Re: An Corn Ryder

Well said gents. What an embarrassing charade this absolute crap was. Paul McGinley was interviewed on the 18th and they asked him what was it was like to win the Ryder Cup in Ireland and the first thing he said was ‘I want to thank Dr Smurfit for bringing the competition here.’ For fook sake I nearly got sick in my pint. He’s a so called die hard Celtic supporter. Very funny indeed, could you possibly get any more disremoved from what The Celtic Football Club stands for? A charitable, inclusive and inspirational institution and we get this fooking imbecile thanking Dr Michael Smurfit. What a fooking disgrace. Pack of wankers and fannies the lot of them.

Then your man Casey was asked what the atmosphere was like and he said it was so good on the 1st tee it was almost like a football crowd. Yeah well done dickface a football crowd are there watching a proper sport with real passion. Ryder Cup my gash. The one time there’s a bit of passion it’s ‘almost as good as a football crowd’. Take a bow Europe supporters. Then we get all manner of dickheads from Bertie to the President of the PGA Tour to Sharon Ni Bheolain thanking the country for ‘conducting ourselves well’. Fook off you patronisong cunts. You absolute dickheads praising the Irish people for standing upright and cheering when Sky Tv said they were meant to. You stupid fooking dickheads.

Possibly the most embarrassing part of the day was McGinley being all square with Henry coming up the par 5 last after ‘Europe’ had sealed victory. McGinley got in for a birdie 4 and Henry was about 40 feet away after playing 3. Then McGinley conceded the 40 foot putt in some lame attempt to be some sporting icon. But it wasn’t a natural concession, he told Henry to pick up his ball, then he changed his mind, then he ran over to Vice-Captain Des Smyth and got permission and then he conceded the putt. Fooking pathetic, not sporting. It’s like Celtic after winning the league having sealed the title the week before, then going 1-0 up in the last ‘Old Firm’ game of the season and one of their players running down and banging in an own goal to be try be ‘sporting’. What an absolute disgrace, fooking ridiculous.

Possibly the most cringeworthy and ridiculous piece of shit I’ve ever had the misfortune to watch (while waiting for the football to be shown). At least the benefits to the economy will be seen for the next few years. Yeah, those cunts who charged 400 euro for a room for the night and 35 euro for a burger and chips. Fook off with your stupid fake posturing and your stupid fake event and cream some other thick cunts who’re too stupid to realise the sham they’re involved in. ‘I want to thank Dr Smurfit…’ You stupid sell out cunt, Celtic supporter my hole. Fly your tricolour elsewhere you fooking fakes.

Still laughing at the GAA comparison. :o

http://www.gaa.ie/page/history_of_croke_park.html

That is where i am quoting my figures from.

A couple of points were raised there by various people:

Corporate sponsorship DOES cheapen ALL sporting events, but that is the nature of corporate Ireland and this phenomenon is not exclusive to the Ryder Cup.

The ticket allocation was not equitable - I agree; but again that is not anything to do with the Ryder Cup competition or golf in general.

The reason I honed in on the GAA, bandage, is that it is the sport that you advocate the most. I have some home truths for you: It is the most ill disciplined sport (I would say at least one fight per championship game), this is unprofessional and cannot be condoned in any sport. I might add that the fights seem to break out over the most minor of incidences so i can see no excuse for it - i think it is an absolute disgrace.
The “intense rivalry” at GAA matches is caused by inter-bogger bullshit rivalry and is really unnecessary. If Dublin beat Wexford - does that really make me better than you? No, so shut up about it on Monday mornings. You say that i wouldnt see people shaking hands at a Dublin Meath game - yes, because they are ill tempered and ill disciplined affairs which i would loosly classify as sport. This is not a positive for you sprort. The Ryder Cup was played in a fair and sporting matter at all times.

