How much RAM is "maximum " RAM? 32GB?

24 and 512

Go with that

Thanks very much. Thanks everyone. Just ordered. :heart:
Even herself said “go and ask those lads on TFK”

16 RAM is load unless she’s doing 3D modelling or editing big movie clips or the like.

The early bird and all that…

Did you go UK or EU or local in Manchester?

Went local for tax reasons

any idea what courses in college? an idea of the possible software that will utimately be used would lead my choice/decision

No idea yet. Bought it now anyhow.

You look at the website of the possible software. They will all have a specification for the minimum hardware and operating system requirements.

Solid Works and other 3D modelling would be top heavy. Video editing and changing video formats would also be very heavy. As is some industrial communication scada type packages.

A friend asked me to spec a PC for his son who needed it for 3D modelling. Just there last weekend I asked him how the son was getting on with his engineering course.

The fecker was doing woodwork teaching. So you’d never know. Do your homework.

Most stuff will work on a Mac. She’ll be fine. It’ll last years if she treats it well. I’d a Pro that lasted a good 12 years. Still works a little bit 17 years on. I’d a 12 year old iMac in my old office which was still motoring very well when I left.

Work got me a 16 inch Pro that cost about 3k. Fucking thing weighs a tonne though. I’ve the Mac Mini at home, which is great bang for its buck.