Re: GAA County Championships

There was an excellent final, especially the 2nd half, in Wexford yesterday. It finished Oulart-The Ballagh 1-13 Rathnure 0-16. O/B played with a stiff breeze in the first half and were leading 9-5 coming up to half time without ever really extending themselves. The quality of hurling was decent without ever really firing early doors. Rathnure got a couple of points late on to leave themselves trailing by 2 at ht and it was a lively end to the 1st half.

Rathnure then came out all guns blazing in the second half and got some smashing scores from play. Paul Codd, in midfield, got 3 outrageous points, each from 70 yards, in a five minute spell midway through the half. Robbie Codd got a cracker after ploughing through Keith Rossitter and the half back line, led by Mick OLeary at centre back were lording it. They were 16-11 up with about 7-8 minutes to go.

O/B had been struggling to get out of their own half but then Liam Dunne hurled up a veritable storm for the remainder of the game. He set Mick Jacob free just inside the Rathnure half and as he was bearing down on goal he was dragged to the ground. He picked himself up to lash the 21 yard free at goal, it wasnt an absolute piledriver and Rathure will be disappointed they didnt keep it out. Jacob then pointed a free and Rory Jacob got a smashing point from play to equalize just on full time.

It was tough stuff. Martin Storey was given the black book twice after being booked, he should have went and others might have followed him. Rathnure will be disgusted they didnt win but as Appendage said to me they, along with O/B are the giants of Wexford hurling so its not a Kerry-Mayo type scenario. It wont be like theyll feel theyve blown it, the likes of Rathnure will just expect to win the next day anyway.

Its funny they could be county champions and yet have nobody on the county team and it wouldnt through lack of talent obviously. Itd moreso be apathy. You have Anthony OConnell, corner back whod definitely be on the Wexford team if he committed. John OConnor, wing back and Wexford Leinster winning captain in 2004 is only 23 and yet he wasnt bothered playing this year. Then you have Paul Codd. Nobody questions his ability (see his 4 cracking points from play yesterday) but his attitude is shocking at times. Then you have his cousin Robbie whod make the forwards but cant be arsed along with Nigel Higgins who was on the panel a 2 years ago but dropped out. Its mad really.

I note Bandage that you mention the names of many hurlers in your piece on yesterday’s final. I also note that I recognise each and everyone, have played against them all, marked half of them and seen the majority hurl for Wexford.

My question then is obvious, where’s the new blood! Was there not one youngster worthy of mention on yesterday’s performance? As Michael Duignan put it before the All Ireland this year,‘What I’m looking forward to most Ger is seeing who the unsung hero is going to be’. Young Fogarty obliged that day but please tell me there was one unknown worthy of mention in Wexford Park yesterday?!

Anything to get yer man David O’Connor out of the team I suppose.

I was thinking about new talent too. The O/B wing back Laurence Prendergast should definitely get a few league games, he’s only early 20s and was excellent yesterday. Nobody else new really stood out. The O/B full back, Morton, was fairly good but strikes me more as a good club hurler to be honest. O/B already have Stamp, Rossiter, 2 Jacobs, Mythen and Doyle on the county team so you’re really looking at the Rathnure lads I mentioned above to come in. Sean O’Neill, their corner forward would be another option but again, he probably won’t be arsed either. The lack of new talent is certainly a concern although my heart was warmed by our All Ireland winning U-14 team parading the cup before the game. Get in there Wexford.

Some gas-h comments there.

Cojak(If that is your real name?) surely the inter county fellas should stand out a bit? And therefore catch the eye of the ever astute Bandage? The fellas that Bandage mentioned have buckets of ability but lots of them lack the commitment, but will still show up well at club level.

Rocko you might be on to something there…heard he’s getting transferred to Brazil.

Eh Bandage, Robbie Codd is Paul’s brother, not his cousin. I know they have different addresses in the match programme but these things happen, people move on.

As for new blood, Lar Pender has the best potential to make it next year in my opinion - because as we know only too well in Wexford, there’s a lot more to it than what Joe Public sees someone doing on the actual field of play.

One’s ‘mental fortitude’ comes into play as well…as there are more self-serving head cases hurling at club level in Wexford than anywhere else from what I can see. In an ideal world all of the names mentioned in other posts would be playing with the county, but how many of them have the desire and drive to do so? Not enough.

Probably just as well that half of them couldn’t be arsed, because it means Doc is guaranteed his place again next year. Who the fook are Monageer anyway?

