Official Leeds united 08/09 thread

that time of the season again and we started with a competent 2-1 away win at scunthorpe…good result…beckford scoring again…delighted we managed to hold onto him as he is a class act…i reckon that we will win the division with a bit to spare this year…showumni got the other goal, can’t say i ever heard of him…

Away to chester tonight in the league cup and then at home to oldham saturday…2 handy wins i would say…

Fromj sky sports.com

Leeds United started their push for promotion by coming from behind to win 2-1 at Scunthorpe United.

Gary McAllister’s side are favourites to take a place in the Championship at the end of the season and claimed the points at Glanford Park courtesy of Jermaine Beckford’s 80th minute winner.

There was an end-to-end feel to the opening stages of the League One contest and Scunthorpe had a goal disallowed on 28 minutes after Izzy Iriekpen had headed home Grant McCann’s free-kick.

The visitors responded with debutant Enoch Showunmi grazing the post before the striker claimed Josh Lillis had dropped the ball over his own line after the Iron keeper had fumbled Robert Snodgrass’ shot.

Scunthorpe grabbed the first goal of the campaign on 57 minutes when new signing Gary Hooper escaped from Rui Marques’ attentions and fired past Casper Angerkren.

But Leeds were level just four minutes later when Showunmi rose to meet fellow debutant Snodgrass’ free-kick to head beyond Lillis.

Chances arrived at both ends before Leeds struck decisively 10 minutes from time when Beckford converted the rebound after David Prutton’s shot had come back off the crossbar.

Yeah delighted “we” managed to hold onto Beckford. He was one of the best strikers in the division last year but seemed to go off the boil towards the end. Maybe ran out of steam due to the early season heroics. Also happy they held onto Marques as he was the best player they had in early season last year but again went out of it towards the end.

News on tonights game (is it on the telly Puke??):

McAllister unlikely to tinker team

Leeds manager Gary McAllister is expected to make few changes for his side’s Carling Cup clash at Chester on Tuesday evening.

McAllister, who has no new injury or suspension worries, will resist the temptation to shake things up and try out new formations against lowly first-round opponents.

Four new signings made impressive debuts in Saturday’s win at Scunthorpe - Robert Snodgrass, Andy Robinson and Enoch Showunmi started and Luciano Becchio stepped off the bench.

Paul Telfer, who signed for Leeds on a non-contract basis last week, could play some part after being an unused substitute, while Bradley Johnson, Fabian Delph and Ben Parker will be hoping to feature in the squad.

Leeds will be without midfielder Neil Kilkenny, who is in Beijing with Australia’s Olympic squad.

Full squad for this season:

Casper Ankergren 1
Luciano Becchio 10
Jermaine Beckford 9
Sebastien Carole 35
Fabian Delph 15
Jonathan Douglas 4
Jonny Howson 14
Andy Hughes 22
Paul Huntington 3
Bradley Johnson 16
Neil Kilkenny 8
David Lucas 12
Rui Marques 5
Alan Martin 25
Lubomir Michalik 6
Ben Parker 19
David Prutton 7
Frazer Richardson 2
Andy Robinson 18
Alan Sheehan 11
Enoch Showunmi 21
Robert Snodgrass 23
Peter Sweeney 24
Paul Telfer 26
Ian Westlake 37

Showunmi played for Bristol City last year then went on loan to Sheffield Wednesday for half a season. Signed in the summer on a free cos of Maccas ambition apparently! Looks like a big fucker

http://images.teamtalk.com/08/04/330/EnochShowunmi_774461.jpg

Well Pukester - 5-2 win tonight with the aforementioned Beckford scoring a hat-trick. Am not arsed about any of the cups this season as they usually get in the way of the league but tis nice to have wins like this all the same.

Highlights now being shown on ITV of the game tonight

Holy jesus, as bad as league 1 football is, whatever division Chester are in must be awful. 4-1 after half an hour. Leeds also have a fella on the left wing who makes Andy Reid look like Kate Moss. Beckfords third was a peach though and any world class striker would be proud of it.

Any of you Scottish football fans know anything about this snodgrass fella? Signed from Livingston during the summer. Seems to be left footed playing on the right wing in a Nakamura type role.

Worthy mention to Chester to have conceded 11 goals in 2 matches this season. 6 against Dagenham at the weekend before tonight. Paul Butler playing central defence for Chester which explains it really. Richie Partridge on the right wing. John Champion covers himself in glory by saying that Partridges claim to fame is that he is Michael Owens brother in law! Never mind that he was in the same Liverpool youth team as Carragher and Gerard and played in the Premiership for Coventry.

didn’t see any of the match tuesday night but seems like a good win…fair play to beckford with the first half hat-trick…i would say confidence will be high and hopefully we will give oldham a right pasting saturday…

A bit of quality from jermaine…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w4wAEGXGgqU

best striker outside of the premiership playing in the british isles at the moment.

was thinking the same myself…scores all types of goals from 25/30 yard crackers to 4 yard poacher goals…would rate him very highly…definately think he would score goals at the likes of a sunderland, wigan, everton or one of the better scottish teams like hearts celtic or rangers…

Easily. It wouldnt surprise me to see him leave before the end of the season if it looks like Leeds wont be promoted. Another year in League 1 will be no use to him. Surprised the likes of Hull, Stoke, Wigan or Celtic didnt come in for him this summer.

i reckon we will be there abouts come the end of the season…its all about momentum and as good a start as last year then will walk the division…think the squad looks strong for league 1 and i reckon we will see jermaine bagging the goals in the championship for leeds next season…howson in the centre of midfield seems to have a bit about him as well…

Disappointing 2-0 home defeat to oldham yesterday…maybe its the kick up the arse we need to push on and win the league…

on a side note…woke up this morning and put on goals on sunday when my eyes filled up with delight to see one of my boyhood heroes of mine on it…the leeds united and ireland legend gary kelly…what a guy…and dispite what others have said about him on the stupid commentry thread he is aquitting himself well…

i see we have got a couple of tough draws in the cup:

we got bradford at home in the johnstone paint trophy while we have crystal palace at home in the second round of the carling cup…

[quote=“The Puke”]i see we have got a couple of tough draws in the cup:

we got bradford at home in the johnstone paint trophy while we have crystal palace at home in the second round of the carling cup…[/quote]

Any dates for those Puke? Bradford should be a walk in the park. Although I wouldnt care less about the cups - only a distraction from the league.

i don’t presume the carling cup will be on around the time of the first round of the uefa cup/champions league…bradford will be a local derby so take nothing for granted…just ask rangers they would have a better team than their glasgow rivals but when it comes to the derby quality and form go out the window…

Can I just post on here that its a shame Leeds are all the way down in League 1. I hope you get through to the Carling Cup third round and draw Man United.

i hope we dont…would rather ye in the fa cup shan…it will only be your youth team in the carling cup…

I dont mind either way. If United get all their players fit I would say a very strong team would face Leeds. It was a shame when you lost that playoff final to Watford.