Retirement bucket list

I’m 66 and my baby of 22 will be going back to do his masters I reckon :roll_eyes:

An awful bang of jealousy and envy here :roll_eyes:

I don’t want to retire yet. I like my job in tanland. I only work 4 days though.
I’ll only want to retire when friends have retired too I think and there’s someone to hang round with.
That’s a great list @fenwaypark
The pro gambler would be cool as you’re sensible enough to keep a lid on it.

Great to see you back boss

Aren’t they the same thing? :man_shrugging:

Ditto. I like my job. Mortgage is more or less done and dusted and kids are sorted. Always planned at going at 60 but I dunno now. I don’t really have much of a bucket list. Have plenty of travelling done. Australia the only itch that really needs to be scratched

47 next week so retirement is a bit of off yet but my view is to hit semi retirement in the early 50s. Starting with a 4 day week and getting down to 3 eventually in the late 50s. I’m in a lucky enough position to have a small farm (which I don’t really consider work) as part of the retirement plan so that will ease the financial burden.

I’d be a big fan of getting the mortgage wiped as soon as possible too though I do see the pension argument.

I think the key to a successful retirement is looking after yourself in your 40s and 50s. I’ve seen fellas flog themselves too hard into their 60s, have the nice pension pot but haven’t the health to enjoy it. It’s hard to find the right balance.

I don’t like the idea of not working though. The farm will keep me tipping away but I do think having a small interest in a little enterprise or doing some community work is important. There are only so many games of golf you can have.

I did a lot of travelling in my 20s so I haven’t a huge grĆ” for it these days. A few hens, a few cows, an involvement in the local club and a few trips a year would keep me happy. Maybe the odd side hussle too as the lad says.

RIP to your old man @fenwaypark

31 Likes

Ditto @fenwaypark . Let him rest in peace

Ah fair play to him :+1:

It’ll be worth it in the long term. He might sort you out for a decent nursing home down the line :smiley:

Stay working
Stay sharp
Many of my contemporaries are fecked already
Taking retirement too early,
Overweight, drinking too much,
Tortoises

Great to see so many posters actually think we have a long term future and won’t be completely wiped out in the next 3-5 years.

There’s one advantage to getting high enough up the tree at work. I don’t bother much with emails. The secretaries print the important ones out and give them to me on paper. I’m pretty good at leaving work behind except of something has gone wrong, then I can’t sleep.
You sound like Jack Reacher.
Was the bus trip across the states just a greyhound, or an organised itinerary?
I could while years away in Italy. I absolutely love the place but I need herself for company.
The holiday recently, the lass would lounge in the mornings, and we’d get up, pick a town at random, drive in and wander about, have coffee and wander home for lunch. It was brilliant.

Time is just a fighter
Who laughs at all his foes
Waits until we’re smug enough
Then winds us with his blows

Cc @TheUlteriorMotive

Christ fella, will you just let lads dream…

:blush::blush:200 pc

How was Brendan

The bus tour was an organised itinerary. The Great American Crossing by Tour America I think it was.

Two weeks today.
I’m actually reminded of this. A truly great song

There’s a hard moon risin’ on the streets tonight
There’s a reckless feeling in your heart as you head out tonight
Through the concrete canyons to the midtown lights
Where the latest neon promises are burning bright
Past the open windows on the darker streets
Where unseen angry voices flash and children cry
Past the phony posers with their worn out lines
The tired new money dressed to the nines
The low life dealers with their bad designs
And the dilettantes with their open minds
You’re out on the town, safe in the crowd
Ready to go for the ride
Searching the eyes, looking for clues
There’s no way you can hide
The fire inside
Well you’ve been to the clubs and the discotheques
Where they deal one another from the bottom of a deck of promises
Where the cautious loners and emotional wrecks
Do an acting stretch as a way to hide the obvious
And the lights go down and they dance real close
And for one brief instant they pretend they’re safe and warm
Then the beat gets louder and the mood is gone
The darkness scatters as the lights flash on
They hold one another just a little too long
And they move apart and then move on
On to the street, on to the next
Safe in the knowledge that they tried
Faking the smile, hiding the pain
Never satisfied
The fire inside
Fire inside
Now the hour is late and he thinks you’re asleep
You listen to him dress and you listen to him leave like you knew he would
You hear his car pull away in the street
Then you move to the door and you lock it when he’s gone for good
Then you walk to the window and stare at the moon
Riding high and lonesome through a starlit sky
And it comes to you how it all slips away
Youth and beauty are gone one day
No matter what you dream or feel or say
It ends in dust and disarray
Like wind on the plains, sand through the glass
Waves rolling in with the tide
Dreams die hard and we watch them erode
But we cannot be denied
The fire inside

Bob Seger

With Americans or Irish?

One other Irish fella, a farmer from Kilkenny, who had a yearning for a decent cup of tea that was never fulfilled, a handful of Brits, a Scot, a Belgian, an Aussie family and Germans who divided between those that were sound and those that were cunts.