Official UFC Thread dammit there's two threads

Found it…

David Kaplan gets drunk and claims that he cannot be knocked out. He asks Tom Lawlor to to hit him. Lawlor at first declines to do so. At Kaplan’s insistence, Lawlor punches Kaplan in the jaw and Kaplan falls to the floor unconscious. Kaplan claims he was not knocked out.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nTj9SyPM0UY

Well Cluaindiuic you were spot on, GSP won easily. He did a Brock Lesnar on BJ, took him down and beat 7 shades of shite outa him. After all the shit BJ talked about GSP being a quitter he might have the cop to keep his big mouth shut anymore before his fights.

Overall it was a shite UFC to watch, Karo Parisyan and DH Kim absoloutely stunk the joint out of it with their fight. They basically hugged against the cage for all of round3, and how Karo got the decision is beyond me. I had it a draw but it was impossible to score it was so bad in fairness.
I was delighted Machida won and with a KO too, I’d be a massive fan of his and he gets a lot of stick from the crowd because of his elusive style. I hope he gets the next title shot.

Thiago Alves gets the next shot at GSP and he’s a beast too, should be a great fight and hopefully a bit closer than tonights one.
Was anyone elses Setanta a bit fooked up as in the sound was slightly out of sync with the pictures for the last hour and a half? This happens regularly on my Setanta and annoys the shit out of me.

Just after spotting I got my Fight Of The Night bet up yet again. It’s not really worth a fook this time though as they gave out two Fights Of The Night so the bookies will look at it as a dead heat and I’ll only get half my stake at 3/1 instead of the full amount, bolox to that.

Yeah I saw that they gave it as a co-FOTN. Touch of gay off that. Tough break.

balloobasluvsbeer, any thoughts on tonight.

I know very little about any fighter to be honest.
Seems like a quite a poor card.

Nice one Koscheck, that’s my accumalator ruined.

Nice KO though. Though it was a tad controversial at first but when Koscheck sees the replay he’ll know the ref had no choice.

[quote=“cluaindiuic”]Nice one Koscheck, that’s my accumalator ruined.

Nice KO though. Though it was a tad controversial at first but when Koscheck sees the replay he’ll know the ref had no choice.[/quote]

Just after watching it now, wouldn’t look at any sites/Setanta News etc until I saw it as I didn’t want to know results.
I couldn’t believe Koscheck got KOd(and he was despite the protests). I had Dan Hardy/Markham backed to be FOTN and Dos Santos to be KO of the night so no joy for me either. Dos Santos got a TKO allright but there was so many TKOs/KOs I knew I was fooked.
I wasn’t really impressed with the card at all and only enjoyed the Kelly/Mandaloniz fight to be honest. Demian Maeia is leathal on the ground, hope he has a chin though if he faces Anderson or he’ll be picked off before it hits the ground.
For the first time in a long time I enjoyed the Boxing that was on Setanta early Sunday morning way more than this event. I love Boxing too but generally prefer the UFC cards but not this one I’m afraid.

Well Cluaindiuic whats your bets for this weekends UFC?
Here are my probable losers
I’m sticking a tenner on Gray Maynard/Jim Miller to be Fight Of The Night at 4/1.
I’m also doing a massive 5euro on Brandon Vera to win KO of the night at 9/1 and another 5euro accum on Jim Miller win, Matt Brown win and Shane Carwin win.
Keeping my stakes small this time as I don’t particularly fancy anyone on the card to go heavy on. I only picked the three lads in the accumm as I thought the odds represented value on them in what I’d consider all to be 50/50 matchups. Jardine is a big price too, if he avoids a Rampage bomb I could see him sneaking out a kick and run decision. Not going near him though as I reckon he’ll eventually get caught with a hook to the jaw and be KO’d.

