Re: Ireland v Cyprus and Czech Republic

Fooking joke this talk of building for 2010, cop out on Staunton’s behalf. He knows if we don’t beat the Czechs we’re fooked and he’ll be under immense pressure. It’s becoming clearer and clearer that Stan is making it up as he goes along. Andy Reid was fit for the German game and left out, he’s now injured and he’s in the squad!! Stephen Elliot is in the squad even though he’s gonna be out for the best part of a month. The way things are going at the moment I’m on with a shout of a call up myself.

Anyone get that free dvd of The Charlton Years that was in one of the tabloids over the weekend? Magic stuff, anyone who was 18+ in 86 when the good times started rolling must have had a savage time following the team around, three out of four major tournaments from 88-94, jammy b@stards. What do we get - one and it’s the other side of the fooking world.

One, and our best player fooks off home to his dog before the bloody thing even starts.

Stan is obvoiusly making it up as he goes along - he has no experience and no natural managerial acumen from what I can see. Having said that I really do think we should build towards 2010. Currently we are shite. This campaign should be used to bring players through, give them that bit of experience and see if they’re up to it at international level. McGeady should play as much as possible. McShane and McCarthy should be tried out at centre-half and Garvan and Whelan in central midfield. If O’Shea has to play, let it be at left back, an international central midfielder he is not and while playing him there is probably better in the short term than playing the likes of Garvan/Whelan, my opinion is that we should be looking longer term. On paper we’d have a reasonable team for 2010 if we can solve for x and y:

Given
Finnan, Dunne, x, O’Shea
McGeady, S.Reid, y, Duff
Keane, Doyle

If he wants to be judged on 2010 then Stan should fuck off for 2 years while someone else tries to qualify us for the European Championships. With 2 automatic berths it represents a great chance of qualification and there would be no better preparation for 2010 than a decent qualifying run.

It is now imperative that McGeady starts for Ireland. He was first class again on Tuesday night and sent their full back for pie and chips time and again. Himself, Duff, Keane and Doyle is a really exciting front 4. But that’s the creativity that we absolutely require given our current central pairing. It looks like Reid and Carsley for the next 2 games now that Kavanagh is out. Nothing against Kilbane but if he starts at the expense of our most gifted player I will be raging. 5 years now I’ve been raving about Aideninho and he’s delivering big time this season.

Steven Reid out of the 2 games now as well. With Kavanagh also missing we’ll have a weak central midfield.

Thought it odd Staunton didn’t call up Carsley who apparently’s having a good season. Admittedly I haven’t seen him play lately though I’m concerned at Staunton announcing a squad including a handful of obviously injured players, his strange inclusions of the likes of Sean St Ledger and Alan O’Brien, his constant references to building for 2010 and his sulky demeanour. For fook sake let’s get a bit of positivity going and get Duff and McGeady attacking these Cypriot and Czech fooks down the flanks. Well capable of beating both of these sides so we are.

I was sure the whole thing was orchestrated because he was definitely getting a call up so was well surprised when he was left out. With Quinn maybe out of the picture Staunton surely has to pick him now.

Carr?s out too so for me it looks like:

Kenny
Finnan, Dunne, O?Brien, O?Shea
McGeady, Miller?, Kilbane, Duff
Keane, Doyle

Thoughts?

Tabb is a Londoner who played midfield for Brentford. Think Coventry picked him up either in the summer or January!

What in God’s name is Stan doing - taking the piss with the randomers he is calling up. At least someone like Stokes (who looked good at the weekend) or even Van Zanten or someone who is playing regularly and has experience might be worthwhile calling up. Carsley too obviously. Jay Tabb and Kevin Foley is crazy. Is Jay Tabb really better than the best players in the Eircom League?

Doyle looks very doubtful too.

His replacement call up do seem particularly baffling. Even when he called up the likes of St Ledger before the Germany game he left out the likes of Paddy McCarthy who’s been around longer and played at a higher level for longer. He’s also ignored some other players in the EPL, admittedly not great ones, like Derek Geary at Sheffield United, and even lads like McPhail to call up Alan O’Brien in the squad and then Jay Tabb now. Agreed on Stokes, he definitely has a lot of potential.

Also, what the fook is going on with our medical staff? Doyler has an ankle injury so it seems he’s been told to go and stand in the Irish Sea for a while.

