One guy I will bet on from that list is Pat Barry.
He destroyed Dan Evensen with leg kicks at UFC 92.
You could see Evensen’s knee buckle from one of them.
Those leg kicks are sickening. I’ve only seen him once and I’m already a big fan.
I can’t make up my mind about Machida. Like you said Evans keeps stepping his game up when he needs to. I think that the value bet is with Evans. I imagine if Machida does win it it could be a snorefest decision. I think if it ends early it will be Evans ending it, with his fists.
Matt Hughes and Serra feels like a toss of a coin. To see Hughes as such a heavy favourite seems silly.
They both haven’t fought much in the last few years.
They are both getting on in years.
They have both lost to GSP lately.
They both have recovered from serious enough injuries in the last couple of years.
The value bet again is with Serra.
That one last fight stuff that Hughes is talking about can get in your head.
Dunno what site those odds are from but Xavier Foupa-Pokam is fighting Mcfedries. Who the fuck knows who’ll win that.
Sherk should have too much for Edgar.
Bradley seems to be out of his depth in UFC. Coming up against a TUF finalist will not be pleasant.
Barry looked amazing allright, but he is a tiny heavyweight and the guy he’s fighting is supposed to be much bigger. Also Barry is excellent on his feet no doubt but not too sure if he has a ground game. I won’t be putting any money near him until I see that aspect of him and how he copes.
That was Boyles I stuck up, I knew Irvin was injured allright but didn’t know who the replacement was.
Fair play to you if you can get 5results up in a bet, there are always upsets I find, so I generally try to just get a decent price double or a Fight Of The Night bet up.
I was decent enough at winning on the UFC for a while but the last year or so I’m gone to fook.
I got the ufc game. Only played exhibition mode but seemed a bit easy. Lesnar has ridiculous strength. I played as lesnar, shogun and gsp. I was only taken to a second round once. Every other time I won mainly with strikes.I dismantled Sylvia with lesnar in 29 seconds
Yeah, I played it a bit more today. The head kicks thing seems to be a bit of a bug. I’ve only managed 3 submissions. 2 armbars and a kimura.
Very hard to pull off.
Just back from the boozer, sampled 8pints of that pear cider craic tonight, have to say lovely stuff, nearly too easy to drink.
Anyway my losers are 30 dbl sherk and Serra, 10 on Pat Barry to win KO of the night at 9s and 10 on Sherk/Edgar to be fight of the night at 11/2.
Don’t have Setanta anymore so I’ll just have to download it tomorrow, best of luck to you all gentlemen.
Fight Of The Night
Matt Hughes Vs. Matt Serra @ 4/1
KO Of The Night
Pat Barry @ 9/1
8-man over the top rope battle accumalator [20]
Yoshida Yoshiyuki @ 1/5
Phillipe Nover @ 1/4
Pat Barry @ 1/4
Dan Miller @ 1/2
Brock Larson @ 2/7
Sean Sherk @ 2/7
Matt Serra @ 15/8
Rashad Evans @ 13/8
I was sure I had the FOTN, I thought Sherk/Edgar was a way better spectacle than the Serra/Hughes lay and pray scutter.(Congrats though)
Serra was awful disappointing to me, that was a way below average Hughes and I felt Serra should have stopped him easily.
I could not believe Sherk lost to Edgar, I would have put the house on him winning. Sherk seems to just want to be a stand up fighter these days and has more or less abandoned his wrestling takedowns he used to employ. Edgars standup must be very good as Sherk beat Tyson Griffin(who’s standup I rate way higher than Frankies) in a stand up battle in his last fight.
I always rated Machida, he is at the minute untouchable in that division. If Rampage meets him it will be a quick night for both of them as he will absoloutey destroy Rampage within one round. Even if Anderson steps up to the light heavies fulltime he will not beat him.(they mightn’t fight anyway as they’re friends and have trained together before).
He’d remind you of a bigger version of Bruce Lee the way he avoids punishment and jusy dishes it out. His hand speed was lightening, I was speechless for ten minutes after it.