Carwin has a ridiculous record of KOs. So him for KO of the night seems like a decent bet at 7/1. He comes across as a bit of a Lesnar clone.
Heavy hands with a wrestling background.
None of his fights have gone longer than 2.11 of the first round. And that was his first ever fight.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shane_Carwin

Gonzaga is a big step up for him but if he wins he could win quick.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8j4N-vncLbA&feature=related

I don’t see Jardine beating Jackson.

Outside of that Hamill, Vera and Grove.
Maybe Grove for Submission of the Night.

I’ll take the Main Event as FOTN.

Balls, looking like my treble is fooked already, unless my man pulls a KO out of his ass in the last round.

Matt Brown looked amazing tonight, that was one of the worst refereeing incidents I have ever seen. How that fight wasn’t stopped the first time Drago went down is beyond me.

Another KO theres a ridiculous amount of them tonight

An incredible main event fight there for a change. I will never question Jardines chin again, he is one seriously tough guy. An incredible show of disrespect to Rampage by Rashad there in the end.
I know Jardine is his team mate and emotions were high but it wasn’t nice to watch. Rampage did well to keep his cool, fair play to him.

Drago cost me about €250

Had you the main event as FOTN?

Yah, just €10 on it. Better than nothing.

My picks for tonight.

Silva - obviously. A Leites win would probably be the biggest UFC shock of all time.

Shogun - I think people have figured Liddell out, he wants to stand and hit the overhand right. If you stand and never give him that shot you can wait for your chance like Evans and Rampage. I’d love if he proved me wrong but Shogun is good value at 6/4.

Cheick Kongo - He is on the brink of breaking into title contention. I think if he wins this one he’ll either get a shot right away or he’ll get the winner of Couture Nogueria. Hardonk’s not bad but I think Kongo is making progress with the Bisping posse.

The other two LHW fights are tough to pick. It’s hard to know how good the two WEC guys are. I’m gonna go split them.

I’m gonna go with Luiz Cane over Cantwell because Cane’s record is semi-impressive. Wins over Sokoudjou and Lambert. Only loss is a DQ.

I’m gonna take Stann over Soszynski. My feeling is that Stann has more experience and is at a higher level to Soszynski who was mediocre on TUF.

I’m gonna have a punt on 2 on the undercard too.

I liked what I saw of Eliot Marshall in TUF. I think he could take Magalhes and is value as the underdog.

I also like Jason McDonald over Nate Quarry. He is a level above Quarry and I think he should be a stronger favourite.

An accumalator involving those 7 is about 50-1.

No FOTN odds on PaddyPower. Lame. Sort it out lads.

[quote=“cluaindiuic”]My picks for tonight.

Silva - obviously. A Leites win would probably be the biggest UFC shock of all time.

Shogun - I think people have figured Liddell out, he wants to stand and hit the overhand right. If you stand and never give him that shot you can wait for your chance like Evans and Rampage. I’d love if he proved me wrong but Shogun is good value at 6/4.

Cheick Kongo - He is on the brink of breaking into title contention. I think if he wins this one he’ll either get a shot right away or he’ll get the winner of Couture Nogueria. Hardonk’s not bad but I think Kongo is making progress with the Bisping posse.

The other two LHW fights are tough to pick. It’s hard to know how good the two WEC guys are. I’m gonna go split them.

I’m gonna go with Luiz Cane over Cantwell because Cane’s record is semi-impressive. Wins over Sokoudjou and Lambert. Only loss is a DQ.

I’m gonna take Stann over Soszynski. My feeling is that Stann has more experience and is at a higher level to Soszynski who was mediocre on TUF.

I’m gonna have a punt on 2 on the undercard too.

I liked what I saw of Eliot Marshall in TUF. I think he could take Magalhes and is value as the underdog.

I also like Jason McDonald over Nate Quarry. He is a level above Quarry and I think he should be a stronger favourite.

An accumalator involving those 7 is about 50-1.