Also baffled by Stan. Read some quotes from him on teletext earlier and it was just mindless drivel loaded with cliches as if he was just trying to pass the time with the media. An absolute bluffer.

Agreed on Stokes - watched the Celtic game at the weekend and he played very well up front on his own. Looks quite strong and not short on skill either. A bit cocky maybe. After McGeady scored Falkirk got a freekick.com just outside the box and Stokes ran after the ball and was like “I’m taking it, I’m taking it”. He fluffed it. McGeady was Celtic’s best player and has to start against Cyprus. (Probably belongs in a different thread but Caldwell looked absolutely crap, I’d have Balde straight back in). Anybody have a spare ticket for the Czech game?

Eircom League players are unlikely to get in unfortunately, despite cracking performances in Europe this season. Haven’t heard if George O’Callaghan has got a contract at Ipswich but if he does start playing there regularly I’d imagine he’ll get a call-up. We need a bit of creativity in central midfield. With our small strikers, our two most creative players being the wide men is not ideal.

Stan is really really pissing me off with his selections and comments to the media.

I noticed that with Stokes and thefreekick.com alright - he was shoving people out of the way to take it. Brutal free but it showed confidence.

Can’t see McGeady not starting with the lack of depth in the squad. He’s well deserving of a place at this stage, injuries or not.

Won’t comment on Caldwell too much on this thread but didn’t notice him being crap at the weekend and in fairness most joy for Falkirk seemed to come in the channel between McManus and Naylor in the first half anyway. I wouldn’t bring Bobo straight back because of the clean sheets we are keeping.

Not sure which EL players deserve a call up (if any) but it makes a mockery of the selection of lads for friendly games when uncapped lower league English-based lads are automatically higher in the pecking order.

Interesting perspective on the problems of creativity out wide but neither McGeady or Duff are the type of wingers who put in countless crosses. Both tend to cut in and in Duff’s case he tries a low cross to vary it about 80% of the time.

I don’t think it’s necessarily a bad thing either that our wide men are small. Both like to drift infield and play one touch give and gos etc as well as doing their stuff out wide. The ideal scenario would be for Stephen Ireland to come through because he definitely has the passing ability, I fear he’s on the road to being another Stephen McPhail though.

Staunton’s being a surly idiot which is very unfortunate. I know it’s a bit cliched but we really need to get the feel good factor back in Irish football. We need to get a great atmosphere at home and have the whole country behind us and instead we get this thick, ignorant fooker who’s already developed a chip on his shoulder with the media and is acting the dick.

I don’t know what’s going on with Doyler by virtue of Stan’s comments. His hints about calling Carsley back in and then not following through on it were bizarre as are some of his original selections and call ups.

Re Caldwell, I was annoyed at him getting caught in possession on the edge of the box at the start of the second half which could have led to a goal. Also, Stokes got in on the inside left channel in the second half and Caldwell was at least 15 yards infield out of possession. He’s done better than alright overall though so it’s a tough decision.

Staunton looks set to start McGeady
Emmet Malone in Nicosia

Euro 2008 Qualifying: Cyprus v Republic of Ireland: With the Republic of Ireland seeking their first goal since the 3-0 defeat of Sweden in March, Steve Staunton looks set to liven up his attack for tomorrow’s European Championship qualifier against Cyprus by handing Celtic midfielder Aiden McGeady his first competitive start for his country.

The 20-year-old has hit a strong run of form at Celtic and has excelled in training over the past few days. He looks set to benefit from the absence of Andy Reid, Steven Reid and Steve Carr, all of whom would have offered the option of selecting more experienced figures on the right side of midfield.

“I think he’s improved a hell of a lot,” said Staunton at the end of his team’s first outing in the early afternoon Cypriot sun. "I saw him in the under-21s and you don’t know if people are going to go on to the next level.

“But he’s playing with Celtic and in the Champions League, and he’s taken it on board,” enthused the manager. “There’s no fear in the boy and you can see he oozes confidence at the moment. He’s flying.”

McGeady has six caps to his credit but has started just one game at this level, the 4-0 defeat by the Netherlands in August. Yesterday, though, he looked both comfortable and confident as he continued his preparations for tomorrow’s game.

With John O’Shea having filled in at left back through much of yesterday’s practice game, Kevin Kilbane looks likely to be partnered by Liam Miller, Jonathan Douglas or Stephen Ireland in central midfield.