Rashad Evans has an iron jaw too in fairness, the amount of full blown power shots he took to the head before his lights eventually went out was very impressive. He just could not figure out Machidas style of fighting at all. Machida will hold on to that belt for a long time unless injury strikes him.
Pat Barry showed what I was afraid he might lack, and that is a ground game of any description. It was actually embarassing how bad he looked when he got taken down. That guy needs to train fulltime on his ground game as his striking is Mike Tysonesque powerwise.
Speaking of Mike Tyson power, Drew McFedries that guy has bricks for hands. It’s funny the amount of top Mua Thai trained guys he has put to sleep by pure power shots, as technique wise his striking is poor.
Always great to see that guy on a card, can’t wait til the Sandman recovers from injury and they meet, should be a quick one!
Played the game a bit more. Never encountered a game that could make your hand sore so quickly or make you sweat as much after a few games as this one does when you are applying or fighting your way out of submissions. Probably my fault I go for a lot of takedowns.
I really like the game. The head kicks are a bit too deveststing seeing how easy it is to deliver one.
I was fighting earlier with bj Penn and he doesn’t have those kicks so is somewhat harder to play with.
Same with Brock but his overwhelming power makes up for it.
Main card
Catchweight (195 lb) bout: Rich Franklin vs. Wanderlei Silva
Heavyweight bout: Cheick Kongo vs. Cain Velasquez
Heavyweight bout: Mirko Filipović vs. Mostapha Al-turk
Welterweight bout: Mike Swick vs. Ben Saunders
Lightweight bout: Spencer Fisher vs. Caol Uno
Welterweight bout: Marcus Davis vs. Dan Hardy
I put a €20 on a quad of Cro Cop, Davis, Velasquez and Wanderlei.
No FOTN market on PaddyPower or was too late?
Ya didn’t seem to be a FOTN odds on Paddy at all. Just after watching it there, very disappointed with it yet again. Only for the main event it was poor overall. I had 50 euro on an accum of Hathaway, Kelly, Crocop and Etim so happy enough, 172 back including my 50.
I have to say I really enjoyed the last two Strikeforce shows way more than the last few UFCs but that’s the way the cookie crumbles I suppose.
Kongo showed yet again that any half decent wrestler will completely destroy him, imagine what Lesnar would have done to him… a scary thought.
Still no decision on what channel it will be shown. They’d want to make their fucking mind up.
Not sure if I want Lesnar or Mir to win. I’m leaning Lesnar but I won’t be too disappointed if Mir does.
On the Kongo bit above, he rocked Valasquez twice. He was so stupid to be tied up. He needed to keep running away. Carwin and Lesnar will both knock out Valasquez. He is fighting Carwin in a couple of months.
[quote=“cluaindiuic”]UFC on Saturday. Serious card.
Still no decision on what channel it will be shown. They’d want to make their fucking mind up.
Not sure if I want Lesnar or Mir to win. I’m leaning Lesnar but I won’t be too disappointed if Mir does.
On the Kongo bit above, he rocked Valasquez twice. He was so stupid to be tied up. He needed to keep running away. Carwin and Lesnar will both knock out Valasquez. He is fighting Carwin in a couple of months.[/QUOTE]
Great card alright and the first time I’ll have seen a live event in 16 months or so. I’d be up for Lesnar, and am looking forward to the GSP fight immensely.
[quote=“cluaindiuic”]UFC on Saturday. Serious card.
On the Kongo bit above, he rocked Valasquez twice. He was so stupid to be tied up. He needed to keep running away. Carwin and Lesnar will both knock out Valasquez. He is fighting Carwin in a couple of months.[/QUOTE]
It could happen that Carwin or Lesnar would ko Valesquez, but I think you are over estimating Carwin and underestimating Valesquez. Valesquez has a much better chin in my opinion than Carwin. Kongo hit him on the button twice I think and did rock him but he recovered instantly and proceeded to keep attacking.
