Official UFC Thread dammit there's two threads

3am on ESPN which I don’t have because NTL are CCCCCCCCCCCCCUUUUUUUUUUUUUNNNNNNNNNNNNTTTTTTTTTTSSSSSS. Not ESPN Classic or ESPN America just ESPN, have you that channel Dunph?

Don’t have ESPN ballooba. Thought they might show it on Setanta Ireland or PPV…

Those days are gone Dunph, ESPN are going to be a pay for job soon too I read.
I’ll download it tomorrow and stay away from the internet for the day until I have it watched. If I heard the results it would ruin it for me completely.

[quote=“balloobasluvsbeer”]Those days are gone Dunph, ESPN are going to be a pay for job soon too I read.
I’ll download it tomorrow and stay away from the internet for the day until I have it watched. If I heard the results it would ruin it for me completely.[/quote]

I’m going to drive to every town and village within a 20mile radius of Portumna tomorrow and transmit the results via a loud speaker hanging off the roof of the car…

Hah:guns::guns: I’m gone out of there until next wend…:guns:

I watched the two main events on Youtube
The user names vcarll01 has them up there. They are not perfect quality but they are certainly watchable.

I put 20 FOTN Griffin and Silva.
I logged in to PaddyPower and saw that I had won. Yay.

So I go on youtube and watch the fight and Silva wins easily and borderline suspiciously in 3 minutes. The knockout punch was a jab while he was rolling backwards. Maybe Griffin was 100% gassed but it only 3 minutes in and Griffins conditioning is legendary. After the fight Griffin pretty much ran back to his locker room innediately which made things look even more suspicious. If Silva is that good then I want to see Machida and Silva sooner rather than later.

I’ll take my money but if that was FOTN it’s again a sad indictment of a very poor event.

I watched Penn and Florian as well. To tell the truth I only skimmed through it. But Florian seemed intent on pushing Penn against the fence and then trying to take him down from there. He just could never get the takedown. In the fourth round BJ took down Florian and then worked his way in to a mount, from there Florian gave up his back and it was all over.

It seemed a much better fight than the Silva fight. I dunno, I don’t get what they are looking for.

Hard luck with Neer. 30-27 seems pretty comprehensive. Didn’t watch it though…

[spoiler]I downloaded it today and watched it about two hours ago.

Congrats on the win but that was no more a Fight Of The Night than if I jumped into the cage with Silva, more like Farce Of The Night.
A pile of shite that UFC was, there was not one fight I enjoyed.
Silva is unbeatable, impossible to hit and seems to have dynamite as well as pinpoint accurracy in his fists. He made Forest look awful, he ran out of the Octagon as he was ashamed of his life with his performance.

Florian looked terrible as did BJ I thought despite Joe Rogan saying he looked awesome. Josh Neer was a complete prick over his defeat, he would not shake hands with Pellegrino despite clearly losing every round. Grantit Pellegrino did no damage when he was ontop but he stayed active and was the clear winner.

Anderson will never face Machida as they are training partners and best friends too. Don’t think it would be a good fight to watch even if they did as stylisticly they are both elusive counter fighters. Personally I think Machida would sneak it though we will probably never get to see that one unfortunetly.[/spoiler]

Who do you fancy for the weekend CLD?
Had a 50double in mind on Couture to beat Big Nog and Brandon Vera to beat Matt Hammill. Matt Hammill has now been replaced by Krzystof Soszynski and I am not so confident Vera can take him, he should but he’s way more dangerous than Hammill.
Half tempted to double Couture with Marquardt now but that’s a stinker of a fight to call too. Maia is real dangerous with his jits.
Jardine v Silva is another good fight, either Jardine by points or Silva by quick ko.
My only cert is Couture and everything else is dangerous to double him up with.

Balloo, I totally forgot aboot UFC 102. Just watching it on ESPN now.

The Truth – Polish experiment
Kris was poor. He is usually a lot more proactive than that. Vera was pretty good but the commentators were talking about Vera like he was totally having his way. This wasn’t really the case. Vera won it easily enough in the end but the first 2 rounds were close enough. I don’t think Vera makes much of a blip on the title picture at LHW. He is a slower less powerful, less accurate version of Anderson Silva.

Maia – Nate the great
Nate is great indeed. 10 seconds, the 11-0 undefeated Maia is Ktfo. In honour of this I have added Ktfo to the TFWiki.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5Q93q81MH4Y

Nate, Nate, Nate. When the gods want to punish us they answer our prayers. Don’t ask for another hiding from Silva!!

Rosholt – Leben
Rosholt is decent enough. I wasn’t that impressed with Leben in the fight with Bisping. Rosholt did well in the first round. He get caught at the start of the second but did well to get back in to the round. Leben seems to be a bit of a one trick pony with his big left. Quality arm triangle from Rosholt. Excellent victory. Submission of the night I guess…

Thiago – Jardine
Impressive KO from Thiago. Jardine was looking good for a while. Hit a rock hard leg kick early on. But Thiago dropped him after Jardine went for a leg kick and then KO’d him later with punches. Thiago probably deserves another shot at Machida. He may have to win once more against someone like Evans to get that fight. He is certainly in the mix now though.

