A small price to pay to save mother earth. No money in it for Al Gore and the gang though.
Nope. Definitely the way forward but we will need to get funding or sell 50/60 year bonds at less than 1% to fund this. Getting the cheap capital to fund it will be an issue. EDF will run a tight budget ship if we give it to the French to build and operate
Worthy of the documentary tread
I was in a nuclear power plant once lads. The control room was pretty cool. Just saying.
Fusion will be a game changer. No one will ever have to work again. No change really for @Thomas_Brady
Was it Chernobyl around April 1986?
Hinkley blew through that 25bn and are closer to an EFC of 35bn sterling now, and the uk already had the resources and man power to build this type of super project. It could cost north of 100bn euro here, itās fairly unfeasible id say.
Healy Rae Plant Hire would throw one up no bother
It would look grand out at the end of the maharees
But can you really afford not to have any energy security. Especially relying on a treacherous and moany bunch of Frogs. The cunts would probably be on strike half the year
No, we are facing into a massive issue.
There will be blackouts this winter due to the plants (peat and coal/oil) coming offline and this will be a hot button issue by the time the next election rolls around. Nuclear is the only solution, the government have invested in a French plant I believe.
The next time any of ye have a sparks doing work at your house get them to install a changeover switch to accommodate a generator
We need more wind turbines in the countryside.
We can achieve up to 70% of our energy needs via wind with the right wind levels. Over 70% and the gris will be unable to cope with the fluctuations.
An alternative to dealing with the curtailment issues (thatās the technical term) is to store the wind energy in lakes and run through a turbine when wind is low.
The idea is to use offshore wind to power pumps to pump sea water into man made lakes. And the excess wind energy directly to the grid. Using gravity release the water back to the sea through turbines to produce energy.
This was seriously considered in irelamd before the 08 crash
Thatās the last thing we need. A fucking blight on the countryside and pure cod. If the Government spent half of the subsidies they are throwing around on reinsulating houses, upgrading heating systems etc instead of tilting at windmills weād get much more bang for our buck.
Nuclear is a realistic solution, but considering the objections that go in when someone tries to build a housing estate I can only imagine the planning process on it. Weād probably have cracked fusion by the time they laid a brick, 10bn later no doubt
We have already achieved 70% on certain days of the year.
Yeah we have but thatās the maximum the grid will allow. For arguement sake we should have more than 70% worth of wind but turbines are turned off as anything over 70% is too unstable. Not sure if there is a plan to increase this.
Because of this we need gas turbines ready to turn on and off to manage the fluctuations. Hence why the shannon LNG plant is vital. And who opposes the plans to build this? Yes the greens. The shannon LNG plant is vital to maintaining the grid that is mainly wind power.
Itās a shame tides donāt know exist otherwise we could and probably should make use of tidal energy.
Phew, i thought these might impact salubrious north county dublin