Paddy power & Tonga

Far from being “just a laugh”, the manner in which Paddy Power has made eejits of Tonga’s rugby players is dead-eyed opportunism of the worst kind, argues Barry Glendenning.

You’ve got to love Paddy Power. Not content with persuading Tonga centre Epeli Taione to change his name by deed poll to that of their company and subsequently basking in the oceans of free publicity generated by the tawdry stunt, the Irish bookmaking firm were set to make gobshites of the entire Tongan squad against England tonight by sending them out to play the most important rugby match of their lives with green hair.

“In Tonga, green is the colour of new beginnings and we also wanted to tap into the whole ‘luck of the Irish’ thing,” tooralooed the firm’s public face, Paddy Power (as opposed to the Tongan rugby player of the same name) yesterday, displaying an impressive grasp of the island kingdom’s culture, but a staggering ignorance of his own country’s recent travails. “It’s just a bit of fun, really.”

Hmm. The more cynical among us might argue that it’s a classic case of dead-eyed opportunism at the expense of a poverty-stricken rugby team willing to do anything, no matter how demeaning, to please the sponsors that handed them a five-figure sum when it became apparent that penury would preclude them from participating in the Rugby World Cup.

It’s worth noting that Paddy Power make somewhere in the region of 50m profit per annum, so a five-figure sponsorship deal, while generous, is probably the kind of chump-change they keep in petty cash. Nevertheless, when I asked him exactly how much of a dig-out his company had given the Tongans, Power was not prepared to divulge whether it was at the 10,000 or 99,999 end of the scale. Whatever the figure, the bookie had more than got their money’s worth in free column inches long before they sent an Irish barber to Tonga HQ with a big bucket of green hair dye and a publicist by the name of Adam Perrin in tow.

“It’s just a laugh and we hope people don’t take it too seriously,” said Perrin, getting in his retaliation against cynical curmudgeons like yours truly early doors. Of course what Perrin doesn’t know is that much of this curmudgeon’s cynicism can be traced back to a career slump spent working for one of Paddy Power’s high street rivals. Many lessons were learned during this depressing period, the main one being that major high street bookmakers don’t do giggles. Instead, they prefer to focus solely on the deadly serious business of attracting as many punters as possible and relieving of them of all their money.

In the bookmaking industry, Paddy Power have long been peerless when it comes to serious self-promotion masquerading as matey high jinx. Whether it’s offering football fans outside Wembley free hamburgers or erecting controversial billboards spoofing Leonardo da Vinci’s last supper, the Irish firm has never been shy when it comes to clambering aboard the bandwagon du jour.

To be fair, their generally harmless antics are the kind of lame-assed japery you’d expect from hucksters who have long promoted themselves as the showbiz bookie with a self-styled “ironic Irish humour”. But in attempting to make a freak show of a Tonga team that was only the bounce of a ball away from beating South Africa last weekend - the IRB has since interceded and put a stop to their self-serving gallop - they went too far.

“We didn’t force them to dye their hair green,” said Paddy Power yesterday in one of the more surreal telephone conversations I’ve ever had. When I inquired if it was his firm’s idea, he claimed not to know. “I think it was a mutual decision,” he said, leaving me to conclude correctly or incorrectly that it may have been more mutual on the part of Paddy Power than the Tongans.

If Paddy Power really want to support Tongan rugby, they should pour some of their massive profits into developing the game on the Pacific island. Sadly, that probably wouldn’t garner the requisite publicity, so it’s likely to be, in bookies’ parlance, a non-runner.

Taking the low-rent, high-yield option of sponsoring a team they presumed would be minnows in the same pool as the team representing their target market under the pretext of generating a bit of craic serves only to show that no matter how many millions of pounds profit Paddy Power make each year, they’ll never, ever be able to buy class.

Barry Glendenning will be losing money hand over fist during tonight’s Tonga v England match on a well-known betting exchange. He suggests the punters among you do the same

To tow the company line all I should say is nobody forced them to take the money and regarding big profits its the name of the game for any company to make money. Paddy Power gives customers money back on numerous events each and every week like the McClaren saga where all customers were refunded their stake back on McClaren to win the constructors Championship and anyone who had bet on Ferrari were paid out early. Im sure there is dozens more. That Ireland Italy game before the World Cup they didnt like what went on and did something. Cant remember what off hand but out of fairness they gave customers money back.

Re:paddy power & Tonga

Many lessons were learned during this depressing period, the main one being that major high street bookmakers don’t do giggles. Instead, they prefer to focus solely on the deadly serious business of attracting as many punters as possible and relieving of them of all their money.