Welcome benjy, you strike me as the lurker type. I’d say you’ve been sniffing around the message board for a while but you’ve finally grown the balls to post?

By the way, it is possible to conceal your email address so as you can remain anomymous.

I reckon Limerick would push Wexford hard in the head cases category. Alot of very similar punters there, comparing the u21 teams from the 01 final and their subsuquent career paths is interesting. Enough alcos and psychos for a tarantino flick. And then throw in some of the mangagers and selectors…

Thanks for that useful nugget of info appendage, I reckoned most people would suss me out anyway - only 65 members? You’d get more at a Fastnet Rovers B game on a Sunday morning.

Here’s what I think from last Sunday’s teams, for what it’s worth (fook all obviously, but I’m bored, indulge me):

Dermot Flynn is the second-best keeper in Wexford, add him to the panel.

Anto (the Rathnure one) has the ability, but is that enough to be on a county panel in his case.

There’s no point bemoaning the absence of John O’ this year - he was absolutely no loss.

Mick O’Leary is a gent off the field and a prince of club defenders on it - but that’s just it, great club defenders don’t always make even average county ones. Funny that, don’t you think.

Robbie Codd’s brother is gifted, flawed but gifted. It was worth paying the admission fee to watch him (ooops, just remembered, it didn’t cost me a cent, still, you get my drift).

Fair fooks to Martin Byrne, he’s a great old warrior.

Robbie Codd is to attacking what Mick O’Leary is to defending - a top-notch clubman, no more.

Higgins always strikes me as being very niggly, the type of guy that other panel members wouldn’t like. Why can’t he just go and hurl, because he’s well able.

Sean O’Neill isn’t bad, but he’s one of 43 forwards in that ‘small and fast’ mould that we have.

Oulart need a big one from Rossi on Saturday, I hardly noticed him the last day.

Dennis Morton wins my award for ‘best newcomer’ - he’s not county material though, although I reckon he might get a call.

Paul Roche should be on the panel. Full stop.

Hope Meyler gets Stamp on side, we need the hardy hoor in a bad way.

Lar Pender would be a far better option for the number 7 jersey than this year’s incumbent (cue general shock and amazement from the Wexford sporting public).

David Redmond will have a great future, his wristwork is beautiful (gay and all as that may sound; it’s a family trait too, I am familiar with the play of one of his siblings; when said sibling is on form, it’s a joy to watch).

Say what you like about the Jacobs, they came up with the goods in a big way on Sunday. Fair dues to them.

Dessie’s little hissy fit to the line when he was taken off was pathetic - fair play to Willie Sunderland for calling it as he saw it, no room for reputations in Oulart by the look of things.

Who’ll win Saturday? I had a leaning for Rathnure before the draw, they’ll hardly let Oulart reel them in for a third time this year, will they. It’s pissing rain, Mick’s pitch will be slippery, so my prediction is:

Rathnure 2-11, Oulart 0-12.

I leave you alone, give you time to give Paddy Power your wages to put on Oulart.

SUNDAY - Everyone is tipping Castletown, a sure sign that Horeswood will win. Hope Kilmore win the first one, but they might struggle.

Missed the co. final myself due to social committments. What I find most worrying is that Martin Storey was able to put in a man of the match display at the Quarter Final stage (as far as I remember I’ve seen very little of this years championship), this is a man who 42 years old, no disrespect to Storey but that is a f**king disgrace, no way should a 42year old be able to dominate a Senior Championship game. Where the fuck are the younger players? Looked at the preview in the Guardian last week and it just hit me then that the likes of the Jacobs and Des Mythen need to start doing something at interco level - the Jacobs are 23 and 26, that’s the peak of a GAA players career, these days players are over the hill by 29 bar a few exceptions. It’s about time these players started to grab the opportunities available to them, we’re much like the Ireland soccer team I think, a group of players who just don’t give a shit.

Strongly disagree there BT, there is an element within the current(former) Wexford squad who don’t treat the honour of the jersey with the respect it deserves. However the majority of the players put in a massive effort and do their best. I’ve said here before that the last 2 years Wexico have put out the worst prepared team in the tournament. Fail to prepare and prepare as a wise man once said.

Currently, Wexford are ranked 8th or 9th in the pecking order - which is quite fair on 05 and 06. Many of the same players were on teams that played in semi finals in 01, 03 and 04 - teams that put in a decent effort and performed probably to the peak of their powers on a consistent(ish) basis, not forgetting the trimmings endured but by and large a competitive outfit.

