The Euro is approaching status of ‘ALL OVER RED ROVER’.Im not declaring it yet but I’m not far off.
Will the whole thing disappear, or will some of the undesirables be booted out of the club?
Talks of a core group of good boys getting to keep the euro and agree to closer fiscal union.
The bold boys are going to be kicked out and told to fend for themselves.
Has that actually been suggested tonight though or is that just a guess?
Any word on which camp the Irish are in Runt?
I read it on a Reuters blog. I think that’s generally accepted what will happen if the Euro does break up.
I’d imagine they will leave us with the good boys because we’re great craic.
I think record in the Eurovision should be taken into consideration too. That would definitely strengthen our position.
Yeah it’s been touted for over 12 months but that doesn’t mean it’s actually happening. Upon what criteria would that decision actually be made (who stays and who goes)? I imagine we would be out.
Will we be going back to the old notes I wonder? Catherine McCauley, James Joyce, Daniel O’Connell, Douglas Hyde, and Charles Stewart Parnell. I can’t remember if there were any more. It’ll be good to have this guy back:
The European Championship in Poland/Ukraine. If you don’t get out of your group then your out of the €
Another thing, if the euro is being retained at least in some countries, what will that mean for deposits held in euros in the countries that are out, e.g. here? Would there be ‘new’ euro banknotes issues to differentiate? I’d love to know the mechanics of something like this. It’ll be fucking mayhem either way.
In fairness, the threat of being booted out of the euro will be a useful stick to batter national governments with. The whole thing has a bit of an Western/Eastern Roman Empire feel about it. It can’t end well for all of us.
Has Jim Corr commented?
The view is that any deposits here would immediately converted into the new currency which would obv be significantly devalued. What would happen to our debts is unknown but one possibility is that they would stay denominated in euro meaning it would require much more of your new cash to repay them
The French are gas cunts all the same, aligning themselves with Germany, if they split up the euro none of the excl countries will have a bob to repay them, nor the inclination, and all their bonds to It, Ir etc will be w/off bringing them down too. Interesting that the Dutch are opposed to it, they appear to be rock solid, and largely sitting back waiting to see what happens.
Think all our balls licking in Europe may see us dragged along if it splits, would it pass an inevitable referendum here if put to the people?
What a great little country, God bless us
Sinn Féin President, Gerry Adams TD, today (Wednesday) received an answer to a parliamentary question, which detailed the amount of pensions paid to former ministers.
The response confirmed that 109 ex-ministers are in receipt of pensions, amounting to an €8.8 million payroll every year at taxpayers’ expense.
Thirty of them have pensions over €100,000 a year, including former Taoiseach Bertie Ahern (right) on €152,000, corrupt former minister Ray Burke (left) on €103,000 and former Labour leader, Dick Spring on €121,000.
Sinn Féin finance spokesperson Pearse Doherty said:“The fact that this level of payments is being paid to former ministers when we are facing into one of the harshest budgets in history is a scandal. Many of the people on this list are the architects of our economic downfall and of the hardships being faced by hundreds of thousands of Irish people today.”
Ray Burke gets a pension from the State. Fucking hell but that is vomit inducing.
Ah the country is rotten to the core.
Fair play to Gerry Adams, the man who is willing to ask the questions that need to be asked, to out disgracful carry on inherent in out Govt.
Italian bond yields have fallen back down to 7.1% in early trading.
Crisis over. Move along. Nothing to see here.
+1 Markets are volatile but the Eurofirst 300 is up. Time for bargain hunting.
Talks on forming a National Unity Government in Greece have collapsed.
More as we get it.
Who is we?