Official All Ireland Senior Football Championship 2011 Thread

I wouldnā€™t be surprised if Waterford beat us. As regards neutral venues I would say Portlaoise is probably the most likely.
I hope itā€™s not Croke Park anyways.

Was it Monaghan he made his debut against in 2006? Donā€™t think he ever played Full Back before he played there for Wexford which makes it all the more remarkable.

Hopefully we can defeat Limerick and that would raise the possibility of a pretty novel quarter final match up. I have no idea when we last played Kerry, Mayo or Donegal in the championship. We went out to Roscommon very depressingly after a replay in 2009 and Derry beat us in a qualifier in Parnell Park in 2006 (I think) - fucking poisonous atmosphere on the terrace that night, the Derry support were even rougher than Westmeathā€™s. :blink:

Dermot Earley was raving on about him on Newstalk. Said that he wasnā€™t surprised that Bernard Brogan was being held as Molloy was a great player, and that he had played against him himself before.

The Derry game was 2004 or 2005. Paddy Bradley made a show of Phillip Wallace. Fermanagh knocked us out in 2006 after that Biffo fell under Matties boot.

When Wexford played Kildare at the start of the 2009 championship, Molloy was picked to man mark John Doyle and Iā€™m fairly sure he kept him scoreless from play. Think that was his first ever game in the full back line for club or county - or so I was told anyway.

Ah yes. It must have been 2004 then - it was the year Forde kicked all the scores (well, even more so than usual). We went out to Monaghan in Clones in 2005 - that was a very grim day and signalled the end of Pat Roeā€™s reign. We never got over losing the semi-final to Dublin that year after being 4 points up on them early in the second half. Hopefully we donā€™t have a similar hangover this year though I did notice Jason Ryan sprinting around the pitch at the end yesterday from player to player and dragging them up off the ground. :lol:

I also thought Joe McQuillan refereed the game very well yesterday too.

No he played wing back vs Meath and came on there as well in the Leinster semi vs Offaly.

[quote=ā€œBandage, post: 580391ā€]I did notice Jason Ryan sprinting around the pitch at the end yesterday from player to player and dragging them up off the ground. :lol:
He deserved danger money for having to tolerate the whinging Masterson did after the match. I trust he will be roundly desatroyed the next time the panel meet up for his pathetic carryon.

did Masterson refuse to have a pint with ya or what?

You went back to 2009 :lol: Look at how consistent I am in fairness to me. Not one to jump on a bandwagon of taking the piss out of the big bitch, thats for sure. Iā€™m even happier that he cried like a bitch yesterday.

Never met him in my life thankfully. No crying in sport FFS. Man up.

Confirmed about Eoin Bradley, and worse than first thought. Heā€™s sheared every ligament in his left knee on top of the cartilage. Thats a horrible injury, truly fucking horrific.

[quote=ā€œmyboyblue, post: 580395ā€]
You went back to 2009 :lol: Look at how consistent I am in fairness to me. Not one to jump on a bandwagon of taking the piss out of the big bitch, thats for sure. Iā€™m even happier that he cried like a bitch yesterday.

Never met him in my life thankfully. No crying in sport FFS. Man up.

Confirmed about Eoin Bradley, and worse than first thought. Heā€™s sheared every ligament in his left knee on top of the cartilage. Thats a horrible injury, truly fucking horrific.
shocking

Glad to see yours and Jason Ryans campaign to stop this evil blight on our game bore fruit Bandage.

Good work clappy clappy hands

Colin Lynch did something very similar when Clare were beaten by Cork in 2005, told whoever was lying on the ground to get the fuck up, no matter how shit it feels never let the opposition see it

I watched the game last night, most of what I think has been said here already. Wexford played to a plan, ponderous in the first half, saving themselves and trying to retain possession, but some of the hand passing in around the mid field and HF line was terrible and gave too much away. When Banville came on in the second it was clearly a trigger to step up the pace, we should have done this earlier. The forwards were great and Molloy did a super job on B Brogan. Ben Brosnan had a brilliant game I thought. Bandage, he was right to go for the goal when he soloed through in the second half. Really we probably should have won this game, as Dublin were terrible.