Also (and i hope no - one ridicules this with the old Irish begrudgury) I thought the Ryder Cup gave us a real golden moment when Darren Clarke won his last hole. I thought it was a genuinely, genuinely hair raising moment (it was one of the best sporting moments i have seen). It certainly was a more emotional/classic sporting moment than i have ever seen on all Ireland final; which i think is bull. This is a man who HAS OVER COME REAL ADVERSITY and made it back to the top of his game - whether or not you like golf or the Ryder Cup - THIS IS A FACT. He didnt hog the limelight afterward either like the GAA lads do. The Ryder Cup was worth it just for that moment. I was so happy for a man like him who dug in and pulled out all the stops on the three days: he was certainly one of, if not the best player on the European team over the three days.

Also a brief point re the corporate sector - most of us on this website are part of the corporate sector!

Like i said, sponsorship or not, this was a huge sporting event for Ireland to host. I thought provided three great days of entertainment (well 2.5 anyway). Pity to see USA loose though. Again i am very disappointed by you bogmonsters - if it were left to you boys, Ireland would still be in the dark ages.

Some cracking points in here lads. Thought I’d add my tuppence worth.

I was one of the major critics of the Ryder Cup at the start on the old forum and little has changed for me. I’m pleased for Darren Clarke and he is a genuine good guy by all accounts, but what we had at the K Club was corporate entertainment not sport.

Mr Ox has repeated his comparisons to the GAA and again they’re a touch unreasonable. All major sport in Ireland has a corporate interest and the ticket distribution is not as equitable as one might expect in a perfect world but the Ryder Cup really took the biscuit on these fronts. The course was essentially not open to the general public over the three days of actual competition, but by God they were happy to sell tickets to the plebs for the practice days.

I’m not going to get into the whole GAA argument here because other people are better equipped to debate those points. I just want to reiterate that what took place in Kildare was more akin to corporate entertainment than anything else. There was little element of competition, everyone was best buddies, it didn’t really matter whether guys won or lost, Harrington was brutal in front of the cameras again. It’s the same old story with this event. Grand entertainment for the gobshites in the Ryder Cup caps and fleeces, I didn’t bother with it.

The All Ireland footall final was barely even corporate entertainment - not sport this year.

The US did not seem interested or willing to compete but the European performance was nothing short of professional and competitve.

I thotoughly agree with Rock and the lads re tickets - but i feel that this is more of a comment on medrn Ireland, not golf or the Ryder cup

Indeed a cracking argument here, lads. Great points on both sides.

Dont know where I’d fit in here, being a Gaa fan and golfer to boot.

I think it was a good idea to have it on at the K-Club as the K-Club was designed to be spectator friendly and all the Irish links courses would not be able to handle to traffic and the duneland would need a lot more than 2 years to recover from the 40k odd punters traipsing around the course. Duneland is fragile so I’m glad its Smurfits garden that is now hopefully looking like a junior Gaa clubs training pitch in mid-February and not a quality Irish links course.

Also nearly all the Irish links courses (bar Portmarnock) wouldn’t have the facilities or accomodation nearby to handle the spectators.

On another note, I am delirious with happiness that I will never ever have to see that fucking retarded AIB ‘This will be Epic - 1 Billion people holding their breath’ ad on TV, it drove me fooking mad when I saw it, bunch of self-righteous banking cunting fuckwits.

In case anyone didn?t realise I was ridiculously drunk writing my last tirade in this thread. I stand by what I said though. Possibly the worst thing of all about The Ryder Cup (there?s been many things that have pissed me off) was that Home and Away was moved to 5.30pm on Friday because of it. I know thousands of loyal supporters missed it at a crucial time in the stalker storyline. A scandalous decision.

Ive lost an awful lot of respect for this forum and the dirty bogger bastards on it. Leave it to the Dubs to run the country. Fook off bog monsters

I had it recorded accidentally so even though I came home at half six and found the golf on I was delighted to be able to rewind and find home and away an hour earlier. Very good episode as well it was.

Met I guy I know on Friday night in Kehoes, back up from the golf, where he’d been all week and would be again for the weekend, as a director of his father’s property company. Couldn’t shut him up talking about how much of a laugh it was in the corporate hospitality tent. He never mentioned the golf though. As for Ox’s point that the tickets situation says more about modern Ireland than about the tournament, I guess I’d just feel that a fool like that - and all his mates - shouldn’t be allowed monopolise the tickets.

Glad Europe won, as it seemed to mean so much more to them, but glad there’ll be something else on the radio now.

