Bump.
A good win for the Royalmen today…
Bump.
A good win for the Royalmen today…
I was at the game and was often thinking the same thing to myself. Sligo blew it.
I wasn’t worried at all about the margain at HT as anyone whose been to Pearse Stadium will tell you that when there’s such a fierce wind its just a case of damage limitation when your defending against it and nine or ten points isn’t near being unassailable lead, even in football, espicially with someone like Micheal Meehan to come in off the bench. The reason I thought Galway were fooked was their overall sloppiness,too much overplaying and poor passing and how easy Sligo were disposessing them. Their shooting in the 2nd half was shocking too, just looked generally shit to be honest.
Armstrong getting sent off didn’t help, he never deserved the first yellow though. Wasn’t much of a loss though as like the majority today he looked fairly clueless. When Meehan did come in he looked like a player returning from injury which I suppose is understandable enough, he’ll be primed for the replay. It was definitly a free at the end, O Hara is a dirty bollix, went straight for Meehans injured knee. Paraic Joyce was by far the best player on the pitch and I think he got 0-6. One of the All-time greats is PJ. Young Concannon took his goal really well and was one of our harder workers on the day. Galway did well to fight back like they did and get the draw considering they were down to 14 for most of the 2nd half and Sligo are a tidy outfit these days, so can take heart from that.
Replay next Saturday in Markevitch. Sligo blew it today and they know it. Galway are unlikely to play that poorly again. Its still all to play for.
Monaghan through to the Ulster final, beat Fermanaghan with a bit to spare
You might be right. Sligo looked good though. Had they faced the wind in the first half they’d have won the game.
Unlike a traditional Sligo-Galway match up, Sligo actually seem to believe they’re the better team.
'Hon Louth!
Eh Laois lost to Meath last weekend Dunph, it was Dublin who lost today. We waited too long in the long grass and it tripped us up, a lesson I’m sure we’ll learn from and discuss in the pubs of Laois this week.
Sligo might well be the better team, indeed their better than most teams in the country under Kevin Walsh. Hurricane Atlantic winds in Salthill or not, they were running rings around Galway in the first half.
They are still naive though. When Armstrong saw red today you could sense the Sligo lads thinking, ‘thats it, job done’. Schoolboy error.
They put the extra man in between their fullback and half back, while still utilizing Dirty O Hara in a sweeper role. Galway flourished in the more open space deeper in the field and created chance after chance, most of which they squandered but a goal was coming and Sligo brought it on themselves.
They had us by the nuts today but couldn’t squeeze hard enough.
Syl Doyle is a disgrace of a ref. Delighted for Louth here.
I may have spoken too soon, fucking hell Louth…
That free Meehan got at the end was fucking ridiculous. Massive cop out from the ref.
Definite foot trip by O’Hara in my opinion.
In association football perhaps. Not in gaelic football.
O Hara deliberately left his leg in to make contact with Meehans injured knee, dirty cunt. Stick to the college bar you.
O’Hara wouldn’t put himself in such personal risk
Its irrelevant, the chance Sligo missed about 10 mins to go was criminal, thats the one I’d be focusing on.
He cost Sligo the game today, should have been up the field creating instead of getting in the way down in defense.
A modest guy like Eamonn likes to steer clear of the spotlight
Unreal finishing from Meath today
Christ that was some ridiculous refereeing there in the Dublin Meath game, who was that clown?
Dublin were somewhat shafted by the ref today.
Superb finishing by Meath though. Has any team scored that many quality goals in a championship game recently?