Nintendo Wii

Anybody any thoughts/opinions on this? The controller looks cool - a cracking idea. Dying to see how it plays. Retailing at 280 is quite reasonable too imo. Think I’ll switch from my Sony affinity to Nintendo. They be true innovators.

I like the innovation and fair play to them for trying something different. At the end of the day it’s not for me. My games playing tends to be rugby, cricket and soccer games where realism is the order of the day. That’s not the market the Wii is after.

I presume as a person with Sony tendancies you’d rule out the 360 Clarkey Cat? I’d have no real preference for either company but bought the 360 the other week because I wanted to get a new console - very happy with it so far but need a new screeen to take proper advantage.

I’m a Sony fan alright but if the Playstation 3 is simply an updated PS2 which in turn was an updated PSOne then I think I’ll be boycotting. I see in Argos that the XBox (not the 360, the first XBox) is on sale for 75 with Halo 2, Fable, PGR2 and some other racing game. Was thinking about picking one up cos you’re practically making money. Coupled with my folks getting a new PC I think there are “modding” opportunities here but I would need a hand from yourself rock and/or other techy mates of mine. Good purchase or waste of money iyo? I’m also attracted to it because it’s a DVD player and because I can have one console in Galway and one in Dublin.

If you’re interested I can give you my old Xbox and Halo amd PGR2 and maybe another game or two for nothing. You’d just need to let me know and give me a week or so to get it back from my brother’s gaff who I lent it to (but who doesn’t need it anymore because he has a 360).

So I wouldn’t bother buying a new one. My other brother (piedpiper) has an old one too and I intend to get that off him soon and practise modding on that. Meant to do it ages ago but didn’t want to feck up my machine but now that the brothers Rock are all 360’d I have room to practise.

For the record I usually only play sport or driving games for some reason. The other day I downloaded the demo for Call of Duty on the 360 and it’s brilliant. I’m going to buy it now over the next couple of days. Massively impressed with how good shooting games like that are and they’re spectacular on “Live” of course.

I’d feel a bit weird taking your old Xbox off you. Not sure why. But thanks for the offer. I may change my mind but my initial reaction is just that it’d be weird.