Closed in 2003. 1997 is the last year I recall they made inter-county jerseys. Clare and Wexford were still using them that year but switched to O’Neills for 1998 when Clare got a knock-off four year old Dublin sleeve design. Galway footballers wore O’Neills in 1997 but their hurlers wore Connolly jerseys that year.
Those cork jerseys were iconic. Need the Meath one too.
They don’t fare great after a few washes, from what I’m told. A pity, cos they are tasty enough
Not great at all but not cheap compared to O’Neills which for all the faults will last.
O Neill gear is savage to be fair.
It’s sizing is a bit quare though, I was in the charge of ordering club gear last year and quality and design was top notch but a fella could be a large in a round neck warm up top, need an XL in the long sleeve tops they do and a Medium in some of the jacket styles would fit. A bit of a nightmare when doing club orders like that
Amen to that. Jackets, polo shirts, jerseys and wind cheaters. None align in sizing whatsoever.
Me = Medium Jacket - XL Polo Shirt - Large wind cheater.
Drop the box of new gear in dressing room and scatter rapidly.
And what is after fucking it royally is the new “player fit” they have now. You go to buy a size L pullover sweater and when it arrives by post it’s like a fucking sports bra, what I’d consider a size small. I was involved in a team that reached a final and we all got gear. Trackie bottoms, warm up top and Long sleeve Top. What size do you want they says. I’m a size L in everything. The gear arrived a fortnight later. Fuck sake… trackie bottoms were A1, those tight fit kind but they fit fine. The warm up top was player fit. Now I’m not a fat cunt nor have I a 6 pack, but this was a ridiculous yoke, fuckin welded on to me, unwearable. The long sleeve top only marginally better, just about wearable. There were some members of the management who could not wear any of it, some waste, and it all initials so can’t give it away. Fucking player fit, the cunt who ordered player fit for management team should have been shot dead
You must have massive man boobs
Let’s just say I never took on that job again, EVER.
Lockdown expansion is an actual thing to quote, The Don.
We were ordering training gear last year (not O’Neills), all the young lads want the gear absolutely bate onto them. I was looking at one of our best young lads, he’s about 6ft, just out of minor and loads of filling out to do; he wants small . I says to him all your uncles are 6ft2 and bigger, this might last you a few months. No way would he move up a size or two
At least they might get away with it at 19, but the likes of @TheUlteriorMotive prancing around in his yoga pants at 40-odd years of age would want a word with himself.
If you got it man
Those skinny fucking tracksuits are a scourge
That’s the way it was back in my day and I’m not for changing
Men over 40 should be disqualied from wearing them. Jim Gavin used to wear them with a big Kenny Daglish type managers jacket. His little bandy legs looked like something you would see hanging out of a nest.