Pelanty Points

Motorists breaking red lights is at epidemic status in south city centre Dublin. It’s very dangerous and frankly despicable behaviour. Gimps like @massey ferguson probably think it’s acceptable though.

Speeding. Doing 141 and 147 kph on the M9.

Clutch touch pause engage

Got the notice in the post about this yesterday. Three months after the “offence”. I had begun to think that the garda had been overcome by the spirit of Christmas. But alas it was not to be. He was merely toying with my emotions. The sting in the tail was that it was a relegation 3 pointer and not the two pointer he had lead me to believe on the night in question - probably for a quiet life. So I find myself on 7 points now and not the 6 I had assumed.

Can’t wait to tell the insurance company.

How did this work out for you insurance wise? I’ll have moved from 3 to 6 when my insurance is up for renewal in February. Having just the 3 hasn’t had too much of an effect on premiums.

There might be a small loading for it, if they ask you. I’m back to 5 myself. Two points expired there last month.

Though reading the papers there I must be the only eejit in the country not challenging the points.

I am fairly certain I was caught speeding by one of those parked vans. When should I expect to receive confirmation? Almost three weeks since the incident now. Any chance I’m getting off?

I’ve been done up to 3 months after the offence

Got done for driving at 60 mph on Conyngham Rd in September, got the letter last week. :rage:

Is there to find out how many points ye have Fagan,i had 11 but a few should surley have been knocked off at this stage

http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/travel_and_recreation/motoring_1/driving_offences/penalty_points_for_driving_offences.html

There’s a number there you can ring

Thanks pal

Whatever you do, dont ring. Give it till the middle of November. There is every chance it will get lost in a mirage of paper work and never come. Sit tight

I wonder did Ryle get any penalty points.

lads
i “know” someone driving a car, expired provisional, no insurance, NCT, tax is up to date
aside from the obvious of not wanting to crash, what happens if pulled over?
granted there are very few checkpoints lately so if this person is a careful driver, no speeding, etc, should they be ok?

When stopped by Gardaí, the car will be seized and a court appearance will be required.

grand, what will the likely outcome of said appearance be?
what’s the main issue here?, insurance ?

No idea, most people would be happy to avoid court mind you, but each to their own.

Yeah, 2yr disqualification

Tell your wife to get her fucking licence and stop being so stingy and pay for her insurance