Official All Ireland Senior Football Championship 2011 Thread

I didn’t buy a programme so didn’t see the list for the bench.
I believe a member of the Cork management took a bad turn during the game, anybody know if there’s any updates on him? Looked serious, all the paramedics were frantic with the defibrillator. I was across in the terrace so didn’t really see what what was going on.

Only one change to personnel for Dublin for the game against Wexford, Fennell is in for Macauley in midfield and one positional change see Connolly return to full forward and that fool O’Gara is in the corner. What the fuck does the Dublin management see in the fool O’Gara? I think the midfield is not going to very mobile in this game with both Fennell and Bastick in there. Would have preferred to see Fennell and Cahill at least Cahill will give you some movement. Ger Brennan is still weak at centre back but I believe his days maybe numbered now that Cian O’Sullivan is back fully fit, I would expect to see him at some stage on sunday and hopefully its not running on with water bottles. So now we have 3 liabilities in the team to be sent off in Bastick, Brennan and O’Gara. If I was the Wexford manager I would be sending out my players to wind these 3 players up as they are likely to loose their cool and be sent off.

Anyway the full team is:

1. Stephen Cluxton
  2. Michael Fitzsimons
  3. Rory O’Carroll
  4. Paul Conlon
  5. James McCarthy
  6. Ger Brennan
  7. Kevin Nolan
  8. Denis Bastick
  9. Eamon Fennell
  10. Paul Flynn
  11. Alan Brogan
  12. Bryan Cullen (Captain)
  13. Eoghan O’Gara
  14. Diarmuid Connolly
  15. Bernard Brogan

Taz,
Do you go to Dublin training sessions? Maybe the management are picking players on how they perform in training? Just a thought…

Fenway, are you serious or are ya taking the piss? have you seen his performances for Dublin in the championship since he was got into the team? He might be great at shuttle runs or tearing around the pitch and 100 miles an hour or maybe he can bench press 300kgs but that doesn’t make the lad a good player, he cant solo, he cant pass, he cant shoot unless he closes his eyes and last week he proved he cant tackle and hasn’t the smarts either, then again the management have to take some responsibility for that as well.

Hes a rough diamond for sure, but if his presence creates opportunities for the Brogans and Connolly then he is well worth his place. We could certainly do with him down in Cork.

A footballer who cant kick or solo the ball? You’ve seen Aidan Walsh right?

Hoy fuck, you’re outdoing yourself with retarded posts this morning MBB.

Which ones farmer? From viewing of their last two games, O Gara cant solo. Walsh cant solo. O Gara cant kick. Walsh cant kick. I thought it was a pretty obvious comparison really :huh:

TASE generally knows the score with regard to this kind of thing.

As with the Kildare game, I think Dublin could have picked a stronger side. But there’s no guarantee they’ll line out with those fifteen on Sunday in any case. I fear Brogan x2 and Connolly and I reckon O’Gara, while undoubtedly limited, has proven himself to be a useful foil to the other attackers on occasion. Not sure if you could rely on him against Cork or Kerry in the latter championship stages though it could conceivably click for him & them on Sunday - 2008 is still in the back of my mind.

I don’t think the selected midfield is particularly strong and we’ve been good in that sector this season. There was a bit of discussion about their half back line last week too and I agreed with Sid in that I believe more attacking half backs, like Cahill for example, would be better suited against Wexford and force the likes of Brosnan to go backwards more often. The Dani Alves effect, if you will. Still, I think James McCarthy will improve from the Kildare game. He was good in the league games I saw and the young Glaswegian was perhaps affected by the Scotland/Ireland tug of war and media hooplah. I don’t know if Kevin Nolan is any good and was surprised to see him get the nod to mark the Queen in Croke Park back in May.

So I think there’s areas where Wexford can have some success so it’s all to play for.

He wouldn’t get on the Cork squad, what the fuck are you on about.

Thats your opinion. We have no focal point in our attack, hence we are slow and ponderous when the likes of O’Connor and Goulding look prefer quicker ball. Contrast with Kerry who have Donaghy and the speed with which they move the ball into their forwards.

Dont see the fascination with Aidan Walsh at all. I agree with fenwaypark, cork badly need a focal point at times in the full forward line to compliment Goulding and O’Connor. Too many running with the ball eg kerrigan, kelly and O’neill but it did work last year so im sure Counihan will continue with that policy

Surely to fuck Fenwaypark you are not saying that O’Gara is like Donaghy and is the focal point of the Dublin attack? Is there something wrong with me that I cant see what is so good about O’Gara?

O’Gara is like fucking marmite you either hate him or you love him.

The change one game makes, christ what an over-reaction. Even if the above was true - and its not, Patrick Kelly is the focal point to our attack - O’Gara wouldn’t help in the slightest in getting faster ball inside, the fucker would just get in the way of Goulding and O’Connor. We are beyond throwing some tall fucker in full-forward as a target man, we did that shite long enough with Cussen. We have had enough of tall fuckers with limited football over the years. O’Gara isn’t as good as any as our starting forwards, nor is he as good as the lads on the bench nor is he as good as the likes of Og Hodnett, O’Driscoll etc. Our problem the last day was overwhelmingly the performance of our half back line and ponderous play in the middle of the pitch, not our forwards. If we get the right balance at the back we’ll be in line to win another AI.

Donaghy is vastly superior to O’Gara, its not even comparable.

Turenne, O’Gara is not even in the same universe as Donaghy. I was only reponding to Fenway who seems to think O’Gara is a good focal point for an attack like Donaghy is for Kerry. :frowning:

I was backing you up Taz. :wink:

O’Gara will only get in the way of Connolly who should be the focal point of Dublin’s attack. In fact if you’re going to play him at all play him at midfield. At least he’s athletic and can field a ball. He’d probably be sent off after ten minutes mind.