Oh he researches and reads, but he doesn’t think.
I would say he’s done himself a bit of damage in the past 2 days to be honest. There is no hurling club in Cork going to go anywhere near him in the future. He had been coaching Bishopstown in the recent past and his name was getting around, but Jesus there isn’t a hurling club will go near him now because to any Hurling person, they just know now he doesn’t know what he’s talking about.
Ah I think you’re reading too much into it. It’ll be forgotten soon enough.
a lot of the S&C types are like that though
a guy that used to post here is in the USA - he is continually posting overally scientific reports on twitter
A Sleep Analysis of Elite Female Soccer Players During a Competition Week
great bloke & id say it may make a difference at top level
I wouldn’t think so. He relies on local clubs for a share of business. I need not tell you the reaction any club manager will get when he requests a few grand to bring in Kevin Mulcahy as a coach… “Who? The lad who thinks practicing off a wall has absolutely no impact on a player’s skill development at all and smugly dismissed hurling people as being a closed book and very slow to move with the times? Him? No, who else is on your list there”
Go way to fuck.
Are many of them on twitter?
Quick question.
Would these All Stars & HOTY types be using hurling walls without Covid restrictions?
Answer : like fuck they would
I’m in about 5 or 6 different WhatsApp groups that are primarily Hurling groups and his tweet has made it each one of them and I didn’t put them into any of them.
Our Kev has gone viral
Absofuckinglutely
heres TJ Reid on a hurling wall
Heres Patrick Horgan on a hurling wall
Heres Austin Gleeson on a hurling wall
Heres Brendan Maher on a hurling wall
you get the point. These are top level hurlers who have videos of them at a hurling wall. Many more would do it without the video being shot and I’m sure these lads do it plenty of times too, lockdown or no lockdown.
I know plenty of intercounty hurlers who are ball wall fanatics. Some do it for touch, some do it for confidence, some do it for peace of mind. But the majority are doing it in my experience.
The Cuddys used to bate the hurls off the arses of bullocks, same thing really.
Kev is 100% right on this. He is ahead of his time, a visionary
look, the only way to improve your touch is to play intercounty hurling.
how you get a touch good enough to play intercounty hurling is another matter altogether…
Aside: I love when he uses the term " humans"
Because of the lack of games I fear we will have an entire generation of under developed hurler in the coming years
Do you think they only practice when training with their team? Of course they use hurling walls, whether that’s a gable end or an actual hurling wall/handball alley
Edit: Reply already covered by the lads I see
The player pathway needs to be reviewed in light of this
- Pick up hurl
- Play intercounty
- Hone skills.
So its gonna come down to physical development?
Advantage Dublin
Pretty much
Laois have tried this for years. Doesn’t work.