Ireland, said Staunton, had looked “sharp” in training while Miller had been obliged to sit out the tail end of the session because of a minor foot injury but all three remain in strong contention to start at the GSP Stadium in Nicosia.

Kevin Doyle remained an onlooker throughout yesterday’s squad work-out, though, and Staunton confirmed he would not be training this morning either.

“We will give him every opportunity to get fit for Saturday. If not, he has got every chance of being ready for Wednesday. The other side of the coin is that if he does play on Saturday there is every chance he won’t make it on Wednesday.”

In the circumstances, it seems, Staunton is likely to play safe by holding the striker in reserve for what should be the greater challenge of next week’s game against the Czechs.

Everton midfielder Lee Carsley, meanwhile, has denied that any sort of behind-the-scenes clash with Staunton is the reason for his continued exclusion from the squad.

The 32-year-old has made several public statements and, apparently, had at least one private phone conversation with the Louthman as he seeks to make an international return after two years away. Despite the spate of injuries suffered by established squad members, however, the midfielder’s campaign to win a recall has been ignored, prompting speculation that the pair might have had a clash.

But Carsley insists relations remain good and that despite the disappointment of his omission this week, he is ready to travel if and when he is needed.

"We were team-mates (in the international team) and shared some good times together, so for people to suggest otherwise is just plain wrong.

“Of course I want to play for Ireland again. I did say that I didn’t want to be considered a while ago and then I had my injury. I never actually retired - the reasons for that are complicated and have been documented. But it means a lot to me to play - otherwise why would I say that I want to be involved at this stage in my career? I’ve not given up hope. At the moment, I’m playing for Everton, the team’s doing well and I’ll keep plugging away.”

The midfielder has drawn support this week from others within the squad, with Stephen Ireland admitting Carsley had marked him out of last week’s Premiership game between Everton and Manchester City and suggesting he should have been included, while Kilbane observed, “I think we probably need him. He is very professional on the pitch, someone who is not afraid to stamp his authority on games. He knows his job and I would say he sacrifices himself for the team. I think he is the real reason why, while I was at Everton, we qualified for the Champions League two years ago.”

Carsley’s absence from the scene was originally prompted in part by annoyance that his efforts in the home game against Russia during the last campaign were ridiculed at a time when he had agreed to play despite being unfit because manager Brian Kerr was shorthanded.

The greater difficulty, however, was the fact that his second son, Connor, was born with Down’s Syndrome and he wished to spend more time with his family who, despite him having been at Everton for the past four and a half years, are still based in the English midlands.

More settled these days at club level, however, where he is playing well in a team that is performing solidly, Carsley has repeatedly indicated he is keen to be involved at international level again although Staunton revealed during the build-up to the Germany game that the player had said he only wished to be included in squads if he had a good chance of playing.

It remains a possibility he will be asked to join up with the squad at the weekend ahead of the Czech game but so far, at least, Staunton has seemed content to do without him as, presumably, he does not see him actually featuring in the team at any point.

“If the call does come, whether that’s next week or next month, I’ll be ready for it,” Carsley says nevertheless.

“But it’s the manager’s prerogative to pick his team and I’m going to have to accept it although of course, I’m disappointed that I’m not involved this time out.”

Also read last night that apparently the FAI sent Andy Reid’s call up to the squad to Spurs, not Charlton and Spurs passed it on. Probably old news but fucking jokers.

Bit surprised that Stevie Ireland is in contention. Had written him off to the P&L when the usually-biased-when-it-comes-to-Citeh Bandage had expressed doubt about him. Admittedly haven’t seen much of him but afaik he’s not an automatic selection at club level, and a struggling club at that.

Was impressed with Douglas in the Dutch friendly but haven’t seen any more of him than that. Pretty sure he won’t start.

Would imagine Miller will get the nod ahead of the aforementioned as long as his injury is alright. Not a midfield that would strike fear into the opposition’s heart is it - Miller and Kilbane that is? Slightly worried about today’s game I must say. A good start is imperative I would think, not sure they have enough maturity to be patient if still 0-0 after an hour. Stan is quoted as saying a draw wouldn’t be a disaster - what the fook? This is Cyprus ffs.

Player ratings for that shambles last night:

Kenny 4 - awful communication with his defenders. Brutal on the second goal, nothing he could do about the others. Hate when keepers guess on penalties. One excellent save but really lacked presence and composure.