So as with Stan and Martin O’Neill a good manger can the get the max from a team but a bad, disorganised manager with the best of intentions will get fook all.

And no one is over the hill at 29. That’s a ridiculous comment.

And to be fair about the great Storey, he got a roasting last Sunday. But cast your eye towards Cork and Limerick for a second you will see that Steve McDonagh(winning a medal at 20th attempt) and Ciaran Carey were the opposing CENTRE backs in last Sundays final, and Cloyne will play a 39 year old at full back in next Sundays Cork final.

Storey is exceptionally lean and fit for his age, and a true great of the modern era. Had he been with Kilkenny or Cork he’d probably have 6 all stars instead of the 3 he holds. Ditto re Dunne. Both legends, both fit and with exceptional ability to read a game theres no reason why legs permitting they shouldn’t hold their own.

Almost agree with Benjy re the replay which is worrying for me, Rathnure will win it this time. Horeswood for the footie, purely on the fact that Aidan O’Brien is a genius. Reckon he’d be better than Stan infact.

Myself and Bandage were discussing the farce that is the Dublin SFC at the weekend. Good article by Tom Humphries in the Irish Times today on the problems it is causing:

Dublin farce highlights general malaise
Tom Humphries

Locker Room: 'Tis autumn and the season when pieties about the fate of the GAA club player float down upon us like leaves from the trees. You know the sort of thing: and now a word for our faithful club players, it must be awful for you. Sorry.

Actually, it is awful. The tail which comprises the four per cent of players who play senior intercounty wags the big dog composed of the 96 per cent of players who don’t. Nobody cares.

Pieties is perhaps too dramatic a word. It was good, for instance, to hear Dessie Farrell note recently that, “the club player is being held to ransom”. Dessie, as the Gaelic Players’ Association (GPA) chief, is also the players’ representative on Central Council. He is also enduring the first year in a long, long time as a purely club-level player. I imagine he is shocked.

Not to be parochial about it (Well, okay, to be parochial, this column, it must be disclosed, is St Vincent’s lowliest member; Dessie is a shining light up the road in Na Fianna. The clubs are due to meet in an oft-delayed county semi-final), but the Dublin county championship annually holds up the most ludicrous and most heart-rending cases of players being held to ransom. It is a showcase of all that is wrong with the plight of the club player.

Of course, much of what is wrong with the club players in Dublin is caused by the clubs themselves. There is a strong feeling in the county that all the barrack-room lawyers should just get together in February and decide upon an acceptable winner of each championship, thus saving everyone the inconvenience of actual football and hurling or, as is more often the case, the promise of actual football and hurling.

Last year, for instance, the St Vincent’s senior hurlers went 87 days without a championship game in the middle of the championship. This year, on the football front, Kilmacud Crokes declined to play their semi-final against UCD last Thursday night (not saying their reasons weren’t valid, but they pushed harder than anyone else) and consequently the county board threw them out of the championship.

UCD, in the tradition, we assume, of preferring to win anything on the field of play than in the committee room, offered Crokes an alternative date on Thursday of next week. The county board shrugged their shoulders and went along. Clubs may apparently make private arrangements for when they play games. This could, in fact, be the way forward.

Na Fianna, meanwhile, enjoyed the services of Mayo’s Gary Mullins in their quarter-final win over St Oliver Plunkett’s. Mullins’ remarkable footballing record is that he appears to have hop-scotched from Mayo to North America to Dublin in the space of a few months. On the way he picked up a 12-week suspension in Chicago in September. Nevertheless, he played against Plunkett’s.

Apparently this is all okay. (St Vincent’s have a young player who wishes to transfer from Clontarf after an internal row there last summer. This young player is sitting out an entire year of his career because Clontarf ain’t happy. This is kosher too.)

All this and the interminable postponements and the now accepted imposition of asking club players to play midweek under lights regardless of work commitments are part and parcel of the Dublin championship. The final is supposed to have been done and dusted by now. Instead, as a result of a remarkable intervention from Croke Park last week, nobody knows when the final will be played.

Let’s just set the scene. Crokes and UCD had settled their affairs and fixed a date. Everyone happy. St Vincent’s and Na Fianna were due to play in Parnell Park on Thursday evening last. It was whispered around the place that Na Fianna weren’t happy. In the end, the point became redundant. It rained all day Thursday. Semi-final off till Friday, the 27th, said the county board, looking out on their waterlogged Parnell Park.

