Re: Milan v United

Have deleted my copycat simultaneous thread:

What an awesome display of football by the Milanese so far. Poetry in motion all over the park with the patterns they’re weaving and their pace, movement and precision of their passing. Pirlo has been sublime as has the entire midfield in fairness. Gattuso is playing the destructive role to perfection also. It is nothing short of fantastic to watch. Beware an Istanbul 2005 type collapse though. The one thing ManU do is fight to the end. hi5

3-0 Gillardinho hi5

The picture of Ferguson after it is worth it all

It’s been a complete domination really. There’s no excuse for how badly United defended the third goal either. They were chasing the game a bit but Gillardino is not quick and they still gave him enough room to run 40 yards with the ball unchallenged for a simple chance.

Few lads losing the head now.

I think Ferguson and Carrick especially have been found out today. People have told me how good a defender Vidic is - I’ll concede I’ve not seen much of him in the SPL - but by God has he been woeful today.

Well done Milan. That really was boys against men. Milan appeared to have everything - they defended well, passed the ball with precision and looked a class above Manchester United in every department outwith the goalkeeper. Manchester naturally got frustrated as the match went on but you can’t fault their effort. They just didn’t have the class necessary. I can’t help but wonder how succesful this season would have been for Celtic had it not have been for extra time in Milan after watching this match.

Poor Alex - complaining about the Premier League doing nothing to help United’s European campaign. If his team was so tired why did he only make one substitution during the match? Senile old fool.

I love when he gets bitter. He’s about as rational as Raven.

Ferguson attacks Premier League
By Howard Nurse
BBC Sport website football editor, Milan

Manchester United boss Sir Alex Ferguson launched a scathing attack on the Premier League after their Champions League exit.

Ferguson’s side exited Europe after a 3-0 semi-final loss at AC Milan on Wednesday, going out 5-3 on aggregate.

“Leagues in other countries would help their clubs no end so they can prepare properly for European nights, so there is a problem there,” he said.

“We’ve not had much help from the Premier League.”

United face Manchester City on Saturday after failing to get the derby game put back 24 hours.

He added: "Nonetheless we will be there at City on Saturday.

“The television company were quite happy to move the game to Sunday but the Premier League refused. It’s an unfair decision to make us play on Saturday.”

Ferguson called into question the integrity of the Premier League’s policy as United’s weary squad try to pick themselves up after their Champions League exit at the hands of a ruthless AC Milan side.

Victory for United at City coupled with Chelsea failing to beat Arsenal would hand Ferguson his ninth Premiership title.

“Like I said, the television was happy to move the game to Sunday but the Premier League said the integrity of the competition had to be paramount. You can work out what integrity means, but I think it was an unfair decision,” said Ferguson.

“The same happened when Tottenham had to play so soon after a European match.”

Ferguson, who was full of praise for AC Milan who ended United’s bid for another Treble, added: "We had a gruelling test at Everton and had to run the extra mile to win that match and that wasn’t easy.

“You have to learn to recover from disappointment. I think Louis Saha and Rio Ferdinand will both be fit for Saturday so there’s a glimmer of hope on player availability.”

Asked for his view on the prospects of a second Liverpool v AC Milan final in three years, Ferguson added: “Both teams will be fresh for the final, they will be able to rest players and prepare fully.”

super description from george hamilton of the atmosphere last nite…i believe it was ‘there’s an operatic intensity to the emotion inside the san siro tonight’. there’s only one george.

Indeed, thought it was funny when himself and Beglin were getting soaked by the sprinkler and like true pros carried on with the interview.

Delighted to see United retaining possession from a throw in late on when Milan had kicked the ball out when some fooko was feigning injury. That kicking the ball back shite should be stamped out of soccer, play till the next natural brak then get the treatment! Injuries are part and parcel of it, teams won’t kick it out when they are attacking so why should they expect the ball back under other circumstances.

