Pelanty Points

[quote=“artfoley, post: 891178, member: 179”]another cop is going to go before the PAC on thursday and make shite of callinan and shatter by saying it was widespread abuse of the system. hopefully hes a good witness as shatter and callinan need to be fired

http://www.tv3.ie/news_sub_page.php?video_id=75035&locID=1.2.883[/quote]

Did I hear right that a journalist was fired for door stepping that corrupt lackey Callinan over this?

What a feckin country we live in.

[quote=“Special Olympiakos, post: 891333, member: 366”]Did I hear right that a journalist was fired for door stepping that corrupt lackey Callinan over this?

What a feckin country we live in.[/quote]

Yep, she was also the journo that was keeping the story about the priest being murdered in offaly going

She sounds like a bit of a troublemaker.

Would you have her guerined?

Ah no. Sacking her was punishment enough.

and what would you do with shatter, callinan and the priest murderer ?

What’s the story with using a mobile now? Is it illegal to use one while driving even if you’re using a hands free kit?

It will be if legislation passes next month-also €1k fine:eek:

Not to call. Yes to text. Texting is bad. Automatic fine etc. Still lots of garda discretion.

Yeah I was meaning to post about this. It seems pretty excessive from the way it has been announced.

e.g. If I dock my phone it is in roughly the same position as the radio in my car which is a primitive enough touchscreen.
Touching my docked phone while driving is illegal. Is that true if I’m texting or calling or changing song or operating my GPS maps.
Or just texting. How are cops meant to know what I was doing? Why officer, I was doing the thing that’s not illegal, not that thing that is illegal.

Performing a series of actions on the car radio touchscreen is not illegal but is pretty much exactly the same action. e.g. Trying to find a certain radio station, skipping through songs, calling someone etc…

I was in traffic in Ballsbridge a few months ago and the fella in front of me had his phone mounted on the dashboard and he was watching Sky News - traffic was fairly heavy and stop start so I started watching it too.

Then a bloke crossed in front of me on one of those Segways.

It was like being Marty McFly in the second edition of the Back to the Future franchise - it felt as if I had suddenly arrived into the future given the juxtaposition of these two (even still) futuristic seeming pieces of technology

I went home and typed 53378008 into a solar powered calculator and turned it upside down and I was back in 1985 in a familiar school class room

[QUOTE=“cluaindiuic, post: 935848, member: 258”]
Performing a series of actions on the car radio touchscreen is not illegal but is pretty much exactly the same action. e.g. Trying to find a certain radio station, skipping through songs, calling someone etc…[/QUOTE]

Why do you need to use your mobile if you can call someone on your car radio

At Ennis District Court, Judge Patrick Durcan dismissed 98 ‘Go Safe’ prosecutions against the motorists accused of speeding on two legal grounds.

In a fresh blow to the ‘Go Safe’ system, Judge Durcan dismissed the cases over the failure of the Go Safe personnel in court to provide evidence that they were authorised to give evidence on behalf of Inspector John McDonald, who heads up the Garda Fixed Charge Processing Unit.

Judge Durcan, who has been a staunch critic of the way the Go Safe prosecutions are brought to court, had adjourned months of Go Safe prosecutions into yesterday’s date due to a High Court challenge.

He also dismissed the 98 cases after ruling that the Go Safe employees couldn’t give any evidence as to whether the fixed-charge notice was paid or not.

Surveying the packed courtroom that included around 12 Go Safe staff, Judge Durcan said: “Insp. McDonald is out in force today with the artillery.”

The fleet of around 50 Go Safe vans is operated by an Isle of Man firm that last year put the profits it makes out of sight by changing its status to that of an unlimited company.

The Go Safe consortium secured the €80m Garda Siochana contract to operate the speed camera vans in 2009 and recorded operating profits of around €50,000 per week in 2012.

Earlier this year in court, Ivor Browne, director of the firm that operates Go Safe, Road Safety Operations Ireland, told Judge Durcan: “The reason we introduced the Isle of Man structure was to just limit access to our accounts from a competitors’ point of view.”

Judge Durcan dismissed the cases yesterday following a test case brought by Ennis solicitor, Daragh Hassett on behalf of one of his clients. Speaking after court yesterday, Mr Hassett said that the cases were dismissed “after I exploited flaws in the legislation enacted to outsource the prosecution of speeding offences”.

He said: “There is no argument that speeding on our roads is not welcome but our citizens are entitled to due process and fair procedures when they face a day in court. If the State in its wisdom is outsourcing important garda duties to a private off-shore company, then the same principles and duties that the gardai are bound by must apply. To date that has not been my experience of this set up.”

Mr Hassett said that the Road Traffic Act 2010 facilitates the outsourcing of detecting motorists speeding to the Isle of Man firm.

He said that Go Safe “should not be asked to even attempt to replicate the expertise that experienced gardai have brought to this role on a daily basis for many years”.

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/judge-throws-out-100-cases-of-speeding-over-outsourcing-30665588.html

two points tonight. Ran through a light late. Gave the guard the sad eyes and everything but he wasn’t having any of it.

How many do you have now?

They divide then in half for auld lads dont they

I hope so.

What were the other 4 for? I cross a busy road with a buggy every morning and at least two cars break the red coming out of our estate every single time. To the extent that when the green man pops up you count to 10 before crossing. It is a matter of time before someone gets killed there. Another woman in the crèche told me she gives a list of 8-10 car regs every Friday to the local guards of people who break the red while she is waiting to cross. Sincerely doubt they do anything with it mind you

3 for speeding now is taking the piss - urban focussed speed checks.

Get a laser gate opening device fitted :wink: