Huge blow for Tyrone and for McGuigan himself. I thought it was unfortunate timing when the news broke the other day and that he’d be out for a week or two missing the first championship game but missing the whole thing is cruel.
Huge blow for the football championship. McGuigan is sheer quality and it’s brilliant to watch him in the flesh the way he’s constantly on the move to find a few yards for himself and then the range and accuracy of his foot passing is superb. I’d go so far as to rule Tyrone out for the AI if he’s not back for the business end of the championship - the headline says he’ll miss the whole thing and then the body of the article says he’ll be out for 2 months.
ye it’s a little misleading alright. however, he is massively influential for tyrone and i would agree with bandage that were he not to be involved at any stage this summer I would no longer fancy tyrone for sam.
seen as there has been some mention of McDonald on this thread already who would people prefer to have centre-forward in your team? Ciaran McDonald or Brian McGuigan?
Think both are superb players but McGuigan would shade it for me.
That might be harsh on McDonald though as he’s often had to carry the Mayo attack on his own whereas McGuigan has had O’Neill, Mulligan and, of course, Canavan up to last year to spray passes around to.
yeah was in carrick that day alright. he definitely got them out of a sticky situation.
i had the misfortune to be on the Hill the day of the semi final (all the Leitrim relatives took the stand tickets !!) and nearly got the head knocked off me for stating “that’s class” when he kicked over the winning point.
fact is not one other player on the field that day would have been able to do what he did and to do it in the closing stages of an All Ireland semi final made it even more remarkable.
What are you hoping for in Salthill on Sunday Farmer ?
bit harsh there Raven. I don’t think any player/manager or supporter of any county would wish this on McGuigan - he has been through hell these past couple of years.
No problem with who you think is better but to say McDonald’s better ‘by the proverbial country mile’ defies all logic and evidence. Did you watch the All Ireland Final in 2005? McGuigan was the best player on the pitch - 3 points from play and the hub of the whole Tyrone attack from start to finish. He also has a 2nd AI medal from 2003 and a few U-21 medals. A supremely gifted footballer.
Bandage, you cant judge the merits of a player by how many medals he has. If Declan Browne or Mattie Forde fail to win any inter county medals, does that make them bad players ?
I take your point baby - that’s why I mentioned his key role in the final of 2005. What a performance from him that day. Meanwhile McDonald, although the scores he got against Dublin were superb, had a terrible final last year.
Speaking of muldoons; I was watching the RTE news the other night and they’d sent Eamonn Horan out to do a report from New York on the Sligo game last weekend. What an absolute junket. I think licence fee payers would have been happy enough to read reports from NY based GAA people. Then he interviewed the Sligo 'keeper during the piece. He’s another big mucker called Philip Greene. I know a few lads who used to work with him and they say he’s a terrible idiot.
Veering slightly off topic but maybe Rovers could move to Carrick and play there. Then farmer could have a local Eircom League team to support. He could forget about the EPL and him and raven could live happily ever after.
It’s funny Bandage using the term mucker to describe somebody from the very same circumstances as him - as in Philip Greene lives in an estate outside Sligo town just as you live in an estate outside Wexford town. In fact you are probably more of a mucker as Sligo is a bigger town than Wexford
Philip has said that he often meant to register on here and post so I don’t know if he’ll take kindly to your slurs against him.
Anyway I don’t really care whether he posts or not so I’m going to say that he’s got the worst accent in the world