Couture – Big Nog
[Pretext: I had planned on betting on Big Nog. I know Couture is a freak but he is frickin 46, his performances have to decline at some point right, RIGHT!?! Wrote this before I watched the fight]
Fucking ridiculous first round. Excellent trading. Big Nog got a knock down and nearlyhad Couture submitted with the Darce choke. World Class stuff from both men. Second round was amazing stuff. Couture taking Big Nog down and was on top and then Nog flips him and gets the full mount. Goes for the arm triangle and nearly gets it again. Excellent exchanges again from their feet to end the round. Nog drops Couture with a massive right at the start of the third. Couture gets back in to the round and on top in guard. But runs out of time. I’d have given it 30-27 to Big Nog, fantastic performance from him, Couture was also impressive. Wonderful fight. Probably FOTY. Easy FOTN.
Lads, if ye are on the fence about UFC watch this fight. Has it all.

[quote=“cluaindiuic”]Balloo, I totally forgot aboot UFC 102. Just watching it on ESPN now.

[spoiler]
The Truth Polish experiment
Kris was poor. He is usually a lot more proactive than that. Vera was pretty good but the commentators were talking about Vera like he was totally having his way. This wasnt really the case. Vera won it easily enough in the end but the first 2 rounds were close enough. I dont think Vera makes much of a blip on the title picture at LHW. He is a slower less powerful, less accurate version of Anderson Silva.

Maia Nate the great
Nate is great indeed. 10 seconds, the 11-0 undefeated Maia is Ktfo. In honour of this I have added Ktfo to the TFWiki.
YouTube - UFC 102 Nate Marquart v Demian Maia (21 Second KO) Real Video
Nate, Nate, Nate. When the gods want to punish us they answer our prayers. Dont ask for another hiding from Silva!!

Rosholt Leben
Rosholt is decent enough. I wasnt that impressed with Leben in the fight with Bisping. Rosholt did well in the first round. He get caught at the start of the second but did well to get back in to the round. Leben seems to be a bit of a one trick pony with his big left. Quality arm triangle from Rosholt. Excellent victory. Submission of the night I guess…

Thiago Jardine
Impressive KO from Thiago. Jardine was looking good for a while. Hit a rock hard leg kick early on. But Thiago dropped him after Jardine went for a leg kick and then KOd him later with punches. Thiago probably deserves another shot at Machida. He may have to win once more against someone like Evans to get that fight. He is certainly in the mix now though.

Couture Big Nog
[Pretext: I had planned on betting on Big Nog. I know Couture is a freak but he is frickin 46, his performances have to decline at some point right, RIGHT!?! Wrote this before I watched the fight]
Fucking ridiculous first round. Excellent trading. Big Nog got a knock down and nearlyhad Couture submitted with the Darce choke. World Class stuff from both men. Second round was amazing stuff. Couture taking Big Nog down and was on top and then Nog flips him and gets the full mount. Goes for the arm triangle and nearly gets it again. Excellent exchanges again from their feet to end the round. Nog drops Couture with a massive right at the start of the third. Couture gets back in to the round and on top in guard. But runs out of time. Id have given it 30-27 to Big Nog, fantastic performance from him, Couture was also impressive. Wonderful fight. Probably FOTY. Easy FOTN.
Lads, if ye are on the fence about UFC watch this fight. Has it all.
[/spoiler][/quote]

The main event was top class entertainment!!

[spoiler] Brilliant UFC even though I lost 100euro on it. I had Couture in all my bets, I genuinely thought Big Nog was done as a top heavyweight as up until the last night every UFC fight he was in was unimpressive.
Heath Herring and Tim Sylvia were beating the piss out of him before he caught them. He looked unreal the last night though and Couture didn’t look bad either. It was a brilliant fight and had all elements in it, striking, ground and pound and submission attempts, excellent to watch.

My bets were 60euro double
Couture
Marquardt

20euro accum
Couture
Spurs
Chelsea
Liverpool

20euro accum
Couture
Kerry
Chelsea
Liverpool
Couture was my cert, how wrong I was…lol. Normally wouldn’t spend that amount but didn’t really gamble the lsat two weeks so went a bit mad. [/spoiler]

ESPN is one from our Sky Digital at home. Pain in the sack. Would’ve loved to see that main event. Canny find it on youtube.

I have no sports channels anymore, I download it on the Sunday anymore instead.

Bit disappointed with last nights showing ! No standout fight as such…

Yeah I saw the two main events.

Cro Cop got a nice baytin for himself.

Nice to see Belfort back. I was there in Vegas when Randy beat the shite out of him.

If you think about it this was a terrible piece of business by Franklin.

