What the fuck are you on about? As blatant a penalty as youâll see
Super score by Kerrigan. Kerry are all at sea. Making stupid mistakes.
Kerrigan has been immense in this second half. If Cork pull this around, this is a sign of a great team.
Would disagree, ball was travelling at pace and hit the ground just before he got the block in, he then cleared the ball with his feet, it wasnât a case that it was rolling into the net and he just pushed it away on the ground
What?
OâConnor should have taken the point there.
Runty it was my understanding that the penalty was given for the man for playing the ball off the ground, there was a hop in it and it was at pace at least that was my viewing of it but havenât seen a replay but would like to see it again
Thatâs the winner
Would have been a different story of cork had taken that point chance to level it instead of going for goal
My feeling was that he parried the initial shot, which was bouncing, but the ball was still going to squirm over the line until he reached back and touched it on the ground.
WTF? :lol:
Credit Coldrick on this one Bandage.
You are correct imo.
Great game of gaelic there. Kerry tied up as youâd expect given their output in the first half when they really should have been further in front but wise old heads kept them going at the end there in Marc Ă SĂ©, Aidan O Mahony and Eoin Brosnan (to think some people doubted the latter two earlier this year and there they were driving forward in that heat after over 70 mins of Championship football?).
And all without Cooper anywhere near his best. Credit Shields for the job done on him. Counihan will have questions to answer here though, his initial selection was poor. At least he realised his mistake and took Aidan Walsh off at half time (well I presume he did, I didnt see him there in the second half). Alan O Connor carried Corks midfield all day the poor fucker, he got no help whatsoever.
Kerry will be more than happy, and with Galvin and TomĂĄs O SĂ© to come back, allied to Cooper back on form, theyâll be happy with their current status. Maher and Sheehan grew immensely today and Enright showed very well also. BJ Keane was very poor when introduced but O Donoghue took his score well.
Cracking game all the same. More again later in the year please.
Very good game. Cork had them on the run in the second half and I thought they were going to go on and win it when they got back to 1-13/1-12 after 63 or 64 minutes. Miskella could have taken a point when he hit the post but Kerry responded well in the final exchanges in fairness and they worked the last two points with a good deal of skill and composure.
I wouldnât blame Miskella, OâConnor or OâNeill whoever made the initial run could easily have fisted it ove the bar for a straightforward score instead of shipping it out to Miskella whoi was at a far tighter angle
How did his second half work out?
Why was Kerrigan taken off? Sounded like himself and Alan OâConnor carried Cork in the second half.
Kerrigan cramped up just at the end of normal time. He had a very good second half and kicked three points from play and caused trouble with his direct running.
Ah thats fair enough. Was listening on the radio in the car for the second half and they never said why.
Today must be extra hard for Kev to stomach after his comments earlier in the year about Kerry and Eoin Brosnan.
And sorry if it seems like Iâm replying to myself on this thread but why have the GAA not changed things with regards to losing provincial finalists and their qualifier matches? Connacht and Ulster losing finalists only get 1 week or 6 days this year while Leinster gets 2 weeks and Munster get 3 weeks. Youâd imagine that the loser of Derry and Donegal will be easy pickings for whoever they draw and probably the same for Roscommon or Mayo. Sligo and Monaghan were completely deflated last year after their losses. Donât think any losing provincial finalist has won in the qualifiers with only a 6 or 7 day turnaround or something like that.
Could they not rejig the fixtures in some way? Iâm sure it has to be possible somehow.
Firstly no way was the correct injury time played, should have been another 3-4 minutes, but Kerry had probably done enough at this stage. Aidan Walsh got on the ball iâd say 8-10 times 2nd half, so you have no idea at all what you were talking about. He was brutal first half, but i donât think they should take YPOTY from him for it though, you tool.
Maher did 2 good things in the first half, and after that was destroyed. Its nonsense to say he grew, iâd be delighted if that was what Kerry people though, cos that might mean heâd stay there. Sheehan had a good first half though, and is a superior footballer, but having said that he tired badly and iâd worry for him in CP. Didnât think Brosnan did anything until the late point and Cork ran through his channel all 2nd half, and a few times in the first. Its grand to be running forward scoring a point when Cork had 13 men in the Kerry half with time up, but thats not his job.
Watch the game Mac, please see comment above. He wasnât all that. Having said that Paddy Kelly didnât have the influence youâd like, but that was down to Paddy Kelly more than anyone else.
Yesterday was hard to take because of the first half dire performance from Cork. Plenty of fair comment here generally though, especially Bandage.