Kongo has serious power, hit him cleanly on the money twice and yet couldn’t finish him. Also Carwin himself was rocked seriously by Gonzaga in their fight and I think Kongo has more power in his fists than Gonzaga.
In fairness if Lesnar rocks anyone it’s generally game over as he is so quick to pounce on weakness. He had Mir destroyed in their first fight only for the refs dubious stand up. Grant it he couldn’t finish Herring either after hurting him, but no one finishes Herring, he’s a tough SOB.
I can’t wait for UFC100 on Saturday, not too sure if I’ll bet on anything yet, I’ll wait until more prices appear.
I’ll be happy as long as that prick Bisping gets beaten by Henderson, I cannot bear the guy especially since watching TUF9 the last few weeks.
Please post here if you find out what channel is defenitely going to be showing it. I really miss Setanta for Steve Bunces boxing hour and Ultimate Talk that used to be on every Thursday.
Setanta Sports will broadcast UFC 100 live from Las Vegas this weekend.
Setanta Sports will broadcast UFC 100 live from Las Vegas this weekend. The live fight action begins at 3am in the early hours of Sunday morning (Saturday night) on the Setanta Ireland channel. UFC 100 is the biggest event in mixed martial arts history and the Ultimate Fighting Championship is bringing out the big guns for the night. Two championships will be on the line as UFC heavyweight title holder Brock Lesnar defends his crown against rival Frank Mir and UFC welterweight champion George ‘Rush’ St-Pierre puts his belt up for grabs against Brazilian knockout artist Thiago ‘Pitbull’ Alves. In one of the most anticipated fights of the night, the Ultimate Fighter coaches will also collide as Dan Henderson faces Michael ‘The Count’ Bisping in a pivotal middleweight showdown. Irish UFC fans can see this premium event, which takes place at the Mandalay Bay Events Centre in Las Vegas, live on Setanta Ireland. Gohere for details on how to subscribe to Setanta or call 0818 20 30 40. For further information: Julianne McKeigue @ Setanta Sports – 01 474 4958
Setanta Sports will broadcast UFC 100 live from Las Vegas this weekend.
Setanta Sports will broadcast UFC 100 live from Las Vegas this weekend. The live fight action begins at 3am in the early hours of Sunday morning (Saturday night) on the Setanta Ireland channel. UFC 100 is the biggest event in mixed martial arts history and the Ultimate Fighting Championship is bringing out the big guns for the night. Two championships will be on the line as UFC heavyweight title holder Brock Lesnar defends his crown against rival Frank Mir and UFC welterweight champion George Rush St-Pierre puts his belt up for grabs against Brazilian knockout artist Thiago Pitbull Alves. In one of the most anticipated fights of the night, the Ultimate Fighter coaches will also collide as Dan Henderson faces Michael The Count Bisping in a pivotal middleweight showdown. Irish UFC fans can see this premium event, which takes place at the Mandalay Bay Events Centre in Las Vegas, live on Setanta Ireland. Gohere for details on how to subscribe to Setanta or call 0818 20 30 40. For further information: Julianne McKeigue @ Setanta Sports 01 474 4958[/QUOTE]
Won’t get to see this until Sunday night as I headed home to get a lift to the match in Ennis tomorrow, and have no Setanta Ireland here. I won’t look at any news at all Sunday as I want to watch it without knowing the results.
I stuck 30euro on Alan Belcher to beat Akiyama at 9/4. Grant it Akiyama is ranked way higher and is supposed to be an excellent fighter(I’ve never seen him myself). I’m gambling on the fact that Belcher has a huge height and reach advantage, is tough to finish and also it’s Akiyamas first fight in the UFC so he’s not used to the octagon and the pressure that comes with it etc. I’m hoping this will affect his performance and I just think Belchers overpriced so went for him for that reason.
There’s a lot of fights where upsets are possible this weekend, I’m just hoping I picked one of them.
(I also did a 20double on Sligo and Monaghon win 11/8 and EVS, whatever the fook I was thinking )