Price of a Pint

What a cunt of a spot.

Fucking dickheads of bar men and bouncers as well.

There was an event on there so I had to attend.

A truly horrible bar.

4 the bottles of Erdinger in the 51 there yesterday.

They have a ‘Specials’ board with the above, Budvar, Tiger and Kopparberg for four euro and a few cocktails and shite for six.

No value if you want a pint of Guinness though.

Well done Bandage. I would agree with HangBlaa here, I would rarely head to Shelbourne without hitting the ‘Beggars’ either before or after. The great thing about Ryans is that it’s so cheap, the more you drink the more you save. I remember being shocked at how much change I got back the last time I was in there. Definitely the cheapest I’ve ever come across in Dublin. No nonsense in there either, straightforward pub with a few historical pictures. I have watched matches in there but have never needed to watch Setanta in there I’m sure they have it because there are plenty of football heads in there. I think ye should try it for a while, if for nothing else than using it as a wedge against the 51. You could drop it into the negotiations… “They’ve no problem with selling pints for under a fiver up in the ‘Beggars’ you know” I’d say the blood will drain from their faces.

The two vinters associations have today announced a 1 year price freeze in response to the current economic climate.

Anybody have any reports of publicans actually dropping prices as a way of enticing customers back into the pub? I know it won’t happen in my town anyways, they adopt a one for all attitude in terms of pricing, I believe it’s known as a cartel.

I do, on occasion, visit Carlow town, where my son and family live and he is a member of one of the local soccer teams.
Their main sponsor is O’Loughlin’s bar and a fine, if noisy emporium it indeed is. The club members have been issued with “loyalty cards” (available to supporters for 20) which enable the procurement of ANY pint for the sum of 3.50 any day of the week.
Needless to say, Boxtyeater hasn’t paid the 20 - all I do is ramble in, order pint and pop 3.50 on the counter and mention Castle Rangers and the job is OXO. It’s now the norm for me.
A loyalty card for TFK is the way forward in this impass, with pints fixed at 4.50 and no loss of face on their part. Happy negotiating!!!

my local gga club raised its price for a pint of heineken from 3.80 to 4.70:rolleyes: in the past week or so

obviously reading your posts here then

but congrats on supporting your local gaa club :stuck_out_tongue:

Further encouragement to avoid it for you.

I like the sound of this loyalty card thing.

Had to laugh at the one legged bandit Charlie Chawke and his cohorts on Six One earlier on basically looking for a clap on the back just because they had, for once, done something prudent like announcing the price freeze. Up to now, they have followed the idea that if business is falling, it must be because the prices are too low.

Price freeze my arse, it should be a 10% decrease at least.
Besides most of the greedy bastards upped their prices over the last few weeks just to get the increase in before they “freeze” the price.

WBY

[quote=“Sledgehammer”]
Had to laugh at the one legged bandit Charlie Chawke[/quote]

As Charlie is mentioned here, I would like to commend the generousity of his brother Gerry Chawke, the publican in Clonmel. On the way back from Thurles Sunday evening with the O’Neill Cup, 2 busloads of DLS players and supporters called in to the Adare man for a drink. Gerry promptly filled the cup with Brandy and Red, and bought a round for everybody in the packed pub. As good skin.

[quote=“Sledgehammer”]I like the sound of this loyalty card thing.

Had to laugh at the one legged bandit Charlie Chawke and his cohorts on Six One earlier on basically looking for a clap on the back just because they had, for once, done something prudent like announcing the price freeze. Up to now, they have followed the idea that if business is falling, it must be because the prices are too low.[/quote]

One of them was holding the mankiest looking pint of guinness I’ve ever seen, not a great as for the ‘drinks industry’

I meant to post about that yesterday evening. Christ it was rank looking. The head was like a sprinkling of icing on top of the pint and they all standing there awkwardly (no offence charlie) and none of them taking a drink.

The publicans aren’t doing themselves any favours with their carry on. I was at a wedding a couple of months ago and was drinking bottles of Budweiser, they all had a mark saying “Part of a Multi pack. Don’t sell separately”, also, how often do you see publicans stocking up in Tesco on the cheap cans and bottles?

Was surprised that a bottle of miller and a bottle of Heineken in Coppers on Friday night was less than a tenner. That was around half 11 thought so maybe it went up after that.

Dunno do Coppers put up the prices. Dont think they do. A pint is always a fiver in there which is grand for a nightclub.

Yer man from the Vintners Association was on Matt Cooper last night. He said that the average price for a pint of Guinness is €4.00 across Ireland. Well I live in a small village and it’s €4.00 a pint and I’m sure it was €4.00 up in KK the last weekend I was up there. So by that reckoning with prices of pints of stout quoted here as €5.70 there must be pubs in Ireland selling Guinness at around the €3.00 mark. If anyone can share these pubs with us please do.

Haven’t been drinking Guiness much lately but with the onsite of the dark evenings and the end to the football I plan to get back into it again.

Had a nice creamy pint down at Tralee dog track last week for 3.70, which is pretty good. I think it’s 3.70 locally as well.