I wasn?t aware you previously had respect for it. Good to know you did.

?The Ryder Cup was all about the people of Ireland. It was not about making money for a few fat cats. And yes, Woods and Mickelson are absolutely distraught but they will be fighting like hell to win it back in 2008. This will be more important than the majors for them. And no, prices were not exorbitant. It was a real family day out.?

http://www.championship_606.ursatech.com/images/comical_ali.jpg

Your anti GAA rants are a bit petty at this stage Ball Ox, inaccurate and to be fair a bit petty. Your accusations of indiscipline and shambolic preparations of modern players are inaccurate and appear to be ill informed and based on anecdotal evidence.

You clearly know fook all about GAA, which is your right but please don’t preach on the back of this liimited knowledge.

The word emotion was used to death over the last week but I just can’t get it. The current format ie Europe v USA was introduced when GB & I were repeatedly hammered by the Yanks, so whats gonna happen now? Join America up with maybe Asia or Africa to restore parity? A fooking farce.

Fair play to Clarke, I think everyone would agree. But forgive me for making an example of a GAA icon who similarly over came adversity to achieve greatness. Peter Canavan’s captaining of Tyrone in 03, was a far greater achievement. His dad had just died and he was wrecked with injury yet he led his team to glory. And he didn’t have the (alleged) opposition players clapping and cheering him. Now that for me was emotional. And representative of what makes the GAA unique. Canavan standing on the Hogan with Sam in his hands in front of his people, his family, neighbours and friends and 30 odd thousand Tyrone supporters. And he didn’t hog the limelight either. Despite having every right to do so.

How anyone could compare that event with the Ryder cup is beyond me, and thats just Tyrone in 03.

BTw, the pakis haven’t got me yet…

GAA matches are ill - discplined. I say this because at least one fight has broken out in each championship game. Surely no one is in a position to disagree with this. FACT!

Peter Canavan is a dirty, protestant, Northie fooking coont who I hate. And he did fookin hog the limelight; shoiting on about if his father were here “He’d be the proudest man in Ireland.” Well if that is the case he would be a pretty sad bastard being the proudest man because his son won an amatuer footie competition. In fact he is better off dead if that would make him the proudest man in Ireland.

I cant defend the US not performing at the Ryder. We just never seemed interested. But i would argue neither the Mayo.

In summary GAA is gay for bogger bastards. Ryder Cup and Rugby is for studs and D4 heads - like me.

PS Note for the administrators: I am seriously considering my continued participation on the website due to the recent horseshite that has been posted. It seems that I want to go in one direction (supporting golf and hurling ethnic slur) and the administrators want to go the other way (knocking the golf and keeping the site “PC”).

I have had many offers from Football 365 to join then.

I will contemplte the above during my upcoming hiatus to America. I will revert with my decision.

PPS any contributions to the poetry thread would go a long way to making your position more tenable.

I’m not knocking golf. Golf is a great fookin game and I play as often as I can. I’m knocking the Ryder Cup because its a farce. Don’t recall anyone knocking rugby either - another cracking sport, this whole GAA v Ryder Cup debate seems to have come about because of your distaste for Bandage’s apparent gra for his native games. Get over it!

i have just had another post censored. i am being harrassed and oppressed and i have come to the sorry conclusion that i can no longer express myself here. if i dont get a valid reason i am really off to f365

Don’t let the door hit you on the way out.

fook you.

PS feel free to come and join me on my new webstie www.thefreespeach.com

where you can say and do as you please.
just give me your credit card details, and find the forum with ease

You will not have arrogant administrators who want to sensor ya
So come and join me in e-utopia

So have a nice life you bog monsters
Keep on moaning about the Ryder Cup sponsors

I just cant take anymore shite,
This is ball ox signing off. Good night

Hey girls,

Im back in the game. I could never leave you boggers.

Im back as a standing, straight laced citizen who is politically correct and ready to be censored continually by the council of elders (the “administrators”).

Anyone up for a spot of croquet?

Welcome back Ball Ox. This place missed you.

Is www.thefreespeach.com as good as www.thefreespeech.com ball ox?