Finnan 4 - not our worst defender but caught out badly time and again. Terrible back pass early on. One excellent block redeemed him somewhat but that might have been luck more than anything else.

Andy O Brien 0 - impossible to give him any other rating really. Absolutely roasted by Constantinou or however you spell it. Shocking header for the first goal, shocking duck for the second goal, shocking shove for the third goal, shocking anonymity for the fourth goal. In an effort at humour pundits often say “my mother could have defended better” when we see guys make hapless mistakes. This time it has to be taken literally. My mother really could have played better than that.

Dunne 5 - took his goal well. Showed urgency and determination in his defending. On their fourth goal he tried to block 3 shots because he was the only one trying or appearing to try back their. Poor first booking but it was on the end of at least a willingness to try. Very unlucky to be booked a second time. Impossible to give higher than a 5 though because there was no organisation back there. Kenny and O Brien probably didn’t help much in that regard.

O Shea 3 - didn’t go forward, didn’t defend. Managed to do nothing at full back in a game we lost 5-2. The guy is a charlatan. Ferguson is only persisting with him in the hope that some fool will buy him eventually (like Chadwick, Greening etc). Pity we can’t sell him.

McGeady 5 - started very well and had the beating of his full back. Indeed it was a good first half from him. Went out of the game completely in the second half, as did the rest of the midfield, and lost the ball badly for the fourth goal, though we still had plenty of chances to clear. Always a likely candidate to be withdrawn but certainly no worse than those around him.

Ireland 4 - out of his depth against Cyprus which says a lot. In fairness he is young and inexperienced and was playing alongside an out of form, gangly streak of incompetence. Needed to be able to control the game better though, especially in the second half. The amount of times we pumped the ball long up the park because our midfielders had turned their backs was shocking. We simply had no ball and our midfielders need to take responsiblity for that.

Kilbane 1 - around a year or two ago it became fashionable to say that this guy is actually pretty good, he just looks shit. Well he has proved everyone wrong in the meantime. What a useless footballer this lad can be. Never a central midfielder (especially in a 4-4-2 - you could possibly make room for him in a five man midfield as a runner) and he did nothing constructive or destructive in the game. No bite in his tackles so you expect him to be able to pass the ball. No, can’t do that either. Can’t control the ball, can’t hold onto the ball, in fact he can’t do anything whatsoever with or without the ball.

Duff 6 - Easily our best player. Looked for the ball all the time, created our two goals, and caused them problems. There have been times when he has looked uninterested in an Ireland shirt but last night wasn’t one of them. Didn’t deserve to lose with that attitude and that skill level. Still went out of the game badly but as the rest of the team had capitulated he can be forgiven.

Morrisson 4 - how do you even try and rate him? He got no ball. He fouled his guy sometimes, other times it was the other way around. That was about it for him. Unlucky with his one chance that he beat the keeper and the melee of players but found a defender lurking behind. Irish media will make him a scapegoat because they always do.

Keane 3 - missed a really simple chance with the header. Didn’t get into the game either, which was hard for him but he didn’t really provide any leadership for the others. He tried to come and get the ball deeper but there was nobody to get it off because our midfield weren’t getting it either.

Subs:

Staunton’s mates weren’t on long enough to rate.

Staunton/Bench 0 - Even worse than Andy O Brien. A shambles of a starting eleven with that central midfield pairing. It was hard to work out where Ireland and Kilbane were supposed to be playing. Ireland sitting with Kilbane creating? Good God how was that supposed to happen? At one point in the first half Keane tried to win a corner or prevent a goal kick at their end and got penalised (relatively harshly but it was hard to say) for a free out. Alan Kelly came rushing out screaming at the referee. As though that fucking ineptitude was anything to do with the referee. Why weren’t we screaming at the centre halves? Why didn’t we say to them, forget about waiting for Kenny, we don’t know him well enough, just clear the fucking ball every time? And yet we had 2 short back passes and two interceptions from trying to shepherd it back. Why didn’t we change things around earlier? Why didn’t we swap O Shea and Kilbane to at least try and get some ball in the middle? Why the fuck didn’t we have Carsley in the squad? Would Kavanagh have made the bench this time?