Now, you are a club player. At the start of the season the county board issued a schedule with the county final fixed, as it happens, for the weekend just past. You are a serious footballer and an optimist, so you speak with your club manager and arrange your work holidays for the week after the county final. You book your time off work, your partner in life - or at least in holidaying - does the same. If you have kids these holidays are in term, but that’s another story.

Autumn arrives and you are, as Dessie Farrell says, held to ransom. Not just by the elite of your county squad or by clubs with more sharp lawyers than players, but by Croke Park itself.

No sooner had the Dublin County Board announced the delayed semi-final would now be played next Friday than the special black phone with a hotline to Croke Park rang out in the county board offices. Absolutely not! thundered Croker.

Kieran McGeeney will be playing International Rules next weekend. He plays for Na Fianna. Ergo, Na Fianna can’t play championship on Friday night. No way. Na Fianna, you must remember, have already agreed to the Friday night arrangement.

So, now the fate of about 50 players who have been waiting a long, long time to play their county semi-final is being disrupted to facilitate one player’s participation in something that is neither Gaelic football nor hurling but is, apparently, As Hard As It Gets. Here’s hoping (wink, wink) for a clean series, eh!

This all means St Vincent’s and Na Fianna have now had their game put back to the bank holiday Monday, that all the hasty and costly arrangements to fly back from holidays for the Friday must now be changed again and that the club championship in Dublin is devalued even further.

Should Na Fianna win on that bank holiday Monday, one presumes Croke Park won’t be letting the Dublin club football final proceed the following weekend either as McGeeney will be involved in the second episode of the International Rules (provided a “hard as it gets Aussie” doesn’t remove his head).

This once again imperils Dublin’s participation in the Leinster club championship. The Dublin champions were due to meet on November 4th/5th whoever wins between the champions of Louth and the champions of Meath. That has already been put back a week.

Will the county final be played midweek under lights with the new champions expected to play a Leinster championship match at the weekend? Probably.

Which means virtually all the serious games in the championship have been played under lights on workday evenings, screwing the players and screwing the real clubs who obviously would like to take their juvenile sections along to see the seniors playing. Clubs can’t organise such trips for night games in Croke Park during school term.

In the end, the chances are UCD will win out. Playing in the evening, playing in midweek, suits the college. Not having a juvenile section to nurture, UCD are unperturbed by the absence of same at games. The students have been sharpening themselves in their domestic championships during the summer, and the further into term the Dublin championship strays the better drilled the college team get.

UCD enjoy another great benefit which clubs teams miss out on: their county players can commit themselves to the elite for the summer without remorse. Any club side with a couple of county players knows the difficulties. County players, the club’s best players, are gone for months on end. Your sappers do duty playing in the leagues and the tournaments, doing the training. You encourage them, naturally with the lure of the championship.

And then, hurrah, your county men are paroled for a week and you have a choice: leave them out (and humiliate them as they would see it), or play them and then turn your own sorrowful puss back to the young sappers the following week.

Croke Park recently announced two new windows of opportunity for club matches to be played during any given season. Even the delegates present at the time couldn’t pretend that this time wouldn’t be eaten up by insecure county managers greedy for more time with their players.

It’s time to turn back the clock and give the balance of power back to the clubs. Take county players away from their clubs for maybe 14 days before an intercounty championship match and five days before a league game. A little longer for All-Ireland finals and semi-finals.

For the rest of the year, give the GAA back to the people who make up the GAA.

Interesting situation developing in Connacht with John O’Mahony. Apart from managing the Connacht side in the interprovincials he is also managing St Brigid’s in Roscommon and Ballaghadreen in Mayo. St Brigid’s won their county final and Ballaghadreen are in the final against Crossmolina - if they win then O’Mahony’s two teams will meet in the Connacht championship.

He was at the Mayo semi-final last week and left after the game by helicopter to Hyde Park for the Roscommon final.

On top of all that he is looking for the Fine Gael nomination for the next general election, and maybe the Mayo seniors job.

Seems like there was some cracking finals played over the weekend.

Loughrea came from nowhere in the last quarter to pip Portumna by a point. tommymoore might consider changing his user name now Portumna wont be defending their All Ireland title. Apparently it was a physical game - I see pictures in the paper today of a bloody young Joe Canning nearly in tears after getting a shot and being dragged to his feet by his brother Ollie.

