Official TFK GAA Coaches Corner

U12 is Go Games no?

No competitive action until u13 is the rule in Limerick at least and I assumed that was nationwide

It is. But if we go even then that goes to 14. That seems a little too late imo.

I’m pretty sure it was that way before it went odd. I’d be 95% sure U12s will stay as Go Games.

Not in cork

There is also regular tournaments run off over a day or weekend that are competitive i.e. round robin working up to semi finals and final

Really.

I assumed that was a national directive and I thought the GAA restated it a couple of years ago.

I’m reading the GoGames site now and they’ve definitely watered it down.

U12 age grade is organised on a league and blitz basis. No knockout rounds are permitted as part of the U12 league programme. In U12 County ran leagues, counties are permitted to host concluding finals days. Where trophy presentations are permitted, there must be no scores published, just win or loss.

This contradicts what they were saying 3 years ago

GAA to clamp down on competitiveness for players under 12 years of age – The Irish News GAA to clamp down on competitiveness for players under 12 years of age – The Irish News

So far in both codes we have played a round robin competition that has acted as a grading league for the next competition…i.e. all the top teams go into a comp together, 2nd place teams etc etc…goes to another round robin format now but we have had neutral refs assigned etc and had to put in team sheets

Woolie Parkinson coaching the Portlaoise under 9s
Great to see ex-county players giving a bit back - granted none of the young lads probably have a clue who he is

An upturn is smelled in Portlaoise and everyone is clambering aboard the bandwagon.

I’m sure Woolie won’t be long telling them.

I presume his young lad knows.

Anyone ?

He probably calls him dad though.

I don’t get why ye won’t just kick the ball.

I’d say he’d do his nut if he came across a lad like himself.

@TreatyStones are you agreeable to extending this thread out to coaching other sports or do you insist on GAA only?

It depends what we’re talking about here?
Association Football?

I’ve association football in mind alright.

FFS sake

Any suggestions for short sharp 10 or 15 min conditioning block to do with group of 16 to 18 year olds. Running and body weight exercises

Have been splitting them into 3s and varying distance runs for one whole the other 2 do planks/ push ups/Burpees waiting to be tagged out…vary distance of runs

Need to mix it up though