I was thinking about Staunton’s future last night and as much as I hate it, I can’t see us getting rid of him any time soon. He and Delaney have been speaking about 4 year plans for ages now and they’re going to stick to that. Last night I was saying Staunton should be sacked as much as anyone. In the cold light of morning I think he should be given a chance for redemption against the Czech Republic. After Celtic got similarly humiliated in Bratislava (though hindsight suggests they were a semi-decent team) I was prepared to allow Strachan the return leg to redeem that performance. Nobody deserves to be sacked after one competitive game.

Staunton has had 2 games and to say we have disimproved is maybe understating it a little. After the Germany game many people were happy with the performance. I wasn’t and said so on here. Organisationally we were abysmal and it was the same last night. Unless we beat the Czechs or play well and draw, Staunton should be sacked immediately. That was massively embarrassing.

My ratings would be:

Kenny 3 - No communication at all, glued to his line a couple of times when he should have been out and then the one time he comes rushing out he’s rash and nowhere near the ball. Didn’t command the area at all.

Finnan 3 - The back pass early on hinted at the malaise to follow. One decent block but a pale comparison of his usual self.

O’Brien 0 - I don’t think I need to say any more.

Dunne 6 - The only one of the back four to get pass marks imo. Was committed and showed urgency and determination in the tackle. Over zealous for the first booking but unlucky for the second. Still they scored 5 yet I can’t really fault Dunne because he was attempting to do the work of 4 other players (the non-existant other 3 defenders and a holding midfield player).

O’Shea 1 - This guy is an absolute fake. Early on he got a bit of possession at left back and each time he couldn’t affect a simple 10 yard pass and gave the ball away. Then he was getting beaten in the air time and again even though he’s well over 6 foot tall. He didn’t press the ball for the cross for the 2nd goal and he was standing in the background after doing a gay little hop for the 5th as his man tapped in the rebound. Also posted missing for the 4th goal when the ball was rolled across the goal and he was nowhere to be seen. Just ridiculously inept.

McGeady 5 - Showed some decent skills but it must have been difficult coming into a team with absolutely no shape, structure or organisation. Will be disappointed with giving away the ball for the 4th goal but there was plenty of opportunity to clear the ball before it ended up in the net. If we are to somehow rouse ourselves for Wednesday night then all hope rests with himself and Duff.

Ireland 4 - Took his goal excellently and definitely has vision and skill but he doesn’t seem to have the application, motivation and, most importantly, strength to play in a 2 man central midfield. City now play him in front of Barton and Hamann with one up front. I hoped he could follow a Fabregas path (let my expectations run riot) but now I think he’ll do a good job for an English championship side. Got totally overran in there to be honest.

Kilbane 2 - I have defended his workrate and desire in the past but now without the likes of Roy Keane around and with him playing a pivotal central midfield role we need more than that. We need him to boss the game, set the tempo, keep the ball, launch attacks, help out the defence, provide a solid base for the team to play yet he seems incapable of doing any of those. He ran around a lot alright but got totally outplayed by the Cypriots.

Duff 7 - I thought he was excellent all through. His attitude was smashing and he kept looking for the ball and probing until the bitter end. He hunted far and wide for the ball and when it was apparent we had no midfield he foraged back there to try win his own possession. That’s the kind of performance and desire I want to see from an Ireland player.

Keane 4 - Hard to judge because of the dearth of possession going into him but really should have scored the header in the first half. I think the fact we didn’t create a chance in the second half is more a reflection of others than Keane. We had no fooking midfield supply!

Morrison 4 - Won a few headers from aimless balls forward, hassled and tried to get into the game but when the quality of ball going in is that poor then it’s impossible to provide any focal point for the rest of the team to play. The lack of organisation and team structure was not Morrison’s fault.

Subs - can’t remember who came on.

Staunton - We’re becoming a laughing stock. The players were lacking motivation, organisation and any structure whatsoever last night (and in all the other games since the Swedish one). They were clueless, gutless and inept and Staunton is the boss, he’s the gaffer, the buck stops with him.

I think he should be sacked immediately but it’s difficult to know what the FAI will do. After all they’re the shower of incompetent fookheads who deemed the assistant coach of a piss poor Walsall side as being the best man for the Irish job.

