I don’t mind saying that Galway were excellent in the Stadium today , When was the last time Kilkenny lost a game after leading by 9 points?
A most encouraging performance with the caveat that it’s chief instigators Farragher, Tannion and Regan have been known to make the most costly errors when it matters most in high Summer. Galways primary objective in this years league(other than crafting intercounty hurlers out of the likes of Ryan, Coen etc) is to beat KK and Tippereary so supporters cannot but take heart the way the players responded today particularly after the whirlwind start by Kilkenny.
The other main observation I observed today was that Tommy Walsh is still a cunt
Ya, its a dreadful record. They definitely have the upper hand. They really seem to raise their game for Cork. Haven’t heard an eye witness report from anyone yet, but seems going by the paper that the young players are still going ok. Cronin again impressed, now that would be consistency in a world gone mad.
As much as I wish it were different, Galway are still Kilkenny lite. The brawn without the brains.
Hiney out for the season apparently. Huge blow.
Tough break for him personally. They’ll miss his power big time.
Waterford hurler Ken McGrath has announced his retirement from the intercounty game, days after facing Cork in the Allianz National Hurling League.
The 33-year-old phoned Deise boss Davy Fitzgerald today to inform him of his decision and was not present at training at the Waterford IT sports campus this evening.
McGrath started in midfield against the Rebels on Sunday, but was replaced 11 minutes into the second half.
The Mount Sion man made over 50 championship appearances for his county. He made his debut against Tipperary in June 1996, while defeat to the same opposition in last year’s semi-final has emerged as his last outing in the championship.
He scored 1-89 in that time and captained the county twice, winning four Munster SHC medals and a National Hurling League title (2007).
With his club he won six county titles and a Munster club title in 2002.
He’s throwing his hat at it rather easily isn’t he, after one game? The Waterford lads are mad for the drama, he could be back yet.
says the boy from Cark :lol:
Are the older Waterford lads a bit hard to handle or is Davy not great at man management? Same thing with Shanahan getting seriously pissed off with his treatment last season. You’d think Davy could get his point across that McGrath isn’t a guaranteed starter but he’s still valuable to the panel and that McGrath could accept this and see that he remains an important player not just for contributions off the bench but also for general experience, influence and helping bring through the young players. Possibly fault on both sides? Seems like unnecessary drama that could have been avoided though.
Having read the book on Waterford hurling that was released last year, I’d be amazed if anyone could keep them in check.
I’d have reservations about Davy, but i’m going to give him the benefit of the doubt on this one. The problem is though with massive management teams, the actual main man can become a bit distant. The Waterford players are feted in Waterford on a level with KK players in KK (probably more than KK in fact) and the height of the popularity of the Cork team in 2005. Yet they have won f-all really at the end of the day bar one decent league and one decent competitive Munster. i think they feel they brought Waterford back into the big time and should get special treatment.
Thats just a view from the outside, maybe Davy is the bluffer i thought he was, but i just get the feeling he’s learning.
Which book was this, WTB?
The Ecstasy and the Agony by Damien Tiernan. I wouldn’t recommend it to be honest. Not a well written work.
On the contrary Bandage. I’d say this was fairly good man management. Ken has been washed up since early 2008. Davy gave him every chance to prove that he wasn’t but after Sundays performance the penny must have dropped with Ken that it was over. And he walked. No drama.
Jaysus that Cork fella would sicken your hole talking about the Waterford fellas loving drama. If it wax one if the Cork hurlers in the same boat we’d have had the following
- The Press Conference to announce the retirement.
- The Communal Press Conference where all the other members of the panel express their support for the retiree.
- The solicitors letter.
- The Strike in favor of the retiree.
- The march of the sombreros down Pana
- Generations of resentment and families split against families.
[quote=“Bandage, post: 557208”]
+1. It was only a couple of weeks ago that that Sean Og fella was shiteing on in the papers again about his retirement, get over it already ffs.
Ken was some aul servant for Waterford, 33 seems young in a lot of ways, but he’s been on the senior scene since he was 16 so he owes them nothing. The end is tough to take, but you’d respect him for how he’s moved on, he desperately wanted to be a part of it still but knows after last year and this that his body wont let him. Davy realised this, but it had to be Ken that realised it for himself. I wish him the best of luck for the future.
Agreed - yet another strike incoming?
It’s a while since I read such a pile of speculative shite.
No doubt you know someone in Waterford who has told you all this
I gave out as much about Sean Og and his whinging as much as anyone. And anyone who has read what i read about the strikes/Cork hurlers etc will know its balanced and factual.
I also mentioned i was looking from the outside, are we not allowed speculate now Fagan? Fuck off with yourself, yer hurlers have made arses of themselves plenty of times for any of us to question this.
You got one funny in after 3 years and now back to type again.
Neither me nor Turrene went on strike for hurling ever as far as i am aware. So i really don’t see your point.