Retiring GAA Stars tribute thread - May cause brain/neck damage

When it comes to matters hurling, I’d defer to Christy Ring ahead of @Little_Lord_Fauntleroy every time.

Silly me .doing exactly what i was giving out to you about

Releasing retirement statements, posting apologies to fans on twitter, product endorsement on instagram - who do these no mark muldoons think they are

I’d say Christy was an insufferable pain in the hole.

I heard before that he was a bit simple

Conor O’Brien was a game bit of stuff but an average IC player nonetheless so this public statement of his retirement ( probably told he wasn’t gonna be part of the plans next year as not getting a jersey in the AI Final displayed ) is fairly hilarious.

Best of luck to him though, takes some commitment to stick at it at this level without ever really getting a sustained run in the team. Most people already knew that though.

Most counties could do with a player as “average” as him. We’ve just been blessed with very good corner backs over the last 5 years or so

You haven’t a clue. He would have walked on to any other county team in the last 10 years.

A serious set of medals to his name. Second to a certain James Fitzpatrick from Ballyhale Shamrocks in the '99 Feile skills final.

Some serious bitterness on show here from lads who probably never pucked a ball after the age of 21.

What an honour, 2nd in the Féile Skills final. Holy shit. Thats a spot on the Team of the Millennium wrapped up anyway.

Hi Conor

He obviously never trained on and fulfilled that early promise. I’d file him under Players With a Great Future Behind Them.

Shocked that @myboyblue hasn’t been on given the recent retirement of wexford net minder Anthony Masterson

I’ve been on, I just chose to ignore the worthless pile of shite.

Conor O’Brien also played youths soccer for Ireland but his first love was hurling

Ya but did he win any soccer skills competitions?

I think he came second in an FAI Samba Schools camp once.

Dick Clerkin

Christ he milked it

Given the bad years he went through, he was entitled to hang around for a few good days out. The Clerkins are Monaghan royalty.