It’s not just the shameful and shambolic nature of the defeat that grates though, it’s the whole package with the guy. His squad selections, team selections and dealings with the media have all been absolutely ridiculous. His treatment of Carsley is what has disgusted me particularly. The best way to build for WC 2010 is to qualify for the Euros in 2008 to give the youngers players tournament experience. The best way to qualify for Euro 2008 is to pick your best available XI for every competitive game and that side blatantly includes Carsley. That is the biggest indictment of Staunton, even worse than the actual performance, and that’s why imo the Strachan comparison doesn’t hold true.

Staunton has to go and he has to go now.

Missed most of the game bar about 5 minutes of incompetence just before it went 5-2. I don’t think we actually completed a pass in that 5 minutes. Got up and left then.

I think everyone wanted Stan to achieve great things coz he was one of the heros from the “golden era” and appears to a nice guy but fook me he hasn’t a clue. The Carsley fiasco is indicitive of a stubborn streak that can only spell long term disaster. It appears he didn’t call him up coz the “meejia” among others said he should. He spoke at the start of this escapade of bringing back some of the “old ways” to the set up, clearly referring to a lack of organisation and a great, typically Irish party atmosphere. Difference is that Charlton had great fooking men, as to lesser extent did McCarthy. Coonts that would give it down one way or the other. Even let them be average players. Stan doesn’t have many like these but a good manager can organise mediocre players and at least motivate them to be hard to beat. O’Neill at Villa and Leicester(and even Wycombe) is the classic example.

Then the other side of the coin is that the talent he had to pick from last night was pretty fooking scarce. Dunne (Once described as having the mind of a tree, trapped in the body of a tree - has improved since then obviously) and Duff are the only 2 last night who would have challenged for a place in the Charlton era. Robbie Keane is a fake, out and out, I can’t stand the chap and I think I’ve said that before here. Top scorer he may be but for what chances he’s got over the years, he’s a joke. Skill to burn but it took him fookin years to get fit and now the coont only whinges at referees. O’Shea, once famously told J Mullane about all the dosh he earned at United (Alledgedly - I must add) while Mullane local hero that he might be, hurled for free. Well I know which John I’d have on my team - even given the skinnheaded one’s tricky temper and disciplianry record. O’Shea, is as therock point out, a charlatan.

Yet the buck stops with the gaffer. And the gaffer’s gaffer. Delaney is an admistrator. And possibly a good one but as for appointing a manager, he clearly hasn’t a jot. Remember he wanted Bryan Robson at the time of Kerr’s appointment. Robson has proven to be a poor manager bar a spurt of success with Boro. A potential disaster averted event though Kerr was only ok-ish.

Just thinking now that the IRFU and GAA must’ve had a hand in this latest appointment? It makes sense from their end at least…

What a mess saturday night. I wasn’t pleased when Stan was appointed for the obvious reason that he had no experience and was untested as a manager. Having said that once he was appointed I was going to give him a chance. But his actions in Germany and his performance over the last week or so in choosing his squad etc has shown that he just isn’t capable of managing at this level at the moment. I think he should go now and that the FAI should bite the bullet and accept that they made a huge mistake. It was comical defending on saturday which I thought that every time they went passed the half way line they were going to score. We were very lucky to come away with 5-2. The central midfield was a joke, Ireland is inexperienced at international level and needed someone to keep him in line and make sure that he doesn’t forget about defending. Kilbane was meant to be doing that job but that donkey never could do that and is well past his sell by date now. With all the injuies we had why didn’t Stan call up Carsley for the central midfield role? He would have controlled the midfield, kept Ireland in line, we were playing Cyprus FFS not Brazil.Ok first half we were lucky to get it to 2-2 but what was the halftime team talk about? Surely the coach could see that we had to play it tight and slow down the game and tighten our defense? Even if the coach didn’t say anything the defense were experienced enough to know that they had to tighten up, its not like they were making their competitive debut. Morrison deserves a rating of 0 in my opinion, what did he do all match? Keane was disappointing, surely you would expect your captain to do more?

Well all I can say is get rid of Stan wednesday night and get in an experienced manager who can use the remaining qualifiers to gel together a team that will get us to the WC10. Scotland are a great example to follow. What a transformation over the past few years. Smith a gelled together a team of average players, but they play as a team and work their socks off. Ok they might not qualify but they will keep their campaign alive till the last match or two and in a group with France, Italy and Ukraine that is a great achievement.

Did you see the Breaking News headline down the side of the forum?

John OShea I didnt sleep well after Cyprus.

Thats because you spent all the game asleep you stupid fooking muppet.