Shock Horror! What a terrible surprise for this young lad enteing the bookmaking industry with such genuine expectations of altruism in high places… poor lad. Must have shattered him. What a learning curve!

[ the bookmaking industry, Paddy Power have long been peerless

Flanooooooo! Good man! :angry:

Taking the low-rent, high-yield option of sponsoring a team they presumed would be minnows in the same pool as the team representing their target market under the pretext of generating a bit of craic serves only to show that no matter how many millions of pounds profit Paddy Power make each year, they’ll never, ever be able to buy class.

Yeah, because the general aim of highstreet bookies is to be percieved as ‘‘class.’’ And this fcuking eejit confusing the responsibilities of a governing body and a bookmakers has it I suppose? W@nker.

SoulDressing wrote:

[quote]Many lessons were learned during this depressing period, the main one being that major high street bookmakers don’t do giggles. Instead, they prefer to focus solely on the deadly serious business of attracting as many punters as possible and relieving of them of all their money.

Shock Horror! What a terrible surprise for this young lad enteing the bookmaking industry with such genuine expectations of altruism in high places… poor lad. Must have shattered him. What a learning curve!

In the bookmaking industry, Paddy Power have long been peerless

Flanooooooo! Good man! :angry:

Yeah, because the general aim of highstreet bookies is to be percieved as ‘‘class.’’ And this fcuking eejit confusing the responsibilities of a governing body and a bookmakers has it I suppose? W@nker.[/quote]

What PP has done with this Tonga team is low. Its ridiculous altogether. Ive not much else to say on this but there is going to be sometime where they will cross the line.

But whats true is, like myself and SoulDressing :angry: , they are Peerless

More stupidity :angry:

http://v4.sportnetwork.net/main/s522/st120922.htm

I think Captshan has the inside line on this

I see that Paddy Power had a pop up ad on the freekick now. :tongue:

Yeah why is that there? Do powers know about this?

I can’t bet with them :angry:

It’s just their affiliate programme. It’s gone now anyway - I was just seeing what it looks like. Might become a feature of the betting articles in future but if you don’t have a paddy account by now then you’re hardly likely to be only setting on up so I might go for ladbrokes or bet365 instead.

affiliates is the way forward

william hills do a good initial offer of 100 free bet

It’s not that I wont set one up, if I do I’ll get the sack.

I’ve known about that affiliate scheme alright. They’ll make you dye your hair green at some stage though :tongue:

Does betfair have anything similar?

all bookies do

What commission do William Hill pay though? It’s all well and good them giving punters 100 if they’re only giving them 1% commission on profit.

the free kick gets the commision

they give the punter 100% free bet- you make the money

But you don’t make all the money - they keep most of the profits for themselves obviously. What do they pay to the website?

i.e. with Paddy I think how it works is a punter signs up through the affiliate link. If they open a sports account and make a net loss in any month then 25% of Paddy’s margin goes to whoever signed them up in the first place (TFK in this case).

TFK gets 25% of the losses - its a huge money making scheme for most websites-

say everyone who bets here joins bwin through your site - then 25% of all losses will be returned to whoever owns the website- then you could bring all members of the site on a piss up with the losses they made over the year

The bwin Group has over 10 million registered customers (including 7 million play money customers) in over 20 core target markets. Operating under international and regional licences in countries like Gibraltar, Kahnawake (Canada), Germany, Italy, Mexico, Austria and the United Kingdom, the Group has set itself the goal of becoming the number one address for sports betting, games and entertainment via digital distribution channels. The Group offers sports betting, poker, casino games and soft games, as well as audio and video streams on major sporting events like, for example, the German Bundesliga.

This is how our profit also becomes your profit.

Every customer, who visits us through your affiliate site, registers and wagers, generates money. Initially we guarantee you 25% of net winnings (betting turnover after payouts and betting duties) generated by the new customers we acquire through you. And if you are extremely successful, this share increases up to an impressive 35% of net winnings!

Customers who are referred to bwin via your website can be identified and assigned to you by the URL and a character string (your partner ID) attached to it.

You can check your commission at any time by accessing your partner site with your user ID and your password. Starting from an amount of EUR 50,- commissions will be paid on a monthly basis and against receipt of invoice. Current data are uploaded with a one day delay.

Not with William Hill though. I think they give you money for a signup (10 usually) and nothing from their profits on sports betting.

Have you actually signed up to the Powers affiliate scheme?

Yep