Delighted Erins Own won in Cork too if only to stop Cloyne from getting the title. All this muck about Cusack revolutionising goalkeeping when it was Fitzhenry who pioneered the shot puck out against KK in 2004. Also, they have that fake The Rock whereas Erins Own have Brian Corcoran whos a legend.

The Tipp final was meant to be a cracker Toomevara have some record now. Ashamed to say I watched the Munster game instead of this. One of my Eire Og Nenagh colleagues is gutted here today.

Rathnure easily despatched Oulart-The Ballagh 1-12 to 0-06 in the Wexford replay. A shocking game apparently but fair play to Rathnure their backs totally dominated the O/B attack who have 3 or 4 of the county team forwards. The football final was a dour draw at home yesterday too Castletown to win the replay.

Timing of the election could be decisive for O’Mahony if he takes on the Mayo job; will all depend on whether or not he has won the previous Sunday.
(As long as the election isn’t the fourth week in September he’ll probably be ok)

Don’t know how you term that a cracking game Bandage. While - like Limerick shootings - I won’t care too much as long as they only kill each other, they talked about abandoning the Compromise Rules for far less violence than was apparently shown by primarily Loughrea in this 70 minute assault-case. Along the lines of rugby being “A game for thugs, played by gentlemen” and soccer “A game for gentlemen, played by thugs”, I had heard hurling described as “A game for thugs, played by thugs. With sticks.” and this would confirm it to me. Surely brings your beloved game into disrepute Bandage; disappointing to see you slip into the sports journalists’ euphemism of “physical”, just like the GAA commentators on RTE justifying every 10-man brawl as “a bit of handbags there”. Then again, I suppose it’s nothing that Mattie Forde wouldn’t do.

He’ll certainly not be resting too many stars in the league in anticipation of the Championship if the election is early June.

I was in Pearse Stadium on Sunday and the first half was one of the worst halves of hurling Ive ever seen. Loughrea arrived with a game plan, be physical and dont give Portumna any room. At various stages they took that to another level most notably the incident which appeared on the back of the Indo for the last 2 days. I was standing very close to where it happened and heres my version of it:

After about 10 mins Joe Canning received the ball between the 21 and 45 about 5 metres from the touchline, he was met with an illegal shoulder by the Loughrea full back and fell to the ground. Another Loughrea player (Rock am I allowed to name him?) then ran in and stamped on Cannings head. He quite accurately managed to get his boot in between the bars on the guard of Cannings helmet. Canning received 8 stitches to the wound after the game and played the remainder of the game with blurred vision. Ive seen some dirty play in my time but this was without doubt the dirtiest piece of play Ive every witnessed in the flesh. I was a deliberate attempt by the Loughrea player to take out one of the best young players in the country. Canning played on but was only a shadow of himself after. To make matters worse the incident went unpunished, how it was not spotted by the ref, lineman or umpires defies belief.
This oversight comes from a ref who played 3 minutes of overtime in the first half when there could have been up to 10. He played 7 in a free - flowing second half after 4 had been signalled, incidentally Loughrea got the winner after 6 and a half mins of injury time.

Portumna manager Sean Treacy was on Galway Bay FM yesterday morning referring to the buchering Canning received from the Loughrea players. Theres massive controversy at home, Loughrea people are accusing Portumna of sour grapes however I dont think anybody can blame Treacy of airing his views on that particular incident.

As a Portumna man it was massively disappointing to see a team who were 8 points up at half time and 6 points up with 11 mins to go quite literally blow it. I honestly thought there was another All Ireland in that team and whether they can bounce back from this major upset remains to be seen. Fair play to Loughrea for showing the character to come back but the Joe Canning incident leaves a very sour taste in the mouth.

Good post tommy. Name him away - if you saw it, you saw it: you’re not going on hearsay.

Out of curiosity did the referee and officials not see it because Canning had played the ball away already or did they not see it with the sliotar still with Canning? (i.e. any ideas why they didn’t see something like that?)

the Loughrea player in question was corner back Tom Regan. He wasn’t named on Galway Bay FM so wasn’t sure if there were legal consequences of naming him or whatever.
As far as I can remember Canning managed to handpass the ball to someone beside him so the play was still in the area where the stamp happened. I know the ref was a few metres away and may have been unsigted but I cant understand how the linesman missed it. We were standing a few yards over from the incident and the lineman was between us and the where Canning was on the ground.

Well don’t tell Tom Regan where you named him and he’ll never know!