No FOTN odds on PaddyPower. Lame. Sort it out lads.[/quote]

5/7 right.
Not so bad.
Nate Quarry and Soszynski ruined me.

The main event was a disaster. Loads of booing along with boring chants. I don’t think it was Anderson Silvas fault. It was clear from the early part of Round 2 that Leites was miles out of his depth. How one of the judges gave him two rounds I’ll never know. He may have won the first but that was down to a tentative start from Silva.

The third round was a joke. Leites, knowing that he had no hope of taking Silva down and winning the fight that way, started to fight in the most ridiculously negative fashion. Silva was picking him apart and when Silva came in to finish him with some big shots he immediately dived onto his back. He should have been docked points for this cowardly shit.

Silva was clearly frustrated and began hitting these horrible front leg kick jabs.

This is the problem with UFC sometimes. If you have a matchup where 2 lads want to go at it then great. It’ll probably be an excellent fight or a quick and spectacular fight.
Silva is a counter fighter. They both started off tentatively and then Leites began exploiting the fact that Silva didn’t want to attack Leites with Leites on his back. Which after the third or fourth time was clearly a cowards way out from Leites. Any time Silva would come in to trade, Leites would adopt this sissy tactic.

So Liddell is finished. Which, at 39, is probably a good idea.
He has lost 4 of his last 5. 3 of those he was KTFO.
Shogun, Rampage and Rashad all did him with essentially one big shot.

Kongo looked pretty impressive and deserves a shot.

None of the other 4 LHW guys from the other two main card fights looked like they were stars in the making. Cane probably has the best shot but the WEC guys didn’t look up to much.

I gave Leites rounds 1 and 2 as well, grant it there wasn’t much action in round1 but in what little there was it was Leites doing. He won round2 with the takedowns. The Canadian crowd were extremely ignorrant I thought in booing Anderson. What could he do when all Leites wanted to do was lie on his back and avoid damage.

I thought Steve Cantwell put up a great fight to Luiz Cane and is clearly well worth his spot in the UFC. How two of those judges did not give him round2 is beyond me. He was well beaten but you could see his potential and also the fact he is only young(22 I think) helps his case.
Brian Stann the other WEC light heavy looked shit though I agree.

I said it on here months ago that Chuck should retire(and he is my fav UFC fighter ever). Chuck has lost his speed and unfortunetly his punch resistance has faded greatly. He will never beat a top 10 light heavy again and I don’t want to see him fighting cans either. Retire Chuck, you are a legend in the sport and owe it nothing. We don’t need another Ken Shamrock scenario on our hands who has completely destroyed his reputation as an MMA pioneer by continually fighting cans and getting KO’d practically every fight.

I watched the last Strikeforce event Nick Diaz v Frank Shamrock. It was excellent, you should download it especially to see the Scott Smith fight. It was mad, that’s all I’ll say incase you do watch it.

Well Cluaindiuic whats your picks for next weekend.

24 May 00:00 Barry, Patrick 4/11 21/10 Hague, Tim
24 May 00:00 Bradley, Kyle 11/4 1/4 Nover, Phillipe
24 May 00:00 Wolff, Brandon 7/2 2/11 Yoshida, Yoshiyuki
24 May 00:00 Mcfedries, Drew 5/4 8/13 Irvin, James
24 May 02:00 Edgar, Frankie 2/1 4/11 Sherk, Sean
24 May 02:00 Serra, Matt 15/8 2/5 Hughes, Matt
24 May 02:00 Machida, Lyoto 1/2 6/4 Evans, Rashad

I think Serra is way overpriced myself, I think he can beat Hughes if he avoids the takedowns. I had Serra backed at 5/2 the first time he ko’d GSP so I guess I tend to never write him off against anyone.
I might do a 40 or 50 euro double on him with Sean Sherk.

I think Machida will beat Evans and hold the title for a long long time.
Evans has continually proved me wrong though so for that reason alone I’ll put Sherk in my double instead of Machida.