At H-T youâd have to be somewhat worried it could be a big score, but at the same time you knew Cork would come back hard. After the game and having thought about it Cork are still in a decent position, actually better than Kerry really to be honest except for the worrying Ciaran Sheehan injury. Kerrys 1st half performance was good and clinical, but 1-4 of it came from very sloppy Cork play. Having said that Declan Oâ Sullivan, Donaghy, Darren Oâ Sullivan and Bryan Sheehan were superb. Oâ Mahoney had a good spell at this stage and Kerry were driving forward well, putting Cork under pressure and forcing some mistakes, although the vital mistakes were not really forced. And it was Paudi Kissane more than Walsh that was at fault, and Kerrigan gave away 7 balls in the first half alone, alot of it stupid long high ball. Kerry took their scores well but many of them came from the kicker and the passer under no pressure whatsoever. This wonât happen later on in the year.
Overall iâm disappointed obviously not having won down there again and there is no doubt its a dent in confidence and a little tap from the neighbours to say ye havenât beaten us yet. Having said that i think Cork will improve massively from it. They are not as fit or as conditioned as last year, yet had more in the tank than Kerry. The weird thing is, i think the roles are completely reversed now and Cork will look forward to CP more than Munster down South.
Few things from a Cork point of view;
Kissane should lose out to Oâ Sullivan.
Why was Jaime Sull taken off when he was far from the worst? Cotter played well though. Ray Carey has dropped off theplanet it seems.
Canty needs to move out, and really should only be coming on as a sub.
Cadogan makes the defensive line tick, superb when he came on. Give up the hurling Eoin, they are fucking useless. :lol:
Cork need to get the hunger and sharpness back. Giving big leads wonât do against Kerry who i think may be over blown by yesterday and still have massive issues, but give them easy ball and theyâll kill you, which they did, and fair play to them. We all know if you give them enough good ball you are goosed.
Ciaran Sheehans injury will have a big bearing on the year, hope heâs alright the poor fucker.
Kerry deserved their win, no doubt, took their scores excellently when the chances came.
On the ref. Not a bad ref, but he favoured Kerry many times yesterday. he was not the reason Kerry won, but felt he was too buddy buddy with them. Anyway how Oâ Leary didnât get a yellow for his 2 jumps at the start is madness. Also he stopped Cork taking quick frees but let Kerr gain 5-10 yards every time. Not major things, more annoying really. Also giving DOS a card with Gooch was just disgraceful, Gooch is some cunt.
I hate Gooch and Shefflin, and think they get away with murder, 2 moaning ginger cunts.
Interesting summer ahead now though. Great game overall, and iâm not saying this cos of where iâm from, but these 2 teams are streets ahead of the others.
Kerry wonât win the All-Ireland, today was the last sting of a dying wasp. Still think itâll come down to last yearâs last four. I could see Down or Kildare beat Kerry out the gate. Not Dublin because of the deep seated psycholgical grip they hold over us :unsure:
I was watching on a jumpy internet reception but I thought Cork poured through the centre of the Kerry defence at will in the second half. Dont think that late point from Brosnan proved anything, I thought Aidan oâMahony was poor in the second half too.
Cork made a poor team selection, Canty isnt a full back, I dont think he is a great man marker for a start - very conservative to counteract Donaghy like that - Cadogan will there later in the year, Miskella isnt the player he was and isnt a centre back either, Declan OâSullivan destroyed him when he was out there. Dont know why Noel OâLeary didnt mark him. Aidan Walsh was hopeless, it was Alan OâConnor and Paul Kerrigan who showed great leadership for Cork. When it came to the crunch they failed to beat Kerry though who were flagging including a diabolical subsitution (quirke for sheehan). A lot of Cork players seemed to go down with injuries at a critical time, which checked their momentum somewhat. Kerry won it fair enough, OâSe and Galvin out and Cooper will improve but seem to have zero on the bench, midfield did well for the first half but I wouldnt be sure of them. Bringing Donaghy out only brought Canty into the game when he followed him, was bizarre to start the second half with Donaghy at midfield considering the two lads had played well in the first half, OâSullivan seemed to spend a good spell of the second half at full forward too which was very strange considering how dominant he was in the first half further out the field.
dont know why OâSullivan wasnt brought on earlier in the Cork half back line, Murphy and Colm OâNeill surprisingly didnt see action either unless they are injured. Ive never been impressed by Fintan Gould at this level.
All the above will have to be qualified as Iâll wait for Fitzyâs DVD to give me a proper replay of the game. 800 word essay without bullet points will follow then