Pubs To Frequent

What’s so funny Bandage? Monaghan must be the nicest town in Ireland.

It was all anyone in the town talked about as a nightspot and any time I went there I felt it never lived up to its hype.

Delighted to hear Monaghan is still a good spot. Terry’s is indeed a noble establishment. The Squealing Pig was hot and cold.

Ah I see I was only in there watching racing and drinking Guinness and whiskey. I thought being stood a double whiskey on my debut in the pub by Terry himself was enough to endorse the place. I wasn’t down the back at all.

I take it your crowd were passing tips onto him then :clap:

Nah, Terry does his own thing. An alright sort.

Terry stood me a pint the first time I was brought into the pub by a well known local. A genuinely decent man who runs a lovely pub.

FAO - Fitzy, TASE, Mickee123 - southern hemisphere TFK Xmas jamboree - can someone pass me on the final details so I can pass onto Kev?

really looking forward to this

as a gesture of goodwill ill go down to nsw

byron it is

Someone should give KIB a geography lesson too and let him know Israel is in the northern hemisphere

mickee sent me a PM and said he wished to be part of the southern hemisphere crew. you are missing out mate. will top your dinner party with fran, gman, appendage, paul codd’s number one potato and pikeman easy

great stuff, fitzy lives up that way. bout half way up

kev has been in touch, stumpy and himself are really looking forward to it too

Paddys, Terryglass, Co. Tipp
Hourigans, Callan, Co. KK
Cliffords, Castlemartyr, Co. Cork
The Maple Inn, Midleton, Co. Cork
Mulligans, Dublin
The Call Inn, Callan, Co. KK (rip)

Party of one then?

I know I’m going to get knocked for this one but The Galway Hooker in Heuston Station in Dublin is a really good pub. I know it only has a passing trade, but the food and service is excellent and the pint of Guinness is the best I’ve had.

Top Marks!

[quote=“habanerocat, post: 666278”]I know I’m going to get knocked for this one but The Galway Hooker in Heuston Station in Dublin is a really good pub. I know it only has a passing trade, but the food and service is excellent and the pint of Guinness is the best I’ve had.

Top Marks![/quote]

Agreed, top notch Guinness

that should be fine mate

ah here, its a warm ould carvery under a lamp, FFS
i have drank a few pints in there waiting for a train but there is a awful lonely feel to the place TBH, most people are in there passing thru but you see a few lads in there as well as its the local

That and the bar in Connolly Station are horrendous spots on a good friday where one must show proof of purchase of a minimum fare single for the dart to be admitted

Was in the snug of Toners on Saturday evening. Never in there before (the snug). There was about 8 of us piled in. Great place for a session, the barstaff are sound and seeing as one of the group is always sitting at the side of the bar, it’s easy to get your orders in no matter how busy it is. Great, great pint too.

Went to that Jap eaterie/bar on Exchequer street afterwards on account of the ladies wanting to do some karaoke. Good craic but it’s some scam. €27.50 for the room for an hour and a fiver for a 330ml bottle of beer. And you need a lot of beer if you’re going about the business of doing karaoke. Also, and this should really be in the Wrong thread, but the jacks are unisex. I wasn’t sure but I was dying for a shite so I went in anyhow. Cue me letting rip and two birds walking in. I was, well, shitting myself. I was imagining the Gards being called. Thankfully, when I deemed it safe to run for it, I encountered a woman and a young man at the doorway debating on whether it was indeed unisex after all. They asked me and I simply replied that I fucking hoped it was or I could be in trouble should the CCTV ever be checked.

ah hoy there…