Completely agree with the second point Appendage. At the Hearts game at the weekend one of the mini-huns went down with an injury in the second half. There was nothing seriously wrong with him so Celtic played on and nearly scored. Then the ball broke free to them and they promptly attacked and won a penalty so it backfired a bit. The point is that the game shouldn’t be stopped because somebody has a sore leg. It’s a ridiculous part of the game to have crept in. And to think we’re supposed to applaud it as supporters?

Sky had coverage until 10.15pm last night so after RTE ended theirs I switched across to hear Keys, Wilkins and Gullit. Ricahrd and sideline reporter, Geoff Shreeves, were of the opinion that in the modern game it’s impossible to launch both a domestic title and Champions League bid in the one season. Look at the final - Milan vs Liverpool - they said while completely ignoring Barca winning both last season. They also ignore the fact that Milan aren’t challenging in Italy this season primarily due to the point deduction they received and the uncertainty that brought early on in their campaign - they’ve barely lost a game since December. Benitez has also shown he’s very astute tactically, both with Valencia and Liverpool, and can get the better of most sides in two legged affairs. They just couldn’t say straight out that Milan thoroughly outplayed Manchester United.

that doesn’t surprise me in the least. sky are actually the worse offenders out of a very bad lot in rarely criticising the epl or its teams.

I agree with you there Piper

Ragin.thought united would get the trebel this year

Ah well the double can still be done.

huh!?

This isn’t a pop at English football. I’m just laughing at Andy Gray’s column the other day from Sky’s site. It makes for a quality read given all the players he wrote off made really good contributions:

'Forget the two away goals. With one swing of Wayne Rooney’s boot on Tuesday night the whole mindset of the tie changed in an instant. The pressure has been heaped on Milan, and I believe that Milan side is ordinary.

Not only will United get a result in Italy next week, they will beat Milan in their own backyard. I think they’ve got the Italians running scared - they’re not a great team and they know it.

Sure, Kaka is brilliant but go through the team - the keeper is dodgy and the back four is creaking and should hold no fear for United’s forwards. Anything else to be scared of? Pirlo? No. Seedorf? No. Ambrosini? No. Gilardino? Definitely not.

I believe we’ll have an all-English final. The only question is whether Chelsea or Liverpool will be involved.’

First class gobshite. How wrong can one man be?

It’s hilarious how hyped Rooney is - with one swing of his boot… that implies he gets to touch the ball which he never seems to do these past couple of seasons.

I also think it’s hilarious how people are only now copping onto Kak’s greatness. Milan didn’t play an English team last year so didn’t figure on their radar. He was brilliant throughout.

[quote=Bandage ]
This isn’t a pop at English football. I’m just laughing at Andy Gray’s column the other day from Sky’s site. It makes for a qulaity read given all the players he wrote off made really good contributions:

'Forget the two away goals. With one swing of Wayne Rooney’s boot on Tuesday night the whole mindset of the tie changed in an instant. The pressure has been heaped on Milan, and I believe that Milan side is ordinary.

Not only will United get a result in Italy next week, they will beat Milan in their own backyard. I think they’ve got the Italians running scared - they’re not a great team and they know it.

Sure, Kaka is brilliant but go through the team - the keeper is dodgy and the back four is creaking and should hold no fear for United’s forwards. Anything else to be scared of? Pirlo? No. Seedorf? No. Ambrosini? No. Gilardino? Definitely not.

I believe we’ll have an all-English final. The only question is whether Chelsea or Liverpool will be involved.’

[/quote]erl

thats quite amusing. what a fool. i have to say though that yourself and therock are being overly sensitivde towards the epl fans on the board. if a similar article was written by an irish or scottish journalist before celtic getting outclassed i doubt farmer etc. would qualify it by saying they are not having a pop at the spl. it might be nit picking but i think the same rules should apply. otherwise good post bandage.

Typical over-sensitive-chip-on-your-shoulder-us-against-them tripe from Piper

Can’t believe that your sister claimed that I am very like you, personality wise

That’s the biggest insult anyone could have given me

i agree with you regarding my sisters comments. thanks for the other comment.

FIGHT, FIGHT, FIGHT.

I’ll sit back have a few :drink: and watch.