Today fm news there said he’s expected to be sacked
Today FM news is a lad in an office opposite the Hairy Lemon pub.
I wonder if there’s a split in the boardroom & if moves were afoot tae empteeehhh Wilf before it was aborted. Peter Martin is a reliable jocko football source & has the ear of Martin O’Neill from that after dinner circuit where Martin is the MC & MON regales the crowd with anecdotes. Or maybe it’s going to happen but just not yet.
Legendary football ITK Indykaila is implying there’s a split anyway.
Some people have speculated that Martin’s source may be the other Martin.
It doesn’t take a genius to work out that in a situation where a new manager comes in and loses his first four games, there will inevitably be a split. There has to be. The appointment of Nancy is obviously going up in flames before everybody’s eyes. But it’s a humiliation for everybody involved in the appointment. And that means some will inevitably be more prone to dig in than others. Some will find it more difficult to accept reality than others.
Envisage it as a Wilfried NANCY style meme describing what happens in a PANIC state, a Venn diagram of Acting and Inertia.
Some people may perceive acting as the true representation of PANIC - a knee jerk reaction.
But inertia will be perceived as the true representation of PANIC by many others.
And what characterises PANIC above all is confusion.
It’s like with the Russian invasion.
“They’re not really going to invade Ukraine, are they?”
“Yes, they are.”
“Ah come off it. We’ll proceed as if nothing is happening.”
“But it IS happening!”
“Ah no it’s not.”
“But it IS!”
You were wumming along merrily up to this….It was at this point I realised you were taking the piss the whole time. It’s like Steven Poacher telling the Leitrim Observer he has plans for winning the Connacht final.
My bet is that there will be a statement that Wilfried NANCY has been sacked, sorry, mutually consented, around 9:35pm tonight.
Two more games?
“How did ye line up under Martin O Neill lads?”
"Well spread out like that again so. "
Would a 15 day reign be among the shortest of all time?. We’re not to count the likes of MON’s temporary control or any of them 3 week stand in jobs but a real- time contracted appointment…
There have been a few extremely short tenures in football history which spring to mind like Clough at Leeds (39 days), Frank De Boer at Crystal Palace (four games I think) and Ten Hag at Leverkusen (two league games).
But those managers were appointed in the summer so their tenures in terms of days would have been longer.
Steve Coppell lasted about a month at the now defunct Manchester City FC in 1996 but I think he had some sort of nervous breakdown.
There have been many calamitous appointments which have bombed - Nathan Jones at Soton, Roy Hodgson at Liverpool and obviously Rangers have had a few like Russell Martin, “Mick” Beale and Paul Le Guen, but you’re into the months category there, and four games and two weeks would be unprecendented at a major club I think.
It’s Liz Truss and Jim Gavin that really spring to mind in terms of comparisons. Last night was Coach NANCY’s equivalent of Jim Gavin doing the The Week In Politics debate the morning before the night he pulled out.
Surprised I haven’t seen the Liz Truss lettuce rolled out as a meme. Yet.
I suspect Celtic are trying to time the announcement for a time when people are starting to go to bed. Like Jim Gavin himself did.
I’m not sure what point there is in dragging things out to give Coach NANCY one more game on Sunday. Aberdeen are in good form and Celtic will probably lose anyway.
A that’s awful underwhelming. I think we all yearn for Martin O’ Neill until the end of the season as he sails into the sunset with a league title, Scottish Cup and a Europa League quarter-final appearance.
Brian Clough was at the helm at Leeds for 44 days, not 39. Jock Stein, 4 years later similarly had just 44 days at the helm at Leeds.
Celtic should have held onto Mon until the cup final and then moved on.
Mon had an easy job very similar to ole when he took over man united and then went on an incredible run.
The minute he got the job full time the team tanked and missed out on CL football.
A temporary manager is very awkward and timing is crucial but it’s wishful thinking mon is a long term solution.
Apologies to Brian Clough.
You might have been thinking of Pope John Paul 1. Think he only lasted around 39 days.
It’s wishful thinking that any manager is a short term or long term solution.
What Martin O’Neill has is authority and being able to point to what he has done in the game. He has the personality to manage a big club.
That is also called CREDIBILITY. That credibility has gone with him everywhere he has gone. Martin O’Neill didn’t pull up any trees in his first two years as Ireland manager, but he got a few key results which kept the thing ticking over nicely. Then bang, the thing hit the road for real.
1978 when John Paul I was the Pope was the last year Celtic lost four games in a row.
That’s a good omen for Wales winning the Grand Slam in 2025.
I’m not sure Mon has any authority.
New generation of footballers are completely different.
A lot of those know nothing about his time at Celtic.
Many of them probably don’t even know he was a player most likely.
Things were toxic with rodgers and there was always going to be a kick.
Seven wins out of eight games and humping Feyenoord in Rotterdam says otherwise.
If the squad is so shit, how did Celtic play the Dutch giants off their own pitch that evening?
Happens loads of times with a temporary manager after a toxic split with a previous manager.
Di matteo won a champions league and grant nearly won one at Chelsea.
Never ever underestimate the hatred players can have for a manager and the motivation it can give them when he’s gone.
I don’t charge for this advice to the board of Celtic Football Club. Suffice to say they should have taken it.
What Celtic should do is the following. Announce an extension to the interim O’Neill period that goes at least up to November 23rd.
Then they can decide another extension to the interim period to take in December 14th. Then you let inevitability take its course.
Football has an essential element of sentiment. If it doesn’t have that it has nothing.
What Martin O’Neill epitomises is the idea of the Super Dad, now Super Grandad persona. The type of manager who and GETS a club and comes in and immediately the supporters of that club are mentally lathered in a warm, soothing balm. The balm of “everything’s going to be fine”, because Super Dad/Super Grandad is minding us, and he knows.
As the song goes, we’ve got Jack to mind us and the fans behind us.
The mental image all Celtic supporters have of Martin O’Neill is of O’Neill intensely staring as Henrik Larsson applies the finishing touch to a ball that the Celtic Park crowd are literally sucking into the net on a BIG European night which is all of October 2001 and March 2003 and March 2004 against Juventus and Liverpool and Barcelona, and O’Neill doing a little run and then a jump into the air with his arms high into the air.
Celtic supporters want Martin O’Neill to remain as Celtic manager for the same reasons they want to attend Oasis concerts in 2025. They cannot forget how this person made them feel.
What Celtic supporters imagine is that Martin O’Neill is an all knowing, otherworldy force.
You have to allow this force proceed.
Martin O’Neill at Celtic is BIGNESS. If ever a club needed BIGNESS, it’s Celtic right now.
But at the same time, given Martin O’Neill’s age and the fact that he is not a tactics guy - he’s a “you go out and play for me and you will be guided by the force” guy, you have to create the impression that this return of the otherworldly force is non-permanent.
You have to create the impression that this force is ephemeral and under threat and is about to depart. That is what makes the force more potent.
Celtic need to proceed in short steps. This is not a time for “stability”. This is a time when you carefully channel the emotion in a particular way to make the emotion the most potent it can be.