Iā€™d have serious concerns about Gilroyā€™s judgement. Playing two players to clearly canā€™t play the game of gaelic football (Oā€™Gara and Fennell) and the dubious Bastick would have to raise alarm bells. Especially when you have lads like Mcmenamen on the bench, a forward much like Joe McNally. Taking B Brogan off was probably some tough love to him and a pointer to the rest, but he got fuck all quality ball into him, the one decent ball that came to him in the second half, he turned and pointed. I didnā€™t really see the point in taking him off. Spillane was banging on about thereā€™s no i in team and he was being selfish. Heā€™s a fucking forward for christs sake, heā€™s meant to be shooting at every opportunity and Iā€™d rather give him a half chance than some mong like Oā€™Gara. (speaking of half chances, two of Lyngā€™s pointā€™s were pure, utter class).

On the basis of this performance, Dublin are in trouble. Theyā€™d be blown away by Kerry, Cork (if they woke up to themselves), Down or a few others (I think Kildare are very overrated).

Masterson needs to cop himself on, the OG happened, get over it, otherwise he was very good.

Wexford without Matty was meant to be the end. Its not, weā€™re still there.

What did Tony Davis say about Wexford on the Sunday Game?

I was near the dubs bench and when Connolly was taken off, he glared at Girloy and said some words, couldnt catch it all, but ā€˜fucking load of bullshitā€™ was certainly part of it. he pushed off a co board man too who was going over to put an arm around him or chat to him. With Quinn being brough on and taken off again, the continuing enigma of Eoin O Gara, its hard to see Dublin doing much more. It was probably the best thing for them the way the game went, they played shite, and know their limitations more so now. They can improve on them, and sort out the problems, but its always been their problem to get the head right.

I wouldnā€™t blame Connolly for being pissed off with the management, he is being fucked around just to accommodate that useless piece of shit Oā€™Gara. It was clear the instructions given to Oā€™Gara on sunday were to in the full forward and donā€™t tackle and to compensate for this Connolly was told to run all over place which at one point in the first seen him spending more time in the half backs than in the forwards. By right Connolly should be given the job up front with Brogan, Connolly can score and I think if he is shown the sort of faith that the management show in Oā€™Gara, he would be now be considered a very dangerous forward for us. I think Gilroy is destroying the confidence of the whole team with his faith in Oā€™Gara.

I was sickened yesterday when flicking through the metro (its a free newspaper in dublin, for those of you who dont get the to the big smoke too often) and there was a big smiling Oā€™Gara holding the cup and the only reason why he was taken off was because he hurt his wrist and not because he was shite.

I hope Cahill and McCauley start at midfield the next day because if they donā€™t we are fucked.

Oā€™Gara is indeed muck. The only time Iā€™ve ever seen him do well was in the drawn game with us last year when he came off the bench.

He won a load of ball and fed Keaney and Brogan. However this does seem like a complete flash in the pan. I was worried about the damage Connolly could do before Sunday and was well pleased to see him operating so far from the goal. he reminds me of Shane Roche a lot, could do a pile of damage one day and then not be seen for the next three.

Agreed on Cahill, he gives them far more energy in midfield and a better link between the backs and forwards . Fennell is brutal at this.

Dublin have been rocked by an injury to star forward Eoghan Oā€™Gara that sees him miss the quarter final. It turns out that Oā€™Gara fractured his wrist on Sunday. I dont know how we are going to cope without him?

Oā€™Gara out of Quarter Final.

Dublin fans react to the news:

http://www.inpho.ie/cache/inpho/81/48/0b/5512bd999ea6870415aaf5be76/INPHO_00020519.jpg