Nuke it up, the only option
Eh, 85% renewables yesterday bro
It was very windy. I’m not against the use of wind power at all (I’m against NIMBYism preventing us building more) but we need a stable source that can provide upto 30/40% of our energy needs for when the wind isn’t blowing. If I had my way I would build enough wind turbines to generate 110% of our capacity on the average wind capacity day, have nuclear to produce the shortfall when wind can’t meet the capacity.
So we can, for a majority of the time run on wind alone, sell the excess to Britain and Europe via the interconnecters. Meet our green targets, have energy security and profit. As I’ve said before gas is necessary for the use of wind at the moment but we also need to plan to remove that.
odd
calling for something that will never built when more wind farms (especially at sea) & interconnectors will solve the problem
Itll never be built in the reality. We can’t built a wind farm without NIMBYism. One can dream tho, or at least provide practical solutions for impractical people.
My esb/heating is costing almost €500 more than last year. Carbon tax on diesel is costing an extra €400. I’ve the walks pumped, triple glazed windows and Attic Insulation all put in over the last 5 years out of my pocket.
People are fucking broke and this is your solution? I’ll have a refuse fire in a barrel if ye cunts cine near me next election
so you are driving 100,000kms a year?
also, if you did all that, whoever did is a cowboy if you are paying an extra 500 a year in bills
Nuclear is the only way to go now.
80 Litres a week in diesel mate. Bills are €200 per 2 month higher than last year, finger in air with no heating for a few months.
Now where will this grant benefit me? It’s a pile of shite of an excuse. Up there with the other purposal of reducing the cost of passports for cost of living? €70 for a 10 year passport, €7 a year.
if you are paying extra money on diesel its nothing to do with Carbon Tax, i would like you to withdraw your opening remark
it will help people, pity you missed out
It’s the obvious solution but lads think we just need to build a few more windmills.
its an obvious solution for Ireland?
Fuel went up 10 cent on the litre the morning after the budget mate.
For everyone. How much of Ireland’s current power usage is fossil fuels and what’s the expected population growth in the coming decades?
15% yesterday
renewables & imported nuclear is the way to go for ireland
i have nothing against nuclear, just know it will never happen here
Have you a source for that? I’ve seen (2018 I think) 90% of Ireland’s total energy use is fossil fuels and electricity around 2/3. Agree nuclear can be imported.