Players who were "the next big thing" but never did anything (much)

there was a cork minor a good few years back who was meant to be the next big thing…Conrad murphy…kev tell us the story??..

Ya he’s probably the biggest one in Cork for a while. I saw alot of him as we were in the same Minor that year. He was a ridiculous club Minor, we had a county player on him and he always got roasted by Murphy. He was for 2 years possibly the best Minor in the country. Anyway he went to UCC, was taking the expected path and then after 1st year (i think around then anyway) he got a bad injury, possibly knee. He was in and out for a while, may have gone back too soon. I think he came back then and simply didn’t have the interest to become a County Senior, from what i heard. he wanted an easier life, and fair play to him. He played away club for till last year and was very good for Clon anytime i saw him. This year he went travelling, so he missed their county win. I think i remember someone saying he was into surfing and the like. He’s in Oz now.

Giles Barnes
Owen Hargreaves
Robbie Keane

Ryan Leaf is top of the list. It is what it is.

Bit harsh on Hargreaves, doesn’t he have a champions league medal, played in two world cups and would have plenty of caps for England…Was a fine footballer when fit…

Robbie Keane is Ireland’s top scorer ever - almost twice more than the next person.

I would call that doing something, and doing something that means something to Ireland.

Farmer, he’s clearly looking for a reaction. We know Keane has a superb international record and has well over a hundred goals in England. In fact, I believe he was the highest EPL goalscorer in a calendar year as recently as 2008. All that said, his career will surely be defined by how he performs in the SPL over the next 4 months.

I am aware that he is Bandage, this is Tipptops after all - that’s all he has, but no harm to put him in his place with some proper facts.

Robbie Keane is a scumbag bro.

What’s wrong now?

On a point of Order.

The three footballers I posted up were three fellows who were tipped for the very top but who in the last few weeks made their way onto the footballing scrapheap. Now, Bandage and the likes can keep on telling people that Black is White and the SPL is not a footballing graveyard* but nobody is listening. Robbie Keane has a fine International record. International football seems to suit Robbie Keane for some reason, like it did Andy Townsend. Why this is so I do not know. What I do know is that Robbie Keane’s club career has been well below average. Any manager that had him for an extended period of time has got shot ASAP, bar a couple of years 1st time around at Spurs. Has Robbie Keane got one medal to his name? When he transferred to Inter Milan the sky was the limit. ppl were saying he was going to do this and that and the other - Noone said he was going to be a bench sitter before he was 30 for a mid ranking premiership team before being farmed out on loan to the footballing backwater of the SPL. Ergo he was a player who was the next best thing but never did anything (much)

*I believe if you put last years Bohs panel into the SPL they would seriously challange for 3rd spot. I remember when Pat Fenlon was linked with one of the managers jobs of a mid table team in Scotland - he turned it down as he said his budget was bigger at Bohs. This is the level Robbie Keane is now playing at.

This topic has been around as long as I have:

And the answer is still the same

Phillip Clifford

(last I heard he was selling shirts on Patrick Street, but that came from the Kiltimagh lads)

Philip is busy being a prick on the door of his pub (which was bought for him) in Bantry, A waste of football talent, a waster and an ignorant fool.

What pub is that C?

A waste of the most extraordinary football talent yeah; but I’m told ignorance had very little to do with it. Difficulties with Larry Thomkins and Castlehaven bias is what I believe.

Ryan Leaf is top of the list. For real.

A few Wexford next big things,Colin Carney(Rathnure),near eneogh unmarkable in his Youth never amounted to much after,Mick O Leary(Rathnure),for all the work about this lad he did very little senior inter county hurling.Ken Furlong(St Martins,i think) very good underage,

A few football ones,Leigh O Brien(Horeswood) a bit of a god around South Wexford but had a limited Inter COunty career,David Shannon(Horeswood) brilliant COlleges player never really made it after.

Good article on why Tipptopps is right about Keane

Saw this post, thought of this article

http://www.tribune.ie/sport/other-sport/article/2010/jan/03/they-fell-through-the-crack/

Horse shit, he was a messer, a dosser and a big drinker. He dodged exercises and runs like an 12 year old. Larry wanted committed men, he wasn’t, Larry liked Castlehaven men with good reason, they’d die for ya. Rumours he had to be watched in '99 the weekend of All-Ireland semi and final they didn’t trust him so much.

Can’t remember the name of the pub, Cosy Cabin maybe? Just on your right on the way in, close to Bantry Bay Hotel.

Now that you can attribute to Larry and a few other coaches, Des Cullinane at UCC as well. Spot on article.

And yet he was Captain:

I can’t see Joe Kavanagh staying quiet about that '99 weekend if what you report is true. He was watched naturally because he was only 19 in a pack of hardend warriers.

Messer and Drinker yeah; but dosser no. Absolutely not.

Larry and meself were around at the same time, and I guarantee you he trained himself into the ground, and that was his management style too.

We that the legs to run Meath off the field and into Dundalk, we just didn’t have the football (Joe’s Goal excepted)