The talk before the fight was that if Franklin won he would become a contender at LHW. If Belfort won he would be seen as a legitimate challenger to Anderson Silva at MW.

The whole MW and LHW divisions are a bit of a mess at the moment with guys like Henderson, Franklin, Silva and now Belfort moving between the two divisions.

If you look at the scenario now after last night, Franklin has just lost to a guy who is the top contender at MW, Franklin doesn’t really want to fight at MW. So now he is left in nomansland. His LHW ranking took a bit of a hop. He’ll have to take a fight against someone like Jardine and build his way up again.

UFC 104 was on last night:
Main event was LHW champion Machida defending against Shogun Rua.

I had an accumalator on Barry, Schafer, Stevenson, Velasquez and Machida.

Pat Barry vs Antoni Hardonk
I love Pat Barry!! [steady on lads, as a fighter]
Him and Hardonk had a knock down drag out kick and punch fest in the prelims. Barry took some heavy kicks in the first round. In the second he seemed to find his range with punches and managed to KTFO Hardonk. It won FOTN. It was 11/2. Was tempted to bet on it but FOTN had gone to shit main events recently so I wasn’t trusting the system.

Ryan Bader vs Red Schafer
Bader knocked Schafer early in the first and tried to finish. Schafer did well to recover and made it to the second. Bader seemed to gas himself trying to get the win in the first. Schafer took the second in my opinion. But failed to drive home his advantage in the third and was caught with a big shot in the third. Bader on points but not that impressive.

Anthony Johnson vs Yoshiyuki Yoshida
Johnson failed to make the weight by 6lbs, which is kind of [very much] cheating. He’ll have to move up to MW. He is a huge WW. 6’2"! He had an 8 inch reach advantage and made it count in less than 30 seconds.

Yushin Okami vs Chael Sonnen
Sonnen went in the underdog but dominated Okami with a high octane dynamic performace. Won easily on points while never really threatening a finish.

Joe Stevenson vs Spencer Fisher
Fisher got cut early in the first and was struggling for the entire round as a result. He made it to the second but Joe Daddy had done some damage in the first and pinned an arm of Fisher in the second and tee’d off with a load of elbows. Game over.

Gleison Tibau vs Josh Neer
Tibau put on a clinic of powerful takedowns. He must have taken Neer down around a dozen times but failed to do anything with any of the takedowns as Neer’s guard kept him at bay. Strange fight. Tibau won easily on points.

Cain Velasquez vs Ben Rothwell
An afwul shame that they didn’t go with Carwin vs Velasquez like they intended it would have been great, Rothwell is a poor HW. He looks about as toned as me. [Not a good thing]. Velasquez beat the shite out of him.

Lyoto Machida © vs Mauricio Rua
I’d say some people watched this and thought it was a shit fight. I thought it was an excellent tactical battle. I had seen some of the previews of the fight and looked to me like Machida was in position to be ambushed by Shogun. Machida seemed to be a little sucked in to the celebrity and media stuff involved in being the champion. He said that his training camp was very stop start due to people coming in to the gym asking for photos and autographs.

Anyway, Shogun got his tactics spot on. He was very disciplined. He waited for Machida to do something and then reacted with a flurry of kicks when Machida was off balance.
This was certainly a kick fest. And there were some brutal shots. Shogun hit Machida with a beauty to the ribs in the second round. Also throughout the fight he hit Machida with leg kick after leg kick totally taking away Machida’s speed and agility.

In the end in my opinion it was an easy win for Rua. Had he been given all 5 rounds would not have been a surprise.
Your winner and new LHW champion Mauricio Shogun Rua.

In realty, what happened was one of the greatest robberies that I have seen in ANY sport.
Machida was given a UNANIMOUS 48-47 decision.
Disgusting stuff.

I enjoyed last nights UFC despite the shite judging in the Shogun fight where he was robbed.
Red Schafer has a fair old chin on him, Bader landed a fair few bombs and there was just no quit in him. No quit in big Ben Rothwell either despite getting the scutter bet outa him. Different class that Valesquez.
Pat Barry should drop to light heavy, he’s too small for a heavyweight.
Light heavyweight division is full of strikers too so that would suit him to a tee. If he gets a wrestler or a good jits guy he’d be in trouble though for sure.
I had a 20accum done Okami, Johnson and Bader along with Man city who only drew so it was fucked before it even started. Wasn’t totally shocked Okami got beat as he was coming off an injury and Sonnen is a gritty enough competitor.

Found out that my 2 mates that got me into MMA are doing MMA themelves. They’re fighting in Dublin in November. Should be interesting.

What I would give to see this,I reckon Fedor would rape him…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z-rVMgGLp-w

It doesn’t look as though we’ll see Lesnar v the Russian anytime soon.

http://www.tmz.com/2009/11/16/brock-lesnar-dana-white-mayo-clinic-mono-ufc-wwe/