky ruling king shit of a single doesn’t do it for you then I suggest you apply for a heart transplant at once. Here the guitars sound like skidding concordes and the shamelessly swollen line like ‘she’s the air I breath / not too pure for me’ is skewed by ‘hole right through her head / I think I might be nothing to her’. Reality, as McKee knows, will always bite.

There are old songs - the quasi mystical rant that is ‘Highwayman’ the slow stampede of ‘Favourite Sister’, ‘I think I miss you’ where McKee is practically vomiting raw emotion - but they climax with the slow-rushing ‘We don’t need nobody else’. Its a mini-drama about the deceptive cosiness of an intense relationship ‘I hit you for the first time today’ McKee intones. ‘You wouldn’t let me go to the phone / you wanted to make love and I did not … and you thought you knew me’. You won’t find that one shifting many tubs of ‘Hagen-Daas’.

At a time when irony has just become a crap excuse for hiding your heart, Whipping Boy still reckon conviction and intensity still count for something. Tonight, my finally tuned fraud alarm didn’t go off once. That’s important.

Sharon O’Connell

I love McGovern’s discussion of ‘Users’ - for me the track of the album

I think that he is a friend of the band. He wrote the biographical piece on the sleeve of the third album. I’m surprised that he doesn’t commend Page in the review - for me the album is all about him. Mind you I take his point about McKee lyrics been almost too difficult to listen to at times - smashing comparison to Lou Reed. And to think the majority of the world will not have heard this album…

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5AXJjY4BTLI

Farmer >;).I’ve just read your post directed at me on the worst day imaginable.
That Wheres me Jumper song is fookin fantastic to hear when your out on the piss.
As for the other things I’ll just have to pardon your ignorance.

But your’e still a fool

Fook off. Never was never will be.
You have some set on ya to be calling me that without even knowing me.

And the fact you dont like me much is a probably a good thing considering how much of a clown you are.

PS

The way you know me at the christmas party is I’ll be the one putting the glass in your face ;D

PPS

Ah fook it lets put our differences behind us and just get pissed. Im sure thats one thing we can agree on

Good stuff Flano :wink:

I think I speak for the entire forum when I say that any friend of Ball Ox’s is a friend of mine…

I love this video from the boys - A single fuck they couldn’t give – the drummer at the start and particularly the end of the video :joy:

The Stranglers - No More Heroes

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-gfIgA-PYyQ